Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Interesting Alchemy/Prosperity Board  (Read 1602 times)

massenburger

• Herbalist
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Interesting Alchemy/Prosperity Board
« on: April 10, 2013, 04:26:13 pm »
+3

Disclaimer: I've been mostly a lurker on this site for a while. I only started playing Dominion at the end of last January, so I'm not that great of a player by any stretch. I didn't play on iso that much, and I don't really play on Goko that much either (but I want too....).

Anyway, my wife and I played a couple of Alchemy/Prosperity games last night, and we came across (in my mind) this really interesting board.

http://www.dominiondeck.com/games/big-or-small
[Herbalist,Apothecary,Watchtower,Philosopher's Stone,Familiar,Talisman,Bishop,Mountebank,Apprentice,Hoard]

I had just read about the herbalist/phil stone combo a while ago, so that is what immediately jumped out at me, but the more I looked at the board the more I started seeing other viable strategies. I ended up trying the herbalist/phil stone combo, and pulled it off pretty well. My wife quickly filled me up with all 10 curses, and a bunch of coppers, which I was happy to count every time I played my phil stone. I ended up winning 35-29, which I think is pretty good considering I had all 10 curses, and some terrible luck with my phil stones and herbalists not lining up (despite the fact I had about 8 herbalists, and 4 phil stones).

As I said, I'm still fairly new, so I may have missed a few (maybe obvious) strategies.

Also, is there another board I should have posted this to? I looked but couldn't find any kind of "IRL game session" board.

eHalcyon

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +9187
    • View Profile
Re: Interesting Alchemy/Prosperity Board
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2013, 05:43:50 pm »
+2

Welcome to the forums!