Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - TheMirrorMan

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Game Reports / An interesting game
« on: June 03, 2014, 10:20:17 pm »
A nice game I played against Polk5440 ...

http://gokologs.drunkensailor.org/static/logprettifier.html?20140603/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1401847679577.txt



Code: [Select]
Forager, Tunnel, Urchin, Bridge, Coppersmith, Envoy, Herald, Rats, Apprentice, Farmland
Regardless the outcome, there's very interesting stuff going on here.

A quick look at the board :
+ buy in bridge, which is strong.
You can build an engine with Herald/Envoy
Rats + apprentice/mercenary seems like a nice combo too. But then you're going to have to rule out Herald.
This board is just begging for a megaturn and then I spot ... Tunnel/Apprentice. If you go for Urchins quickly (which seems to be the plan here), the discards will be flying around quickly and that gold is perfect food for the apprentice. Then trashing gold means ... Suddenly forager becomes + $2/$3 (since the coppers will get trashed and there will be gold in the trash).

Wonder what you guys see in this board.



2
Game Reports / I guess I don't understand Dominion anymore.
« on: May 31, 2014, 08:53:05 pm »
Yeah I've gone down a whole lot but what I saw now just leaves me whimpering ... I don't get what I do wrong in these games. Am I just that bad ?

So the last two games I played were the following :

http://gokologs.drunkensailor.org/static/logprettifier.html?20140531/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1401580760150.txt



Code: [Select]
University, Swindler, Bureaucrat, Navigator, Spy, Catacombs, Ghost Ship, Mine, Adventurer, Peddler
So looking at this board, I see University + catacombs and swindler. I prefer catacombs over ghost ship here for two reasons :

1) It's highly likely that I'm going to swindle the cards after the ghost ship so my opponent just puts back the bad cards or the greens.
2) Catacombs helps me take something else but the junk I put back.

Well that looks like Potion + Swindler to me.

I swindle his potion into a bureaucrat and a gold into an adventurer. It just doesn't prove enough. I can't seem to find any province to swindle into a peddler and my spies only hit silvers and curses ...

But the game that frustrated me the most was the following :

http://www.gokosalvager.com/static/logprettifier.html?/20140531/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1401582665611.txt



Code: [Select]
Masterpiece, Armory, Death Cart, Farming Village, Ironworks, Navigator, Thief, Council Room, Highway, Torturer
Agreed, you don't have double buy. But this has all sorts of interesting stuff, notably Farming village/Torturer looks an enduring combo here.

Now my opening is a mistake, I should get IW/silver instead of FV/silver (I think ?), but what follows is ... awful.

Also Highway/Armory and or IW looks so interesting on this board, even without double buy, 4 highways and you can pick up a province with the IW. So this should work together with the engine ... I think ?

I get a lucky torturer T3, my opponent has $6 at T4 and takes ... a gold ?!

He gets a torturer at T6 and then only buys one FV, one highway and nothing else but money.

I'm desperately cycling my deck over and over again but can't get ANY good combo out of it. He takes a few curses, but constantly hits eight and in the end just takes some duchies to get over 42 (he has 2 curses).

I don't get it. Am I overdoing my engines here ?

3
Tournaments and Events / Dutch/Belgian Dominion championships 2014
« on: April 20, 2014, 10:40:49 am »
Hi guys,

I have read that The Hague will not be organizing the "spellenaanzee" games fest, so there is not going to be a NK/BK Dominion there in any case.

They also said that they would see with 999 if somebody would take over the organization.

I had a quick talk with -Stef- on the subject. He was the one who proposed last year to maybe do online preliminals for the tourney. It has advantages of course - not dragging along tons of sets, quicker to organize etc.

Aside the organization, which somebody will have to think about ... Are there any other suggestions ?

-Stef- e.g. also had the idea of making the tourney an "open" tourney - open for all nationalities. German, French, British ... Of course the Belgian/Dutch champion would only go to our countries.

I'm posting this to see if there are any other ideas around. Feel free to comment!

4
Rules Questions / Baker questions
« on: April 20, 2014, 07:01:06 am »
Don't know if this has been answered in the secret histories ... Or any other thread. But here goes.

Does anybody understand why we only get a coin token in the beginning with Baker on the board ? But not with Butcher, candlestick maker or any other Guilds card etc. ...

Why would Baker be so special ?

Also, according to dominion online, if Baker is in the black market deck, we get an extra coin token. I'm wondering if this is correct.

