Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  All

Author Topic: Cards you always remember wrong  (Read 21663 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1400
  • Respect: +1706
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #25 on: September 15, 2013, 07:25:55 pm »
0

I get horribly confused as to how Urchin and Squire trigger sometimes. I will look at a board with Urchin and a few other Attacks and think "Ok, how can I trash Urchin to get a Mercenary?" :facepalm:
Logged

Dubdubdubdub

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 197
  • Respect: +124
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2013, 04:27:18 am »
+4

Oracle and Fortune Teller. Will never get those two straight.
Logged

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4995
  • Respect: +5347
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #27 on: September 17, 2013, 03:13:01 pm »
0

I don't remember what exactly Doctor and Stonemason do, but i also don't own Guilds (not available in Germany).
Also i can't remember which Knight has which effect, except Sir Michael does the discard attack and the one for 4$ gives two buys. And that the Knights randomizer costs 5$.
Logged

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3296
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4442
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #28 on: September 17, 2013, 03:23:22 pm »
+17

I don't remember what exactly Doctor and Stonemason do, but i also don't own Guilds (not available in Germany).
Also i can't remember which Knight has which effect, except Sir Michael does the discard attack and the one for 4$ gives two buys. And that the Knights randomizer costs 5$.

The Knights Randomizer
$5: Action–Attack–Knight
Each other player reveals the top 2 cards of his deck, trashes one of them costing from $3 to $6, and discards the rest. If a Knight is trashed by this, trash this card.
Randomly choose one: +2 Cards; +2 Actions; +1 Card and +1 Action; +$2; +2 Buys; trash up to two cards from your hand; gain a card costing up to $3; each other player discards down to three cards in hand.
When you trash this, you have a 10% chance of gaining a Gold.
Worth 1/5 VP
Logged

ChocophileBenj

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 504
  • Respect: +575
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #29 on: September 17, 2013, 04:37:46 pm »
0

Don't know names and effects of 3 male knights (I know the 5 female and Sir Martin+Vander) + many of the guilds cards + the full effect of Graverobber.

But I never played DA nor Guilds. All I play IRL with are Base, Intrigue and Prosperity
Logged
Chocolate is like victory points in Dominion. Both taste good but they'll hurt you if you eat too much of it instead of something else in your early days.

RobertJ

  • Alchemist
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Respect: +57
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #30 on: September 24, 2013, 12:42:08 pm »
+7

I realised too late today that I misremembered Doctor as discarding the cards that aren't trashed. It made my experimental Doctor+Tunnel opening (which would probably have been a bit dubious even with Doctor working as I thought it did) spectacularly ineffective.
Logged

Polk5440

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1708
  • Respect: +1788
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #31 on: September 24, 2013, 05:23:00 pm »
0

Mine or Mint?

Also, on Iso I always confused Menagerie and Shanty Town. I think it was because the color scheme of the images were similar. I don't have this problem anymore.

But I am still sometimes surprised when all my Treasures are trashed after buying a Mint.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2013, 05:25:01 pm by Polk5440 »
Logged

GwinnR

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 417
  • Respect: +786
    • View Profile
    • German Youtube-Videos
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2013, 12:51:42 am »
0

Mine or Mint?

Also, on Iso I always confused Menagerie and Shanty Town. I think it was because the color scheme of the images were similar. I don't have this problem anymore.

But I am still sometimes surprised when all my Treasures are trashed after buying a Mint.
Enter Mine/Mint-joke here ;-)
Logged
Nobody's perfect, but I'm only a nobody o.O

My german Youtube-Channel: http://www.youtube.com/gwinnrdominion

Markov Chain

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
  • Respect: +77
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2013, 01:50:13 pm »
0

I forget that you can buy Duchess from the Supply.

I usually do the opposite, forgetting to gain a Duchess after buying a late Duchy.
Logged

Witherweaver

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6476
  • Shuffle iT Username: Witherweaver
  • Respect: +7866
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2013, 01:54:58 pm »
+7

I forget that you can buy Duchess from the Supply.

I usually do the opposite, forgetting to gain a Duchess after buying a late Duchy.

I just forget that Duchess is in the game at all (until Goko prompts me to gain one).
Logged

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4995
  • Respect: +5347
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #35 on: October 26, 2013, 07:23:46 am »
+1

Another one, i always believe Embassy gives a buy. I always mix it up with Margrave and/or Council Room.
Logged

markusin

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3846
  • Shuffle iT Username: markusin
  • I also switched from Starcraft
  • Respect: +2437
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #36 on: October 26, 2013, 09:15:18 am »
0

Another one, i always believe Embassy gives a buy. I always mix it up with Margrave and/or Council Room.
Holy cow, that would make Embassy the best card ever, or at least bring it to Wharf level.

