Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All

Author Topic: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...  (Read 3483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Will(ow|iam)

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 152
  • Shuffle iT Username: willowhelmiam
  • Respect: +162
    • View Profile
Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« on: August 20, 2023, 11:48:09 pm »
+7

If a card is in the kingdom, but nobody buys it, does it have an effect on the game?

This week's challenge is to Design a card (not a landscape) that does something even if nobody buys/uses it.

This can include Setup text, or an Heirloom, or an "in games using this" clause. Or, you could try to design something with none of those things but has a very tangible effect on the players' decision making (e.g. There are kingdoms where nobody buys e.g. Magpie for fear of Swindler attack, but then nobody buys Swindler because Magpie was the only thing really worth hitting).

I'll be judging mainly on how big and how fun the effect looks like it'll be when nobody buys it, and then secondarily on the effects from buying it and having it your deck.

I'll try to judge on Monday, August 28.
Logged

NoMoreFun

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2001
  • Respect: +2101
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2023, 01:28:55 am »
+4

Hostile Village
Action - $3
+2 Actions
+1 Buy
This turn you may set aside cards you gain to put them into your hand at end of turn.
________
In games using this, Curse is also an Action and Attack with instructions: "Return this to its pile. Each other player gains a Curse"

Rules clarification: In games with both Hostile Village and Charlatan, Curses are Action/Attack/Treasure/Curse cards that say "+$1, return this to its pile, each other player gains a Curse"
« Last Edit: August 21, 2023, 04:21:19 am by NoMoreFun »
Logged

majiponi

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 823
  • Respect: +734
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2023, 09:53:13 am »
+3

Mimic
cost $4 - Action
+1 Card
+1 Action
You may move the Mimic token onto another non-Mimic Action Supply pile.
---
Setup: put the Mimic token on a random non-Mimic Action supply pile; when a player plays a card from its pile, instead of following its effect, they get +1 Action and +$1.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2023, 09:54:23 am by majiponi »
Logged

JW

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Shuffle iT Username: JW
  • Respect: +1770
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2023, 10:23:35 am »
+1

Manor
- Action
+3 Cards
You may gain an Estate to your hand.
——
In games using this, Estates and Duchies are also Actions with:  “+2 Actions”

FAQ: The +2 Actions is cumulative with Inheritance. 
« Last Edit: August 21, 2023, 11:26:52 am by JW »
Logged

BryGuy

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
  • Respect: +138
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2023, 01:04:16 pm »
+2

Withdrawn
Quote
Bulwark
$5 Action Duration
Now and at the start of your next turn, +1 Card, +1 Buy, +$1
-
Setup: Place the Bulwark token upon a random Kingdom card with the greatest cost in $.
:)
Bulwark token: A player can not buy a card under this. During a player's Buy phase, that player may spend a buy to move this.



pervious:
Quote
Bulwark
$5 Action Duration
Now and at the start of your next turn, +1 Card, +1 Buy, +$1
-
Setup: Place the Bulwark token upon the most expensive non-Bulwark Kingdom card.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2023, 08:59:39 am by BryGuy »
Logged

Zoyarox

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Respect: +24
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2023, 01:10:02 pm »
+1



Not the most interesting passive effect, might contribute a different card later on.

FAQ: Yes, gaining a Marshland trashes another Marshland in the supply, while any remain.


EDIT: How do I have this image not appear gigantically massive in the forums? Already tried sizing the image down...

EDIT 2: Thanks BryGuy!
« Last Edit: August 22, 2023, 12:31:38 pm by Zoyarox »
Logged

BryGuy

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
  • Respect: +138
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2023, 01:31:29 pm »
+1



Not the most interesting passive effect, might contribute a different card later on.

FAQ: Yes, gaining a Marshland trashes another Marshland in the supply, while any remain.


EDIT: How do I have this image not appear gigantically massive in the forums? Already tried sizing the image down...

replace "[img]" with "[img width=250]" most use 250 for cards and 385 for Horizontals
« Last Edit: August 21, 2023, 01:34:58 pm by BryGuy »
Logged

JW

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Shuffle iT Username: JW
  • Respect: +1770
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2023, 03:42:34 pm »
+1

Setup: Place the Bulwark token upon the most expensive non-Bulwark Kingdom card.[/font][/size][/color]

There may be more than one most expensive non-Bulwark Kingdom card (e.g., two cards costing ), or there might not be one at all ( vs. , neither is more expensive than the other).

