Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Commodore Chuckles

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 52
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #172: Trait Me Right
« on: December 21, 2022, 10:51:45 pm »
When setting up the game, only put 4 Scarce cards in their pile.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Plunder is online
« on: December 21, 2022, 10:45:11 pm »
I think it's funny how oxymorons can be created from the Traits. Pious Villain, Nearby Distant Lands.

Let's Discuss ... / Re: I don't like Barbarian
« on: December 21, 2022, 10:41:14 pm »
I think the Knights are much more insufferable than Barbarian. The Knights can chain off each other to certain extent, making multiple hits easier, but Barbarian needs support to do that. I have played a number of games with it and I came away from none of them thinking it was overpowered. But hey, maybe my opponent and I were both playing it wrong and should have gone for it more heavily, I don't know.

An anti-synergy within the Loot pile: Sword makes Puzzle Box's ability a lot less useful.

The no visiting rule (which only applies to category 1 if I understand correctly) in particular seems to be designed to be able to use moving on-gain effects on cards that are gained into your hand or onto your deck. So to me, it seems logical to broaden the expected location for gained cards to:
a) Your discard pile
b) Your hand
c) A specified location in your deck (which means that if the gained card entered your deck pre shuffle, it can no longer be moved)

As cool as being able to dodge Siren's restriction with optional topdecking, it is something that Armory and ideally also Replace should be able to do as well if we go for it IMO.

That said, I know I cannot outthink the development team, so I'm pretty sure they have good reasons why it is the way it is now.

Expected location can already be your discard pile or your hand. That's why for instance Watchtower can trash a card that is gained to your discard pile, your hand, your deck, or wherever. And it's actually why we CAN'T dodge Siren with Armory or Transmogrify.

If we could dodge Siren with Armory, that means we couldn't trash Seahag's curses with Watchtower. Pretty sure that's why the rule is the way it is.

But it could have been that the only expected location would be your discard pile, so that Watchtower, Siren, Royal Seal, etc. all lose track of a card that isn't gained to your discard pile.

However, Replace, Summon etc. is different: Replace has two separate instructions: Gain a card to your discard pile; move it onto your deck. Since Siren and Watchtower trigger on when-gain, it makes no sense that they would wait until Replace's second instruction is carried out.

As the FAQ says on the wiki that an action-victory still triggers the victory part, doesn't that mean that replace is functionally identical to gaining to deck? the card is in it's expected destination when on-gain triggers are resolved either way? Summon is a seal-like tho?

So far the examples in this thread are cards changing something during the play of the card (gain to hand, gain to deck), moving siren to an expected destination, forcing it to activate and cards giving you a general on-gain effect, enabling you to move it before siren would activate (seals - when gain)

Is there any reason why Replace would visit the discard?

I think the reason is simply because on Replace, the top-decking instruction is in a different sentence, whereas on Armory, it's in the same sentence.

Anyone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the way to atomize instructions is sentence-by-sentence. The example to use is Sculptor, which has an in-same-sentence effect as well as an in-different-sentence effect. So when you play a Sculptor:

1) Gain a $4 or less card to your hand (one single atomic instruction).
2) Then, a space of time occurs for any "when gain" effects to occur.
3) THEN, +1 Villager if the gained card was a Treasure.

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: December 15, 2022, 09:15:10 pm »
When you play a Ruined card, only perform the first line or sentence of instructions, replacing all numbers with 1.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: * Plunder Previews #3: Loot *
« on: December 15, 2022, 09:07:30 pm »
What really weirds me out is the choice of descriptions for Trait cards. Particularly that the name of the card is always used to refer to the pile (instead of something "this pile"). This in particular leads to a confusing card text for Cheap.

It’s already messed me up a couple of posts ago when I went to say “a cheap card” and then realized that that now has a specific rules meaning in Dominion, so I had to change it to “a low-cost card”.

That's the difference between a cheap card (a card with a low cost) vs a Cheap card (a card that has the Cheap trait)

(And a Cheap card might not be cheap - a Cheap King's Court is still $6 for example!)

