Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Edge cases of rules questions  (Read 2036 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

florrat

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 542
  • Shuffle iT Username: florrat
  • Respect: +748
    • View Profile
Edge cases of rules questions
« on: May 14, 2013, 07:36:25 pm »
+2

In an attempt to get the Rules Questions forum edge case free let's start a topic where we can, are allowed and even encouraged to post these edge cases. So here it is! If an answer to a rules question is generally true, but has some edge cases you want to point out, then post the edge case here instead of the corresponding topic.

And yes, this belong to puzzles, because the challenge is to find the most/most obscure/least obscure edge cases to rules answers which are generally right.
Logged

theory

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3603
  • Respect: +6125
    • View Profile
    • Dominion Strategy
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 10:13:09 pm »
0

What are some situations where you prefer to have a Silver instead of a Gold? 
Logged

Powerman

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 766
  • Respect: +605
    • View Profile
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 10:25:13 pm »
0

What are some situations where you prefer to have a Silver instead of a Gold?

Feoda!
Logged
A man on a mission.

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9191
    • View Profile
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 10:42:16 pm »
0

What are some situations where you prefer to have a Silver instead of a Gold?

Feoda!

Forge + $5 card (or maybe Province/Peddler in a Colony game)!
Logged

ashersky

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2343
  • 2013/2014/2015 Mafia Mod of the Year
  • Respect: +1520
    • View Profile
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2013, 12:26:27 am »
0

What are some situations where you prefer to have a Silver instead of a Gold?

Opponent plays Governor, there are engine pieces at 4, and no 7s.
Logged
f.ds Mafia Board Moderator

2013, 2014, 2015 Mafia Mod of the Year
2015 f.ds Representative, World Forum Mafia Championships
2013, 2014 Mafia Player of the Year (Tie)

11x MVP: M30, M83, ZM16, M25, M38, M61, M76, RMM5, RMM41, RMM46, M51

BadAssMutha

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 115
  • Respect: +119
    • View Profile
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2013, 12:40:56 am »
0

What are some situations where you prefer to have a Silver instead of a Gold? 

Trying to boost Fairgrounds, already have a Gold.
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9191
    • View Profile
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2013, 01:29:18 am »
0

If we are talking about buying either Silver or Gold with $6 in hand, then maybe you have an extra Buy or a Talisman in hand and 2 Silver will be better for you than a single Gold (Gardens, or maybe you can draw your whole deck anyway).
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4787
  • Respect: +3413
    • View Profile
Re: Edge cases of rules questions
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2013, 04:10:00 am »
+1

Oooh, an edge case topic.

If we're talking about edgiest of edge cases, the following will suffice:

It's heavy greening time. You know your next 5 cards will be 4 valuable VP cards and Bank.
You're playing Bureaucrat, gaining a Silver on your deck, (making you draw it next turn instead of a VP card) and looking at the opponent's hand, he has no VP cards. You've played some Rabbles and the next 2 cards on the opponent's deck are 2 Provinces.
Your opponent's cards are Masquerade-Governor-Necropolis-Copper-Copper.
If you pass him the Silver, you're hoping that he will use Governor to turn it into a Duchy, letting you remodel Bank into the last Province to take the win.

Why doesn't he just use Governor on the Masquerade? Well, obviously he's hoping you'll pass him something nice for his Copper and with an action to spare you can't just pass him any action card.
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.039 seconds with 20 queries.