Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Encampment and Black Market  (Read 755 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Seprix

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5098
  • Shuffle iT Username: Seprix
  • Weed Whackers Will Return
  • Respect: +2587
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Blog
Encampment and Black Market
« on: October 11, 2016, 10:28:49 pm »
0

Two questions for the almighty esteemed Donald.

1. When you buy Encampment from Black Market, and you play Encampment without revealing a Gold/Plunder, does it get set aside forever, or do you put it back into the Black Market deck?

2. At the end of the game, if the Encampment is set aside, do you count it as part of your deck? This matters for Vineyards, Gardens, etc.
Logged
Dominion Blog

Gone for a time. Will return.

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4161
  • Respect: +16303
    • View Profile
Re: Encampment and Black Market
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2016, 10:47:33 pm »
+5

1. When you buy Encampment from Black Market, and you play Encampment without revealing a Gold/Plunder, does it get set aside forever, or do you put it back into the Black Market deck?
Encampment stays set aside for the rest of the game.

2. At the end of the game, if the Encampment is set aside, do you count it as part of your deck? This matters for Vineyards, Gardens, etc.
Yes.
Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7543
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Prepare to be boarded!
  • Respect: +8338
    • View Profile
Re: Encampment and Black Market
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2016, 11:44:53 pm »
0

This has been in the wiki FAQ since June.  I'm sure Donald doesn't mind answering questions, but you might want to check the wiki first to see if it's been answered already. :)
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Chris is me

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2045
  • Shuffle iT Username: Chris is me
  • What do you want me to say?
  • Respect: +2222
    • View Profile
Re: Encampment and Black Market
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2016, 12:11:19 am »
0

Two questions for the almighty esteemed Donald.

1. When you buy Encampment from Black Market, and you play Encampment without revealing a Gold/Plunder, does it get set aside forever, or do you put it back into the Black Market deck?

2. At the end of the game, if the Encampment is set aside, do you count it as part of your deck? This matters for Vineyards, Gardens, etc.

It actually does not matter for Gardens anymore. The second edition wording is just "Worth 1VP per 10 cards you have (rounded down)". Nothing about a deck there.

I suspect the wording change was inspired by all the "is THIS in my deck" questions.
Logged
Twitch channel: http://www.twitch.tv/chrisisme2791

bug me on discord

they/them

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6058
  • Respect: +6549
    • View Profile
Re: Encampment and Black Market
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2016, 11:22:48 am »
0

For question #2, you either should have all sorts of other questions about other cards, or have missed the fact that Encampment is the same thing as the other cards:

Haven, Prince, the card chosen for Inheritance, Archive, Gear, Horse Traders, all Reserve cards, Miser... they can all set cards aside; and every single set aside card still counts as part of your deck at the end of the game. Island and Native Village happen to have extra wording to tell you to return the cards to your deck, but that wording doesn't change anything; the rules already tell you to do that.

I'm hoping that the reprinted Island and Native Village will remove that wording; or at least change it to a parenthetical italics.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

ThetaSigma12

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1099
  • Respect: +825
    • View Profile
Re: Encampment and Black Market
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2016, 03:32:45 pm »
+5

This has been in the wiki FAQ since June.  I'm sure Donald doesn't mind answering questions, but you might want to check the wiki first to see if it's been answered already. :)
If nobody asks it again it won't be a Frequently Asked Question though.
Logged
If you have a fan card you want to be created, just post about it here! I'd love to take a look at it.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.083 seconds with 20 queries.