Hunh, also I just realized that it would have no effect on cards like Transmute or Overlord whose cost does not include coins

Well, "cheaper" was already an official Dominion term since it appeared on at least 2 cards (Border Village and Lich).

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #168: Turkey Time
« on: November 15, 2022, 07:52:56 pm »
Grand Banquet
Event - $6
Gain a copy of each card you have exactly one copy of in play.

Gaining Horses is similar in strength to immediate draw and Mutineers are strictly better than having to discard immediately. So this is roughly as strong as Fugitive which is a $4.5.

Yes, I agree. I bumped it up to $4 and added a Mutineer on-gain.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Plunder
« on: November 03, 2022, 11:44:10 pm »
Prediction: Loots will be like an Ally version of Spoils - if the game has something that gives Loots, you randomly select a Loot card, and then the Loot pile will be made of that card.

Action - $4
+1 Card
+1 Action
+1 Mutineer
Gain a Horse.
When you gain this, +1 Mutineer.

I also think that the "cares about buying" on this is a bit artificial, it could just work the same for any gain.

Not true. If it trashed itself on all gains, well, then you could never gain it from the Trash. It could get around this using Fortress's "put this in your hand" wording in the "in games using this" clause, but then it would have a bad interaction with gain-to-hand cards like Cobbler. It would force you to get it by discarding something from your hand, since any other way to gain it would put it in the Trash.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #167: Monster Mash
« on: October 29, 2022, 11:22:22 pm »
Summoning Circle
Way - Project - $6
Play the card you set aside, leaving it there.
Set aside a non-Command non-Duration Action card next to this from your hand costing up to $4.

The top part is the Way, the bottom part is the Project. The Way does nothing if you haven't bought the Project.
This seems quite prohibitively expensive compared to Inheritance, which
- does not require you to have the set-aside card in your hand
- turns useless cards in your deck useful rather than already useful cards slightly more useful
- allows you to increase your VP while gaining cheap engine components.

I agree that it's too expensive, but I think being able to play a $2 Action card as a $4 Action card, or being able to play a terminal card as a non-terminal card, is more than "slightly more useful". I lowered the cost to $5.

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: October 29, 2022, 11:15:18 pm »
Action - Reaction - $2
+2 Cards
You cannot play another Action card this turn.
When you finish resolving an Action card, you may play this from your hand.

EDIT: OK, it looks like nobody got the joke. Here it is: if you play a Dock, can you play another one from your hand? That's certainly a pair o' Docks.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #167: Monster Mash
« on: October 25, 2022, 07:21:32 pm »
Summoning Circle
Way - Project - $5
Play the card you set aside, leaving it there.
You may set aside a non-Command non-Duration Action card next to this from your hand costing up to $4.

The top part is the Way, the bottom part is the Project. The Way does nothing if you haven't bought the Project, or bought it but didn't set aside anything.

Sorry, I misread Colosseum. It says "other than with this", which makes sense.

Fortified Village
Action - $4
+1 Card
+2 Actions
When you gain this, if you bought it, trash it. In games using this, when you draw your hand after Clean-up, you may discard an Action or Treasure card to gain a copy of this from the Trash to your hand.

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: BryGuy's Horizontals
« on: October 17, 2022, 10:02:06 pm »
Hopeful looks neat but I assume you meant that the ability can be used every turn? If so, it should say "once every turn", not "once this turn".

Colosseum's "other than this" doesn't make any sense. Colosseum is a Project, so it can't be gained (buying a Project isn't considered gaining it.)

Revise is confusing. Does it mean "Gain another card, costing up to $2 more if the trashed card costs $4, otherwise costing up to $1 more?"

I think Parting is too strong for $3.

I believe the original version of Foreign Exchange said "If you have no Coffers, +3 Coffers." Did you change it on purpose? If so, the change doesn't make sense. In the original version, "If you have no Coffers" limits the power. Here, the power is unlimited, but only if you're already in a good position. But if it's the only thing in the game that gives Coffers, then it literally never does anything.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: October 08, 2022, 02:21:29 pm »
Duration Lich has a bunch of problems. If you discard it on the skipped turn, then you're doing something on that turn and so not actually "skipping" it. And then what if you have other Durations in play on the skipped turn? Why do you resolve and discard Lich but not the others? But if you discard it on the turn AFTER the skipped turn, that breaks the rule that Durations only remain in play if they have still have something to do.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: The bad luck thread
« on: October 08, 2022, 02:13:42 pm »
Play Vampire, gain Duchy. 3 piles are now empty and I have a decent lead.

