Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - kieranmillar

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
I don't quite understand what you are getting at here. I think this is what you want:

If you want to construct a kingdom and save it for later, press the floppy disk button. You can then load it later by pressing the button with 5 cards and going to the My Sets tab. You can do this via the offline Create New Game screen too, no need to go via online.

Rules Questions / Re: Overlord and Pirate
« on: April 24, 2024, 05:13:52 pm »
Overlord doesn't have a reaction that lets you play it when another player gains a treasure, how are you going to play it as a Pirate?

I'm making some assumptions about the scenario here such as this happening when its not your turn, which you weren't specific about.

Rules Questions / Re: Throned Inspiring Taskmaster
« on: March 30, 2024, 03:57:32 am »
You only get one +1 Action and +$1 next turn (you only met the condition on the first Taskmaster play). This will cause Taskmaster to stay out and so cause Throne Room to also stay out, even though the second play of Taskmaster has no reason to stay out.

This is equivalent to e.g. throning Gear and only setting aside cards on the first play. Throne Room cares about when its target physically gets discarded from play.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Cornucopia & Guilds 2E
« on: February 24, 2024, 02:25:40 am »
You can't play any more treasures after buying something, so when overpaying it will be drawing to find things to trash, outside of all the usual edge cases.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Cornucopia & Guilds 2E
« on: February 23, 2024, 11:35:51 am »
Merchant Guild isn't removed either! Only 8 cards were removed.

Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Where to play Dominion now?
« on: February 17, 2024, 02:34:30 am »
I certainly only use the app and I never have trouble finding a game there.

I would say that it depends on the kind of games you're looking for, if you want all expansions together, 2 player against the strongest players, then you want, but if you want games with more players or just a small selection of expansions then you want the app.

Rules Questions / Re: treasury gets topdecked at launch
« on: February 27, 2023, 02:24:58 am »
Once upon a time returning to your action phase with stuff like Villa, Cavalry and now Launch didn't count as ending your buy phase, but this ruling got changed.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Mobile app?
« on: January 15, 2023, 02:48:10 am »
The most recent update from the developer on when it will be released was yesterday on Reddit:

No ETA yet. The schedule has a major multiplayer patch coming shortly. Then another patch w/ saved sets and 5/6 player and a few more kingdom customization features. Then bug fixes, then release. The server perf issues this week caused a bit of unexpected delay, and I wouldn't be surprised if there were a few more things like that, but we're getting closer and closer.

Rules Questions / Re: Frigate discarding
« on: January 12, 2023, 12:18:26 am »
If you play Frigate, it has no effect at all on your next turn; the last turn where it does anything is your right-hand opponent's turn.
No. The card says "until the start of your next turn" so something does happen on your next turn: the attack effect ends. And it ends on your turn, not on the turn of the player to your right, so it wouldn't be discarded during their clean up.

Rules Questions / Re: Reckless
« on: December 20, 2022, 02:48:20 am »
Yes, revealing Moat would block both times the attack occurs, but that is not what is happening in the example, where the Moat is the card drawn as a result of Soothsayer's attack.

Rules Questions / Re: Souk
« on: November 20, 2022, 12:58:52 am »
The faq in the official rulebook answers this:
"You can't go below $0 but might end up with less $ than you started with."

Rules Questions / Re: Throne Room/Kings Court and Reserve Cards
« on: November 02, 2022, 07:25:31 pm »
The logical explanation is quite simple: thrones stay in play with durations because that's what the rules say  :P

But in all seriousness, thrones don't move to other non-play areas when the card they throne does so I'm not sure why you would think they would go onto the tavern mat. For example, when you throne a card that trashes itself, like Embargo or Acting Troupe, the throne doesn't also move to the trash. When you throne a Horse, the throne doesn't go back to its pile. So why would the throne go to the tavern mat?

When you throne a ratcatcher, next turn you only get to call it once and trash one card, the part below the line doesn't get done twice, so there's no extra thing to remember about because you throned it last turn.

Also your example misunderstands how these cards work. When you throne a ratcatcher, you don't play it twice, then move it to the tavern mat, you play it the first time, putting it in play, and move it to the mat as part of resolving that play, then you play it again, but don't need to move it back into play because you don't do that for subsequent plays of the card via thrones (its just a rule), then while resolving the second play you try to move it to the tavern mat again but its already there.

Also, just to be clear, duration cards don't get played again next turn, they simply continue resolving the plays that happened the last turn, which haven't finished yet. The thrones stay in play to remind you the effect you are still resolving is happening multiple times.

Devils Workshop and Cavalry.  Cavalry don't ride at night.  Only in buy phase.

salvager/trail.  trashing a trail only causes it to be played, and you get a buy from salvaged, but you don't get the 4 coins you were expecting for salvaging trail. Though TBH I'm not sure why you don't get the coins?
Salvaging a Trail definitely gets you 4 coins.

Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: How to optimize player level?
« on: September 01, 2022, 02:27:56 am »
At this point it sounds like your only option is to actually get better at Dominion.

Arguably you're more likely to learn how to play better by playing higher ranked opponents.

