Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - math

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
2016 DominionStrategy Championships / Signouts
« on: July 29, 2016, 10:44:06 pm »
Tentatively /in
MF username: joey12

Edit:  I actually need to /out, I have a big homework load this semester and won't have time to participate.

Rules Questions / Inheritance and Cornucopia cards
« on: May 05, 2016, 06:40:35 pm »

I played a game today with Inheritance and Hunting party.  I inherited Ironmonger, and later I played Hunting Party with an Ironmonger in hand, and it skipped over an Estate.  I think this might be a bug, but I wanted to check and make sure first.  Is Estate considered to be a duplicate of the Inherited card?  I would assume not, because it's still called Estate.

Dominion General Discussion / Combo: Hermit+Storeroom?
« on: April 27, 2016, 08:25:39 pm »
I played a game recently where I played a combo deck built around Hermit and Storeroom.  It was a megaturn strategy similar to Hermit-Market Square.  On the megaturn I would play a Storeroom, discard half my hand (rounded down), and then play a Madman to draw it again.  I ended up buying five Provinces and two Duchies.

To set it up, I bought/gained six Hermits and three Storerooms.  My opponent trashed some with Knights, so I ended up gaining more than that throughout the course of the game.  I turned all six Hermits into Madmen and counted my deck to make sure I would trigger the megaturn when I had 29 cards (enough to draw with three Madmen).  I bought some Coppers along the way to get to 29 more quickly.  After playing three Madmen I had a 26-card hand, and I got +$12, +$11, and +$10 from my Storerooms, which is enough to buy four Provinces by itself with the buys from Storeroom.  I had extra buys from Candlestick Maker, which let me buy more.  (I forgot to get the log, unfortunately.)

The combo was pretty powerful, but it had amazing support in that particular kingdom.  There was Candlestick Maker for +Buy, and there was also Fishing Village to let me play two Hermits on the same turn sometimes.  I got lucky and drew three Madmen the turn after I bought the 29th card.  Also, my opponent went for Knights, which I'm almost certain was a bad idea.  How well would this deck do without support?  You could get up to four extra Storerooms for more +Buy, but those wouldn't produce any coin.  If you had more time, you could get an extra Hermit/Madman, but that might take too long (just guessing here).  The deck can probably handle a few cards more than 29 by discarding fewer on the first Storeroom.

Help! / Should I have gone for Pirate Ship here?
« on: April 26, 2013, 12:02:40 pm »

Board: Herbalist, Secret Chamber, Vagrant, Sage, Watchtower, Woodcutter, Pirate Ship, Band of Misfits, Catacombs, Festival.

I looked at the board and decided to go for a Festival/Catacombs engine, and opened Silver/Sage.  My opponent opened Watchtower/Pirate Ship and trashed my Silver on turn 3.  He then got another Pirate Ship and proceeded to build a Festival/Watchtower engine that could play two $6 Pirate Ships every turn.  Did he just get extremely lucky, or was the Pirate Ship the best play here?

How would you play this board?  Shelters, but no Platinum or Colony.  The board may seem a bit familiar.

Council Room, Counting House, Courtyard, Gardens, Great Hall, King's Court, Laborotory, Library, Market Square, Outpost.

Goko Dominion Online / 6000 rating
« on: April 19, 2013, 09:14:31 pm »
I just won a game on Goko which finally pushed my pro rating over 6000!  I have been aiming for this, and failing, for several weeks.  I am currently #59 on the leaderboard, although I probably won't stay that high for long.  I'm just making this thread to celebrate/brag.

It's ironic that I only got my rating up to 17 on Isotropic before it shut down.  I wonder how high I could have gone there if I had been able to keep going.  Does anyone have an estimate as to what 6000 would be on iso?

Rules Questions / Procession-->BoM as Fortress
« on: April 19, 2013, 12:37:02 pm »
There was an extensive discussion on this topic on another thread (, but we failed to come to a satisfactory conclusion.  When you play Procession on Band of Misfits and choose Fortress, do you trash it or put it into your hand?

The issue here is that Fortress has an effect that occurs when you trash it, while Band of Misfits has an effect that occurs when it leaves play.  My understanding would say that a card it trashed when it hits the trash pile, at which point it has already left play.  However, this contradicts the FAQ (, which says you put it into your hand.

Can anyone explain this?

Game Reports / Highway+Ironworks (with KC-Scheme)
« on: April 16, 2013, 01:51:31 am »

Kingdom: Scheme, Steward, Ironworks, Moneylender, Duke, Highway, Jester, Border Village, King's Court.  3-player game.

I saw the Ironworks-Highway combo right off the bat (Highway reduces costs so Ironworks can gain more Highways).  I opened Moneylender-Silver, planning to use the Moneylender to get to Highway and use Scheme to topdeck Highways.  I picked up Ironworks, Border Village, and Highway on turns 3-4 and get a lucky draw turn 5, playing Highway-Ironworks.  T6 I got a King's Court, and remembered the power of KC-Scheme.  I got a couple of Schemes in the next few turns; by this point the Highways were gone and I had 4 of them.  On turn 11 I play 3 Highways followed by KC-Ironworks, gaining 3 King's Courts and buying a fourth.  On turns 12-14, I play a massive King's Court chain ending in KC-Ironworks after 4 Highways, to gain 7 Provinces and 2 Duchies.

Rules Questions / Inn question
« on: March 31, 2013, 06:53:46 pm »
When you gain Inn, if you choose no actions from your discard pile, do you shuffle your deck?

This could be relevant if you gained Inn from the trash with Graverobber, for example.  If you shuffle your deck, the Inn won't be on top anymore.

Dominion Articles / Combo: Death Cart+Watchtower
« on: March 30, 2013, 12:48:14 am »
I discovered this combo in a game today.  This probably isn't a combo you're likely to see that often, but it works very well when these two cards are present.

The main problem with Death Cart is that it is difficult to line up the Death Cart with your Ruins.  You rely on shuffle luck too much, and the Ruins clog up your deck in the meantime.  Having a Watchtower in hand when you buy Death Cart eliminates this problem: simply trash one Ruins, then topdeck Death Cart and the other Ruins.  This effectively turns Death Cart into a guaranteed two-shot terminal Platinum with no penalty, which can help you jump to expensive cards quickly.

To pull off this combo, you only need to have a Watchtower and $4 worth of treasure in your hand, which is not very difficult.  You will probably want more than one Watchtower in your deck so you can do this repeatedly.

Introductions / Hello, this is Math
« on: March 28, 2013, 12:55:43 am »
Hello everyone!

I got involved in Isotropic Dominion about a month before it shut down.  I googled "dominion strategy" and found the website, forum, and wiki.  I have been visiting here as a guest for a while and just now decided to officially join.

When shut down, I tried out Innovation and enjoyed it very much.  I now play both Dominion (on Goko and IRL) and Innovation (only on Isotropic).

I also managed to grab the coveted Isotropic username of "mathematics".  I am currently level 19, which is higher than I ever got in Dominion.

In real life I am a student at Brigham Young University, majoring in (of all things) mathematics.

I look forward to doing many good things on this forum!

Pages: [1]

Page created in 1.591 seconds with 17 queries.