I suggest something like: "a randomly chosen Kingdom card with the greatest cost in (including ties)"
Logged

grep

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 293
  • Respect: +431
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2023, 06:21:14 pm »
+1

Torch
$4 - Action
+1 Card
+1 Action
You may trash a card from hand
---
In games using this, when a player has 4 or more cards in play none of which is a Torch, they cannot play Action cards from hand.


You have to move slowly in the darkness
Logged

LibraryAdventurer

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1785
  • Shuffle iT Username: LibraryAdventurer
  • I wish my username had the links like it once did.
  • Respect: +1652
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2023, 08:27:41 pm »
+3

Quote
Wereshop
<5> - Action
Gain a card costing up to $4.
Play this again using the active Way.
-
Setup: Choose two Ways to use this game, but only one of them is active at a time. Switch the active Way after each time a card is played using a Way.

EDIT1: I added the debt-for-$5 option because I was concerned it would be too weak too often with certain combinations of ways (like Seal/Frog). Originally the top was just a workshop with "Play this again using the Way".

And with WoChameleon, you can take <4> debt and gain 2 $5 cost cards. EDIT2: Oh wait, with Chameleon, you'd play this a 3rd time as the other way which is not intended... I guess I'll just add "Don't use WoChameleon with this" to the card's rules. So this probably won't do well in the contest. hmmm, maybe I'll think of something else.

*EDIT3: Removed the debt-for-$5 option. It's nice and simpler without that part. Changed the cost to <5> debt because it's kindof like between $4 and $5, and makes it easy to get early which is good for a gainer. Still have to exclude Chameleon to keep it from playing 3 times but that's okay with me.

old version:
Quote
Wereshop
$5 - Action
Gain a card costing up to $4 or take <2> debt to gain a card costing $5.
Play this again using the active Way.
-
Setup: Choose two Ways to use this game, but only one of them is active at a time. Switch the active Way after each time a card is played using a Way.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2023, 02:54:10 am by LibraryAdventurer »
Logged

Augie279

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
  • Shuffle iT Username: Augie279
  • f.ds's Resident Furry Trash™️
  • Respect: +455
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2023, 12:11:21 am »
+2

replace "[img]" with "[img width=250]" most use 250 for cards and 385 for Horizontals
It's 385 for horizontals? I always used 400. Doesn't matter much, just find that specific value interesting.
Logged
they/them

Augie279

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
  • Shuffle iT Username: Augie279
  • f.ds's Resident Furry Trash™️
  • Respect: +455
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2023, 12:23:04 am »
+6



The gift you don't want! Gotta give something in return, though. Doesn't hit until you actually start greening, but unlike Curses where the -VP comes only when you don't trash them, here the -VP only comes when you do.
Logged
they/them

fika monster

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 439
  • 27 year old swedish guy. PFP by haps
  • Respect: +407
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2023, 10:10:57 am »
+1



The gift you don't want! Gotta give something in return, though. Doesn't hit until you actually start greening, but unlike Curses where the -VP comes only when you don't trash them, here the -VP only comes when you do.

question: if another player cant do both, does that mean they dont do either returning the vp or the estate? wording is slightly confusing.
Logged
Swedish guy, Furry hipster otter

fika monster

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 439
  • 27 year old swedish guy. PFP by haps
  • Respect: +407
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2023, 10:33:33 am »
+1

Withdrawn
Currently at a relatives place so cant make a mockup card.

but here is my contribution:


---
Quote
Decrepit City
Action $5

Card text:
+2 Cards
+3 Actions
-
In games using this, Whenever you play an action card and have more then 2 unused actions, discard two cards for each empty supply pile.
---

lets try this again:
if you play an action card with 3 or more actions, then you discard a card per empty supply pile
that should be far simpler, and not require math all the time.


EDIT:
withdrawing it. simply not happy with it.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2023, 03:56:57 am by fika monster »
Logged
Swedish guy, Furry hipster otter

Augie279

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
  • Shuffle iT Username: Augie279
  • f.ds's Resident Furry Trash™️
  • Respect: +455
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2023, 11:41:03 am »
+1



The gift you don't want! Gotta give something in return, though. Doesn't hit until you actually start greening, but unlike Curses where the -VP comes only when you don't trash them, here the -VP only comes when you do.

question: if another player cant do both, does that mean they dont do either returning the vp or the estate? wording is slightly confusing.

