Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Smuggle a spoils?  (Read 10413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lashof

  • Steward
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Respect: +22
    • View Profile
Smuggle a spoils?
« on: December 26, 2012, 10:38:38 am »
0

Simple question:  Can Smugglers gain a Spoils (assuming an opponent gained one on the previous turn).
Logged

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2746
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3665
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2012, 10:46:59 am »
+3

No. Spoils are not in the supply.
Logged

Lashof

  • Steward
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
  • Respect: +22
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2012, 04:35:39 pm »
0

Smugglers doesn't actually say you have to gain it from the supply...
Logged

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2746
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3665
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2012, 04:40:16 pm »
0

Then you could argue that spoils don't cost 'up to six' since they cost 0*, not just 0.
Logged

Qvist

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2400
  • Shuffle iT Username: Qvist
  • Respect: +4084
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2012, 04:40:39 pm »
+2

I'm too lazy to find the specific rules quote from the official rules, but here's a quote from the wiki http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Supply

Quote
When you must choose a card to buy or gain, you MUST choose a card in the Supply. The exceptions are cards which direct you to buy or gain from elsewhere

Rabid

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 840
  • Shuffle iT Username: Rabid
  • Respect: +643
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2012, 04:40:47 pm »
0

Logged
Twitch
1 Day Cup #1:Ednever

ftl

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2056
  • Shuffle iT Username: ftl
  • Respect: +1344
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2012, 04:45:42 pm »
+1

Smugglers doesn't actually say you have to gain it from the supply...

Whenever anything says "gain", it means "gain from supply", unless it explicitly says otherwise.

I think in the FAQ's for all the cards that say "gain something..." without specifying from where, the FAQ clarifies that it has to come from the supply.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6319
  • Respect: +25483
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2012, 06:02:43 pm »
+1

Smugglers doesn't actually say you have to gain it from the supply...

Whenever anything says "gain", it means "gain from supply", unless it explicitly says otherwise.

I think in the FAQ's for all the cards that say "gain something..." without specifying from where, the FAQ clarifies that it has to come from the supply.
I feel like someone pointed out somewhere that I missed one, but yes, all gains are from the supply unless otherwise specified. Smugglers cannot gain Spoils, since Spoils is never in the supply.
Logged

enfynet

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1688
  • Respect: +1160
    • View Profile
    • JD's Custom Clubs
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2013, 02:18:23 pm »
0

Unless there happens to be a card that says on it "When you gain this, gain a Spoils."  Because... well... it could happen. Of course you would need to gain that card via Smugglers and THEN you would gain Spoils.  Until then, no.
Logged
"I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious."

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3279
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4401
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2013, 02:21:46 pm »
+2

Unless there happens to be a card that says on it "When you gain this, gain a Spoils."  Because... well... it could happen. Of course you would need to gain that card via Smugglers and THEN you would gain Spoils.  Until then, no.

1) You mean "When you gain this, gain a Spoils from the Spoils pile."
2) Then you're not smuggling a Spoils; you're smuggling Card X and gaining a Spoils in the normal way.
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7096
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +9411
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2013, 03:19:30 pm »
0

I feel like someone pointed out somewhere that I missed one, but yes, all gains are from the supply unless otherwise specified. Smugglers cannot gain Spoils, since Spoils is never in the supply.

This came up this weekend for me, and the FAQ for Spoils is particularly specific: one can only gain a Spoils using Bandit Camp, Marauder, or Pillage.  Period.
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

Grujah

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2237
  • Respect: +1177
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2013, 03:21:58 pm »
0

Yeah, you also cannot Mint it, for example.
Logged

Axxle

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1664
  • Most Valuable Serial Killer
  • Respect: +1964
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2013, 03:32:30 pm »
0

Wait, so if I tried to return it with Ambassador would it stay in my hand?
Logged
We might be from all over the world, but "we all talk this one language  : +1 card + 1 action +1 buy , gain , discard, trash... " - RTT

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 9680
  • Respect: +10692
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2013, 03:44:16 pm »
0

Wait, so if I tried to return it with Ambassador would it stay in my hand?

