Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 17 18 [19] 20 21 ... 139  All

Author Topic: Easy Puzzles  (Read 810839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11815
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12860
    • View Profile
    • Birds of Necama
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #450 on: October 24, 2013, 02:09:23 pm »
0

Wait, how can Player 1 gain a Province on turn 2? Don't you need an additional player to buy Noble Brigand before player 1's turn?
Probably. I just remembered seeing a Province on turn 2 puzzle solution, I didn't remember what it was like.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's Creative Commons albums for free

Tables

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2816
  • Build more Bridges in the King's Court!
  • Respect: +3349
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #451 on: October 28, 2013, 06:29:24 pm »
0

Why settle for a Province? I can get a Colony on turn 3.

That's nothing. CC can gain the board on turn 3*

*He at least told me he's done the hard parts of such a problem, if I remember correctly.
Logged
...spin-offs are still better for all of the previously cited reasons.
But not strictly better, because the spinoff can have a different cost than the expansion.

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11815
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12860
    • View Profile
    • Birds of Necama
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #452 on: November 26, 2013, 06:58:55 am »
+3

My opponent just bought a $3 Masterpiece, which didn't empty the Masterpiece pile. The Silver pile wasn't empty either. There was no Fairgrounds or other cards that care about the name in the kingdom. Why was this a good play?
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's Creative Commons albums for free

RTT

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Respect: +707
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #453 on: November 26, 2013, 07:21:08 am »
+1

I have a few Ideas

1.maybe it was another card for his Horn of Plenty
2.It was good for his menagerie engine
3.silver was forbidden by contraband and he revealed trader.
4.he revealed watchtower to trash it and boost his foragers.
5.he later trashed it with trash for benifit ( mine/taxman/butcher)
Logged

Gveoniz

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Respect: +263
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #454 on: November 26, 2013, 07:35:14 am »
0

My opponent just bought a $3 Masterpiece, which didn't empty the Masterpiece pile. The Silver pile wasn't empty either. There was no Fairgrounds or other cards that care about the name in the kingdom. Why was this a good play?
Price reduction?

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11815
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12860
    • View Profile
    • Birds of Necama
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #455 on: November 26, 2013, 08:13:56 am »
0

I have a few Ideas

1.maybe it was another card for his Horn of Plenty
2.It was good for his menagerie engine
3.silver was forbidden by contraband and he revealed trader.
4.he revealed watchtower to trash it and boost his foragers.
5.he later trashed it with trash for benifit ( mine/taxman/butcher)
1, 3 and 4 aren't right, because cards that care about the name aren't allowed. Also, I didn't realize that Menagerie just cares about "duplicates", not "names", so 2 is not an incorrect answer for my original puzzle but it was my intention to forbid Menagerie, too. Taxman can be a legitimate reason to buy a Masterpiece instead of a Silver if both players go for Taxman and you need $3 Taxman fodder that your opponent's Taxman can't hit, so that would be a correct answer for the puzzle, but that's not what happened in the game (no Taxmen were bought even though it was in the kingdom).

My opponent just bought a $3 Masterpiece, which didn't empty the Masterpiece pile. The Silver pile wasn't empty either. There was no Fairgrounds or other cards that care about the name in the kingdom. Why was this a good play?
Price reduction?
Correct answer, but not what happened in the game.


A couple of additional facts about the game: 1) the game didn't end on a 3-pile ending, I don't think that he made the decision with 3-piling in mind and a 3-pile ending at that point would have been beneficial to me, 2) I think he spent a coin token in order to reach $3 for the Masterpiece, 3) I hosted the game, so only Base and Guilds cards were in the kingdom, 4) now that I've finished the game, I'm no longer sure if buying that Masterpiece was beneficial for him (I won the game despite that play, but not in a way in which I intended to win it, so perhaps I would have won more if he hadn't made that play, but maybe the plan B I went for after adjusting to the Masterpiece buy was optimal in the first place - I'm not good enough to tell). Treat these facts as hints, not as rules; you may still post answers that contradict these.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's Creative Commons albums for free

RTT

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Respect: +707
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #456 on: November 26, 2013, 08:27:15 am »
0

i cant think of a szenatio were masterpiece alone is better than silver other then maybe giving it to your opponent via ambassador or masquerade. but then you would rather give away a curse.

and masterpiece as bane for Young Witch is also possible but its not in guilds+base

well guilds + base limits the options . it could be remodel, mine, butcher involved in this?

stupid solution:A Gardens Game where the only +buy is Black market and he has just 3 coins. buys masterpiece from the BM and a copper in his normal buy.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 08:30:49 am by RTT »
Logged

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11815
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12860
    • View Profile
    • Birds of Necama
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #457 on: November 26, 2013, 08:44:30 am »
0

it could be remodel, mine, butcher involved in this?
There's little point in buying a Masterpiece instead of a Silver just because of TFB. Remodel was actually involved, but it's not a key here and the answer doesn't necessarily need to involve it or other TFB.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's Creative Commons albums for free

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #458 on: November 26, 2013, 09:03:35 am »
0

stupid solution:A Gardens Game where the only +buy is Black market and he has just 3 coins. buys masterpiece from the BM and a copper in his normal buy.
You can not use coin token in Black Market buy phase.
Logged