Yep! If a player can't return a VP token, they don't gain an Estate. If they can't gain an Estate, they don't return a VP token.
Logged
they/them

Zoyarox

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Respect: +24
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2023, 12:30:15 pm »
0



Not the most interesting passive effect, might contribute a different card later on.

FAQ: Yes, gaining a Marshland trashes another Marshland in the supply, while any remain.


EDIT: How do I have this image not appear gigantically massive in the forums? Already tried sizing the image down...

replace "[img]" with "[img width=250]" most use 250 for cards and 385 for Horizontals

Thanks!
Logged

X-tra

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Text under avatar
  • Respect: +1104
    • View Profile
    • a
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2023, 01:09:24 pm »
+3

« Last Edit: August 22, 2023, 04:08:05 pm by X-tra »
Logged
Bottom text

grep

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 293
  • Respect: +431
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2023, 01:47:50 pm »
0



Did I understand the text correctly: for each player, first time they gain their first treasure card in the game, they gain a copy of it?
Or the condition is per treasure pile: when you gain your first Silver, gain another one, same for Gold etc?

The second options seems a bit hard to track
Logged

X-tra

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Text under avatar
  • Respect: +1104
    • View Profile
    • a
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #18 on: August 22, 2023, 02:17:39 pm »
0

It's the second option. I don't think it's particularly hard to track. I will reword it to make it clearer.
Logged
Bottom text

LTaco

  • Scout
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • Shuffle iT Username: LTaco
  • Respect: +117
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2023, 03:41:15 pm »
+1



This also triggers on itself, so you can chain any number of Treasures on your first turn, getting one of them twice and skipping any you don't want.
For example, in a game with Printing Press and no additional Treasures, you buy Silver, gain Gold, gain Printing Press, Gain Gold again, at which point the chain stops.
Even worse when Platinum and other Treasures are in the Kingdom. You could, for example, open Silver, gain a Gold, Printing Press, Counterfeit, King´s cache and two Platina.
Logged

X-tra

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Text under avatar
  • Respect: +1104
    • View Profile
    • a
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #20 on: August 22, 2023, 04:09:20 pm »
0

This also triggers on itself, so you can chain any number of Treasures on your first turn, getting one of them twice and skipping any you don't want.
For example, in a game with Printing Press and no additional Treasures, you buy Silver, gain Gold, gain Printing Press, Gain Gold again, at which point the chain stops.
Even worse when Platinum and other Treasures are in the Kingdom. You could, for example, open Silver, gain a Gold, Printing Press, Counterfeit, King´s cache and two Platina.

Yup. I think I finally found the right wording.
Logged
Bottom text

Snorka

  • Baron
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • he/him or they/them- no preference
  • Respect: +62
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2023, 12:58:47 am »
+4


Like an evil Baker! Should be really weird to have effectively different starting cash. With this there are effectively the 1/5, 2/4, 3/3, and 4/2 openings. Above the line isn't special, just a gainer that can gain expensive stuff(otherwise harder to get with this on the table) for a price...

EDIT: I didn't see LibraryAdventurer's old version of Wereshop when I made this. Great minds just think alike ;)
« Last Edit: August 23, 2023, 01:04:17 am by Snorka »
Logged

Ethan

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 104
  • Respect: +172
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2023, 01:28:24 am »
+1

Quote
Decrepit City
Action $5

Card text:
+2 Cards
+3 Actions
-
In games using this, When you get +Actions and there is an empty pile:
Whenever you gain more actions then +2, discard a card from hand per empty supply pile and excess action.
The wording is confusing and I think you should use "than" rather than "then".
Logged

kru5h

  • Duke
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 393
  • Respect: +372
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2023, 11:57:23 am »
+4

Path(v8)


Landlord(Previous Version)


Edit: Changed Landlord to Path
« Last Edit: August 28, 2023, 12:30:38 pm by kru5h »
Logged

segura

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1508
  • Respect: +1392
    • View Profile
Re: Weekly Design Contest #196: If a card is in the kingdom...
« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2023, 12:28:13 pm »
0

I would not call it a Villa effect as you don’t get a free Action and teleportation back to your Action phase. But you can of course exchange a Silver for a DoubleNecro before you play your Smithy.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 21 queries.