5
Game Reports / The one where I can't distinguish my deck anymore
« on: April 11, 2014, 04:07:13 am »
It's this one :

http://gokologs.drunkensailor.org/static/logprettifier.html?20140411/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1397203086085.txt



Code: [Select]
Scrying Pool, Black Market, Scheme, Storeroom, Bishop, Fortress, Graverobber, Pillage, Tactician, Expand
This has an engine board to make all Dominion adepts go crazy : SP, Black market, Fortress with all sorts of TfB, double tactician, Storeroom.

Admittedly I pull out all the good stuff from the black market.

But turns 16,17 and 18 just turn out crazy. On t16 I already have problems seeing what exactly I can put back with my Scheme. On t17 and t18 I draw 30 (!) cards in my deck to the point where I can't even see what is what anymore. Jeez.

6
Goko Dominion Online / Logs not showing my opponents history
« on: April 04, 2014, 01:02:28 pm »
I played a game against Simon (DK) a few minutes ago and looked up the logs...

For example :
http://gokologs.drunkensailor.org/static/logprettifier.html?20140404/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1396625734100.txt

The weird thing is, I can't see the history of his deck on the right hand side. Also, the VP chart shows him having 0 points all the time.

Is this something to do with him having brackets in his name ? The other logs seem to be fine.

7
Rules Questions / Depleting of piles
« on: March 24, 2014, 05:48:33 pm »
Just 2 quick questions - however unlikely they may seem.

1) If the spoils pile is empty at a certain point, does this count as a depleted pile ? (Guess : No)
2) If the card stack in the black market is empty, does this count as a depleted pile ? (Guess : No)

8
Game Reports / It's all about the greens ... But which one ?
« on: February 27, 2014, 02:56:32 am »
Well apparently I'm bouncing into some interesting games lately. This time against impromptublue.

http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20140226/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1393487035759.txt



Code: [Select]
Squire, Vagrant, Oasis, Tunnel, Watchtower, Bridge, Envoy, Gardens, Salvager, Journeyman
I've been getting my ass handed quite a few times with Squire/Gardens, so I'm starting to get very observant on that - and here we've got it.

But there are two strategies present :
* Gardens with Squire/Bridge (?) and possible support of Vagrant, Journeyman (to skip the Gardens).
* Tunnel with Oasis/Journeyman.

So I'm a bit confused. I kept my options open with Oasis/Salvager, while impromptublue went for Squire/Envoy. Given his buildup on Squires, I was expecting a quick gardens rush soon. So I picked up a few myself (even with 5).

I got two provinces quickly here, while he was not ready yet. But I think I did have some luck. I still find this board interesting. What would you do/choose ?

9
Game Reports / A kingdom for my hoard ...
« on: February 25, 2014, 11:07:45 pm »
Most of the times, two strategies just don't mix.

http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20140225/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1393385888647.txt



Code: [Select]
Woodcutter, Herald, Pirate Ship, Taxman, Governor, Hunting Party, Adventurer, Fairgrounds, Hoard, Nobles
Of course you want to have an engine going on here with Herald. But hey, with such nice greens on the board, wouldn't you throw a hoard in ? And the extra gold will come in handy for the Governor!

Well ... I believe it is one big trap here. I got smacked against the wall by asuzu6.

10
Game Reports / Vineyards ? Duchy/Duke ? What do you do here ?
« on: February 23, 2014, 01:59:17 am »
I played a very interesting game against Perry Green. We both had the "wow" factor. There is so much going on in this deck. But what do you do ?
How do you open 2/5 (in my case) ?
And 3/4 (in his case) ?

http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20140222/log.513bdc80e4b0da6e3de056bb.1393138536205.txt



Code: [Select]
Vineyard, Beggar, Candlestick Maker, Courtyard, Shanty Town, Contraband, Duke, Graverobber, Market, Border Village

11
Game Reports / You can't trash when possessed ...
« on: January 31, 2014, 08:29:56 pm »
But you can put your opponent's possessions aside with island.

Weird game where this happened :

http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20140131/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1391218055460.txt

12
Puzzles and Challenges / Clean out all cards!
« on: January 25, 2014, 10:24:42 am »
Just something I had in mind some time already - haven't had time yet to work out a good strategy.

In how many turns can you clean out (meaning you have NO cards left) your deck completely.

A few possibilities that may need to be considered aside :
* Clean out with your opponent helping you
* Clean out with cards on your native village mat
* Clean out with cards on your island mat
* Clean out, but still have coins left
* None of the above (so complete clean out)

Happy to hear your ideas :)

13
Rules Questions / Salvager on potion cards
« on: November 21, 2013, 09:57:01 am »
If you trash a potion card with a salvager, should you get a potion as money too ? I believe so, but Goko seems to think otherwise.