Then, the Bat exchange happens.

I now have 2 Bats instead of a Bat and a Vampire.

On a Fairgrounds board.

I lose.

Thanks for the feedback guys. I reworked the Lost City Explorer into Hidden City Explorer with your helpful suggestions.

And the Reworked Hidden Cities:

I think Hidden City Explorer should be much harder to activate. If you open 5/2, you have a very good chance of getting a Hidden City on your first shuffle. Even if you open 4/3, your chances of getting a Hidden City early are not bad. The hidden Cities cost $9, so they should be something you have to put a lot of work into - something like Magic Lamp.

Another thing: Hidden City Explorer has the awkward problem of being conditionally terminal. Donald made Tournament always give +1 Action so that it never hurts you to play it. With this, though, you're given an annoying, impossible-to-guess decision if you've run out of Actions. Also, Tournament is still a Peddler early on even if you don't connect it. This, though, gives you nothing if you don't connect it, making it very swingy.

I think Machu Picchu's attack is still way too brutal. With Warlord, it's still not too hard to play 5 or even 10 action cards. And the fact that there's only one Machu Picchu just leads to a totally lopsided shutdown of the other player. I know you can block the attack with Fountain of Youth but the odds of that being in your hand aren't great.

I suspect that Atlantis's Province gaining makes it too strong. I would make it "Gain a non-Victory card".

Shangri'La sort of has a problem that trashing is best in the beginning, before you can get this. I know I said earlier that I think these need to be harder to get, but if you want these to be gotten more towards the beginning you'll have to nerf the others. If you want these to be big, powerful cards obtained near the end, though, then I suspect Shangri'La will usually be grudgingly picked up last.

I'm giving all these criticisms because I really like this idea, and I want to see it work.

Night - Duration - $4
Put your deck into your discard pile. You may set aside an Action card from it and play it at the start of your next turn.
This is gained to your hand (instead of your discard pile).

I love Ghost. It's sad how hard it is to get though, so why not make a Kingdom card that's similar? Poltergeist basically functions the same, including being able to play a card you just bought, but it only plays the card once, to keep the power level in check. It also gets rid of Ghost's randomness, which can annoy. I also added the gain-to-hand fun that other Night cards have.

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: October 06, 2022, 09:45:07 pm »
The Ultimate Noob Fancard
Action - Duration - Reaction - Victory - Attack - $7P2
+1 Card
Each other player trashes the top card of their deck. Gain a Curse. You may discard a Curse. If you did, each other player discards down to 1 card. At the start of your next turn, +1 Coffers.
When another player plays an Attack card, you may reveal this from your hand to have the Attack affect them instead of you.
Worth 1 VP for each card in the Ultimate Noob Fancard pile at the end of the game.

Draw the player to your left to your hand.


Pretty useful if you're losing!

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #164: Read the Fine Print
« on: September 23, 2022, 10:15:56 pm »
Corrupt City
Action - Looter - $5
+2 Cards
+3 Actions
When you gain this, gain a Ruins.

Depending on the Ruins, it's overall either a Lost City (Ruined Library), Bazaar (Abandoned Mine), Bustling Village (Ruined Village), Workers' Village (Ruined Market), or Spy-Village thing (Survivors). It's always at least a Village though, and it becomes super good if you can get rid of the Ruins.

Very very strong: i think this could be 6$ personally.

Why? Is it because you think it's easy to deal with the Ruins? Of the 5 possibilities, only one is worth more than $5.

are cards like ways, landscapes or Allies allowed?

I think they would be, if they have a "in games using this" clause - that's the only way I can think of for there to be under-the-line "fine print".

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 52

Page created in 1.683 seconds with 19 queries.