Rules Questions / Re: Sailor/Blockade
« on: August 01, 2022, 03:02:42 am »
The way I see it, Blockade's duration effect is conditional, if you don't set aside a card on it, no duration effect activates. This is not the case for conjurer, you'll always get a duration effect, and BoM's "leaving it there" stopping it going into your hand next turn doesn't stop the duration effect from activating. Neither Blockade of Conjurer+BoM has anything to do with the stop moving rule.

All the rulebooks are on the official site. If you don't see it, your browser may have cached the page and you just need to do a refresh.

I also have all the recommended sets from all the rulebooks here: Click on the Official Sets button at the top of the page.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: 2022 Additional Errata
« on: July 14, 2022, 05:00:40 pm »
Just so all the errata is collected in one place, here's a cross-post:
Incidentally! Basilica and Colonnade are both getting "in your Buy phase" added. I tried for the simplest versions of the cards, and let them be more different to get there, but a bunch of people complained, and while they don't seem super reasonable to me, them being unhappy with this change is real, and the intention was to fix cards not make them as if new cards, and "in your Buy phase" is not the mess that "that you bought" is.

And! Donate will somehow get more different at the same time, it will trigger at the start of your next turn, that's right. This has played great. It's a little weird since you're not used to it, but is as close as possible to the original while getting rid of rules problems. Yes "first" means before other start-of-turn stuff. And we can cite how e.g. it means you're immune to Militia for a turn. But it's very close to the original. It even gets rid of some unintentional changes the other versions had, like being able to trash everything with Tomb on your last turn.

Donate: Event, 8D
At the start of your next turn, first, put your deck and discard pile into your hand, trash any number of cards from it, then shuffle the rest into your deck and draw 5 cards.

Basilica: Landmark
When you gain a card in your Buy phase, if you have $2 or more, take 2VP from here.
Setup: Put 6VP here per player.

Colonnade: Landmark
When you gain an Action card in your Buy phase, if you have a copy of it in play, take 2VP from here.
Setup: Put 6VP here per player.

And these changes will appear in the next release of the TGG version, and I mean whenever Stef puts them in for

A lot of this strikes me as simply being less familiar with the cards that were replaced. I find it hard to imagine that you say players were forgetting to earn points from Collection, but presumably with Goons it was easier to remember, when Goons has more text and abilities on it. Collection is simpler!

I totally get forgetting about duration attacks though. I've always found those easier to forget about IRL.

I recommend maybe having players read out the text aloud when they play the card the first few times.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: 2022 Additional Errata
« on: June 25, 2022, 11:51:18 am »
Kinda wish the rules for Durations simply stated they didn’t do their next-turn effects if not in play; that seems a lot cleaner than saying “non-Duration” on every card that could possibly play another card, and it allows a bit more flexibility, too.
I Procession an Archive. What now happens to the 4 cards still set aside at the end of the turn?

Dominion General Discussion / 2022 Additional Errata
« on: June 25, 2022, 08:30:56 am »
This has been posted everywhere else now so cross-posting it to here too:

34 more cards/landscapes from other sets also receiving errata when Hinterlands 2E drops.

Also a general rule change: returning to your action phase counts as the end of that buy phase for all things that trigger from the end of a buy phase e.g. Merchant Guild.

It's extremely common to get Gardens to also be worth at least 3VP by the end of the game, even when trashing. It's no big deal.

Rules Questions / Re: Guide + Clerk
« on: June 19, 2022, 01:05:53 pm »
Yes. You could then even call a second Guide and try the whole process again, looking for even more Clerks.

(Just for completeness sake, note that the Ally Desert Guides is slightly different here, as it only gives you the one opportunity to spend favor tokens, once you stop spending favors and react a Clerk you just drew, you can't go back and spend more favors.)

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Prosperity 2E Preview 3
« on: June 10, 2022, 12:29:39 pm »
The real solution is horses trash themselves on-use instead of being an infinitely large source of action gains, but the time for that is long gone.

If you enjoy decks filled with Coppers then more power to you, Dominion has lots of ways to have fun with it, it's why the game is so great.

However, if you want to make claims about the effectiveness of these copper strategies its important to state who your opponents are. Do you play IRL with casual players? If you play ranked online, what level are you? If your opponents are weaker, more strategies become viable because you have more leeway to get away with building a worse deck because your opponents underperform.

If these strategies can't compete at a higher level, then they are simply ineffective strategies. And its fine to build and enjoy playing weak decks, but they are weak decks. There is a reason why you might be the only so-called "copper strategist", because copper-heavy stategies tend to be weak and underperform against many other decks a lot of the time.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Prosperity 2E Preview 3
« on: June 01, 2022, 04:52:57 pm »
This is answered in the Prosperity 2E secret history that just came out.

Hoard: Dropped "while in play" in favor of "this turn"; now triggers on gains not buys, though it still only works on cards you bought. This is a general change; when-buy triggers confuse things for casual players. Why not just "when gain"? The issue is loops. Hoard can happen multiple times a turn, and lets you go up in value - you gain an Estate, it comes with a Gold. Reasonable-looking cards - and I've playtested multiple cards like this - can loop with Hoard, so that you empty the Estates and Duchies. Well those cards don't exist so who cares? I decided in the end that I cared.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 19 queries.