14
Dominion General Discussion / Possession and masquerades/ambassador
« on: October 11, 2013, 07:55:48 am »
Well I was thinking a bit about the doubt of buying a masquerade/ambassador when a possession is on the board.

I'm always in doubt on whether it is fast enough or not to get your deck in order before the possessing starts.

And actually, it would be interesting if your opponent goes for Masquerade/Ambassador ... Then you can take advantage of it during him being possessed.

So suppose he ignores it completely - no masquerade/ambassador but straight play (out of fear of being possessed). Clearly buying a masquerade/ambassador yourself may leave you (quite) vulnerable ?

Well you can still go for Possession and ... buy a second masquerade/ambassador yourself to throw over to your opponent. And then possess him :-)

What do you guys think ?

15
Game Reports / Trashing at its best ...
« on: September 20, 2013, 11:08:03 pm »
Well, here's the deck. How does one get a hand with 12 coins ?

Hamlet, Lighthouse, Fortune Teller, Loan, Market Square, Masterpiece, Watchtower, Feodum, Talisman, Harem

This stupid stuff I pulled off at turn 10 :

plays 1 Copper, 1 Gold
TheMirrorMan   buys Feodum
TheMirrorMan   gains Feodum
TheMirrorMan   applied Watchtower to trash Feodum
TheMirrorMan   trashes Feodum
TheMirrorMan   reveals reaction Market Square
TheMirrorMan   discards Market Square
TheMirrorMan   gains Gold
TheMirrorMan   applied Watchtower to place Gold on top of the deck
TheMirrorMan   reveals reaction Market Square
TheMirrorMan   discards Market Square
TheMirrorMan   gains Gold
TheMirrorMan   applied Watchtower to place Gold on top of the deck
TheMirrorMan   gains Silver
TheMirrorMan   applied Watchtower to place Silver on top of the deck
TheMirrorMan   gains Silver
TheMirrorMan   applied Watchtower to place Silver on top of the deck
TheMirrorMan   gains Silver
TheMirrorMan   applied Watchtower to place Silver on top of the deck
TheMirrorMan   draws Silver, Silver, Silver, Gold, Gold

I couldn't stop smiling :-)

16
Dominion General Discussion / Minions and putting cards back
« on: September 02, 2013, 01:42:29 am »
Got a strategy question on Minions.

Two possible scenarios, all starting with the same sort of starting hand.

1) In game one, your opponent plays minion, you've got your "normal" 5 card hand. You've got a secret chamber,  play it, get seven cards in total, of which you need to put 2 back. Your seven cards contain at least 2 minions (let's say 2). Do you :

a) Put the majority of the minions in your hand
b) Keep 1 in your hand and put the other one back on your deck
c) Put the two minions on your deck

Of course what you expect him to decide plays a big role in this.

2) Your opponent plays a ghost ship and you have your "normal" 5-card hand with at least 2 minions (let's say 2). Do you :

a) Keep the majority of the minions in your hand
b) Keep 1 in your hand and put the other one back on your deck
c) Put the two minions on your deck (that seems a bit weird to me, but okay)

Thanks for the advice!

17
Game Reports / Too much stuff going on here
« on: August 23, 2013, 05:35:50 pm »
A game I played against kaiseki :




There is soooooooooooooooooo much going on.

Here's the log. Would love to have your thoughts on this.

http://dominionlogs.goko.com/20130823/log.50785f090cf28ed55d9d72bf.1377293404152.txt

18
Rules Questions / Goko : Highway and Hermit
« on: August 18, 2013, 06:42:16 pm »
Goko : I play a highway and then a hermit. I want to take a card costing up to 4 (3 now since lowered by highway), yet it won't let me select it. Is this a bug ? I believe so.

19
Rules Questions / Counterfeit + spoils
« on: August 18, 2013, 06:39:23 pm »
In one of the games I played (on Goko), I counterfeited a spoils. Now counterfeit says that the card should be trashed, yet spoils says it should be returned to the pile. Goko put it back to the pile.

What do you guys think ?

20
Rules Questions / Alchemy with the other sets
« on: July 20, 2013, 09:03:49 pm »
Two questions on combining Alchemy with other sets :

1) If you trash a squire, are you able to take a scrying pool ?
2) Can you use the band of misfits as an alchemy card ?

Pages: [1]

Page created in 1.156 seconds with 18 queries.