Yes. Same as the Shelters discussion happening elsewhere right now. Same with Prizes, Madmen, Mercenary. If a card is not in the supply, you can never return it to the supply. You can still choose it for Ambassador, but there will be no effect whatsoever.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Drab Emordnilap

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1832
  • Shuffle iT Username: Drab Emordnilap
  • Luther Bell Hendricks V
  • Respect: +1885
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2013, 04:26:13 pm »
+1

This came up this weekend for me, and the FAQ for Spoils is particularly specific: one can only gain a Spoils using Bandit Camp, Marauder, or Pillage.  Period.

Or Thief!

You can still choose it for Ambassador, but there will be no effect whatsoever.

Other than revealing it in the first place, of course.
Logged

Brando Commando

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 255
  • Respect: +112
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2013, 05:04:31 pm »
0

This came up this weekend for me, and the FAQ for Spoils is particularly specific: one can only gain a Spoils using Bandit Camp, Marauder, or Pillage.  Period.

Or Thief!

Good point. This is especially bad because Thief specifically says you "gain" the treasure, while the Spoils FAQ (at least on the wiki) says you can't "gain" Spoils except through those three cards.

I'm guessing Thief is a legal way to get it, but I'm not sure.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6319
  • Respect: +25483
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2013, 05:11:50 pm »
+2

Thief can get Spoils. You can also get passed one with Masquerade, although that isn't "gaining."
Logged

SirPeebles

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3249
  • Respect: +5458
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2013, 06:18:10 pm »
0

Or Band of Misfits played as Marauder (or Thief).
Logged
Well you *do* need a signature...

Axxle

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1664
  • Most Valuable Serial Killer
  • Respect: +1964
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2013, 06:32:26 pm »
+3

Or using that card from Guilds.  What was it called again?   ;D
Logged
We might be from all over the world, but "we all talk this one language  : +1 card + 1 action +1 buy , gain , discard, trash... " - RTT

Drab Emordnilap

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1832
  • Shuffle iT Username: Drab Emordnilap
  • Luther Bell Hendricks V
  • Respect: +1885
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2013, 11:53:24 am »
+2

Or using that card from Guilds.  What was it called again?   ;D

uwguild, I think.
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9184
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2013, 12:15:46 pm »
+1

Or Band of Misfits played as Marauder.

But then you're not getting Spoils from BoM, you're getting it from Marauder.
Logged

SirPeebles

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3249
  • Respect: +5458
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2013, 01:52:33 pm »
0

Smugglers doesn't actually say you have to gain it from the supply...

Whenever anything says "gain", it means "gain from supply", unless it explicitly says otherwise.

I think in the FAQ's for all the cards that say "gain something..." without specifying from where, the FAQ clarifies that it has to come from the supply.
I feel like someone pointed out somewhere that I missed one, but yes, all gains are from the supply unless otherwise specified. Smugglers cannot gain Spoils, since Spoils is never in the supply.

I could see someone complaining about Black Market.  It says that you may buy one of the revealed cards.  Buying is distinct from gaining, so if you want to be really picky, you might wonder if buying this revealed, say, Watchtower causes you to gain it (and thus not gain it, since it isn't in the supply) or gain it from the Black Market deck.  But it's clear what the intent of the card is.  It's not just for triggering on-buy effect or wasting money.
Logged
Well you *do* need a signature...

RTT

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Respect: +707
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2013, 03:03:19 pm »
0

just a quick question on the subject. How about harlekin hitting a spoils?
Logged

WanderingWinder

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5275
  • ...doesn't really matter to me
  • Respect: +4381
    • View Profile
    • WanderingWinder YouTube Page
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2013, 03:05:34 pm »
+1

just a quick question on the subject. How about harlekin hitting a spoils?
If you mean Jester, then the spoils gets discarded, I think technically Jester player (or his possessor) chooses who gets the spoils, then nothing happens - no one actually gains it.

RTT

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Respect: +707
    • View Profile
Re: Smuggle a spoils?
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2013, 03:10:27 pm »
0

Ah yes jester =) just got the question from an RL game. so the german name was in my head . thanks
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All
 

Page created in 0.06 seconds with 21 queries.