Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Complete noob here, my friends and I are struggling with Chapel  (Read 10439 times)

olegas

• Pawn
  • Respect: +21
    • View Profile
Complete noob here, my friends and I are struggling with Chapel
« on: December 20, 2015, 10:43:34 pm »
+1

I've done a few searches on the forums already but I haven't seen an answer to this question:

So we were playing a game (it was my second time ever) using the premade set of actions recommended by the instructions which includes Witch and Chapel. I quickly bought a bunch of labs and villages when everyone else was spamming witches, and once I got a few chapels as well I began cycling cards very quickly. Before long, I was down to pretty much just labs, villages, a couple chapels, and a woodcutter. At this point I could just cycle my entire deck infinitely, and I pretty much declared victory. My friends questioned it but couldn't find anything against it in the rules. However, we all agreed that this was way broken; it pretty much only took 10 turns and it could've taken even less time with less witches. Now everyone says they're fed up with the game and want to quit playing. So I'm wondering, is this a fair strategy that experienced players use? Is there some way to counter this, or is it just a flaw in the game? This pretty much ruins the game, it seems.

LastFootnote

• Adventurer
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +10722
    • View Profile
Re: Complete noob here, my friends and I are struggling with Chapel
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2015, 10:49:14 pm »
+24

When you play cards, they don't go directly into your discard pile. They stay "in play" until the end of your turn. So you can only play each Action card once per turn.

Read the rules again with this in mind.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 10:50:54 pm by LastFootnote »

popsofctown

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +2860