I'm mostly know how all the cards work. There have been a few times where I was surprised that Rabble was discarding Action-Victory and Treasure-Victory cards. I also didn't count on it discarding Hovel and Necropolis.
Logged

SCSN

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2227
  • Respect: +7140
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #37 on: October 26, 2013, 09:54:49 am »
0

Another one, i always believe Embassy gives a buy. I always mix it up with Margrave and/or Council Room.
Holy cow, that would make Embassy the best card ever, or at least bring it to Wharf level.

I'm mostly know how all the cards work. There have been a few times where I was surprised that Rabble was discarding Action-Victory and Treasure-Victory cards. I also didn't count on it discarding Hovel and Necropolis.

Rabble doesn't discard Hovel.
Logged

markusin

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3846
  • Shuffle iT Username: markusin
  • I also switched from Starcraft
  • Respect: +2437
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #38 on: October 26, 2013, 11:06:06 am »
+5

Another one, i always believe Embassy gives a buy. I always mix it up with Margrave and/or Council Room.
Holy cow, that would make Embassy the best card ever, or at least bring it to Wharf level.

I'm mostly know how all the cards work. There have been a few times where I was surprised that Rabble was discarding Action-Victory and Treasure-Victory cards. I also didn't count on it discarding Hovel and Necropolis.
Rabble doesn't discard Hovel.
See what I mean? I mixed it up with Farming Village again.
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2706
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #39 on: October 26, 2013, 12:03:37 pm »
0

A rule I always forget about is the player-2-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

Fragasnap

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 440
  • Respect: +703
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #40 on: October 26, 2013, 06:01:14 pm »
0

A rule I always forget about is the player-2-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
... or player-3-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
... or player-4-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
...
Logged
Dominion: Avarice 1.1a, my fan expansion with "in-games-using-this" cards and Edicts (updated Oct 18, 2021)

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2706
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #41 on: October 26, 2013, 07:38:14 pm »
+12

A rule I always forget about is the player-2-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
... or player-3-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
... or player-4-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.
...

I also forget that dominion can be played with more than 2 players ;)
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

KingZog3

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3163
  • Respect: +1380
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #42 on: October 26, 2013, 11:36:51 pm »
+2

I always forget Graverobber topdecks the gained cards. In fact, my IRL group didn't even realize this when we first got DA.

As for duration cards, I move them so that they are slightly higher than my other action cards, that way they don't get swept up like all the rest. Then I move them back down for the start of my next turn to know that they are giving me bonuses.
Logged

markusin

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3846
  • Shuffle iT Username: markusin
  • I also switched from Starcraft
  • Respect: +2437
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #43 on: October 27, 2013, 12:04:46 pm »
0

I always forget Graverobber topdecks the gained cards. In fact, my IRL group didn't even realize this when we first got DA.

As for duration cards, I move them so that they are slightly higher than my other action cards, that way they don't get swept up like all the rest. Then I move them back down for the start of my next turn to know that they are giving me bonuses.
I think the Seaside manual actually recommends adopting a system like that, though maybe it recommends the reverse.
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2706
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #44 on: October 27, 2013, 12:06:11 pm »
0

A rule I always forget about is the player-2-wins-on-tie-if-he-has-fewer-turns rule.

And I was just playing and didn't double-Colony because I knew my opponent could end in a tie (but I was player 2 so I would have won)...
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

ponnuki

  • Steward
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
  • Respect: +30
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #45 on: October 27, 2013, 06:44:59 pm »
+2

I always have to remember myself that Mercenary does not have +1 Action, because Urchin does. I also tend to play my second, third etc. Crossroads as if they had +1 Action.
Logged

sudgy

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2706
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #46 on: October 27, 2013, 06:46:55 pm »
0

I always have to remember myself that Mercenary does not have +1 Action, because Urchin does. I also tend to play my second, third etc. Crossroads as if they had +1 Action.

I always remember that with Mercenary because I've gotten too many of them before...
Logged
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

   Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4995
  • Respect: +5347
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #47 on: December 15, 2013, 08:52:42 am »
0

Anybody else who always confuses Wharf and Merchant Ship?
Logged

Powerman

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 766
  • Respect: +605
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #48 on: December 15, 2013, 01:41:12 pm »
+2

Anybody else who always confuses Wharf and Merchant Ship?

No.
Logged
A man on a mission.

Robz888

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2644
  • Shuffle iT Username: Robz888
  • Respect: +3391
    • View Profile
Re: Cards you always remember wrong
« Reply #49 on: December 15, 2013, 01:45:17 pm »
+1

Graverobber! Trash which into who? Gain what? I never remember the restrictions.
Logged
I have been forced to accept that lackluster play is a town tell for you.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  All
 

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 21 queries.