RTT

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Respect: +707
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #459 on: November 26, 2013, 09:06:22 am »
0

stupid solution:A Gardens Game where the only +buy is Black market and he has just 3 coins. buys masterpiece from the BM and a copper in his normal buy.
You can not use coin token in Black Market buy phase.
yes i know but there wasnt a rule that you have to use a coin token. it was just what in fact happened in the game... this was just another solution i thought of.
Logged

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #460 on: November 26, 2013, 09:12:32 am »
0

He needed a 3 coin fodder for remodeling into Duchy (Masterpiece was the only $3). He did not want to buy Silver because of your Thief, so you could steal only a "copper" and not Silver.
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4787
  • Respect: +3412
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #461 on: November 26, 2013, 09:31:53 am »
0

Noble Brigand probably has something to do with it, maybe?
Maybe he was drawing his deck comfortably, but wanted some extra treasure to increase his Banks.
He could have bought a Copper, but that would have been susceptible to Cutpurse and Masterpiece has some better TfB options.
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

cluckyb

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 215
  • Respect: +169
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #462 on: November 26, 2013, 01:17:06 pm »
0

If there are three masterpieces left in a no-buy gardens game, it might make sense to buy a masterpiece rather than avoid letting the other guy get two masterpieces (and potentially a bunch of silver with them)
Logged

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11815
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12860
    • View Profile
    • Birds of Necama
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #463 on: November 26, 2013, 01:39:59 pm »
0

If there are three masterpieces left in a no-buy gardens game, it might make sense to buy a masterpiece rather than avoid letting the other guy get two masterpieces (and potentially a bunch of silver with them)
And pretty much this is what happened.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's Creative Commons albums for free

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9187
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #464 on: November 26, 2013, 02:47:37 pm »
0

Even though the puzzle says it didn't empty the pile, it still reduces it. It can be a move to set up a future 3 pile ending.
Logged

RTT

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Respect: +707
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #465 on: November 27, 2013, 04:25:07 am »
0

or it could deny a 3-pile ending for you if there are two MP left and he buy the second last so there is only 1 left but still 10 sivers. you cant just overpay twice for 5$ and end the game and you wont proably get a masterpiece overpay for 10$
Logged

Warfreak2

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1149
  • KC->KC->[Scavenger, Scavenger, Lookout]
  • Respect: +1324
    • View Profile
    • Music what I do
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #466 on: November 27, 2013, 06:02:17 pm »
+1

You got an Ambassador out of the Black Market, and you want to spam your opponent with Masterpieces instead of Copper or Curse, because Masterpieces can't be trashed with Moneylender or Hermit.
Logged
If the only engine on the board is Procession->Conspirator, I will play it.

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4995
  • Respect: +5347
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #467 on: December 08, 2013, 06:08:53 pm »
0

Here's one:

I trigger Hovel and decide not to use it. Why? (No Cornucopia.)
« Last Edit: December 08, 2013, 06:10:30 pm by Asper »
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2479
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #468 on: December 08, 2013, 06:11:56 pm »
0

Here's one:

I trigger Hovel and decide not to use it. Why? (No Cornucopia.)
you have a mercenary in hand and you only have 1 other bad card to trash... I'm sure there are similar situations
Logged

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #469 on: December 08, 2013, 06:13:58 pm »
+1

Here's one:

I trigger Hovel and decide not to use it. Why? (No Cornucopia.)
you have a mercenary in hand and you only have 1 other bad card to trash... I'm sure there are similar situations
This only works when it was a Black Marker buy.

EDIT: or you can fix it like this:
you have a mercenary in hand and you only have 1 other bad card to trash... I'm sure there are similar situations
« Last Edit: December 08, 2013, 06:16:59 pm by yed »
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2479
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #470 on: December 08, 2013, 06:20:02 pm »
0

hovel is on buy, not on gain?
Logged

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #471 on: December 08, 2013, 06:20:50 pm »
0

Logged

florrat

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 542
  • Shuffle iT Username: florrat
  • Respect: +748
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #472 on: December 08, 2013, 06:41:43 pm »
0

Two more possibilities:

-You need that Hovel to bump up your Gardens
-You have a deck which can draw itself very reliably, and can use dead cards in your hand (for example with Secret Chamber)
Logged

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11815
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12860
    • View Profile
    • Birds of Necama
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #473 on: December 08, 2013, 07:03:28 pm »
0

Here's one:

I trigger Hovel and decide not to use it. Why? (No Cornucopia.)
You're playing a Double Tac with Black Market as the enabler and need something to discard.
You're playing against an opponent with Masquerade (or trashing attacks) and want a card in your deck that you can safely pass.
Your deck is now exactly 20 cards and you don't want any of the cards missing the reshuffle after the next one.
You're playing against an opponent who's relying on Tribute.
You have a Market Square in your deck and you want your Hovel to trigger it.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's Creative Commons albums for free

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9187
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #474 on: December 08, 2013, 08:41:12 pm »
0

Here's one:

I trigger Hovel and decide not to use it. Why? (No Cornucopia.)
You're playing a Double Tac with Black Market as the enabler and need something to discard.

You could just use the Victory card that you just bought to trigger the Hovel.

(And if you already have double tac set up, you probably shouldn't have Hovel in your hand to trigger anyway.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 17 18 [19] 20 21 ... 139  All
 

Page created in 0.058 seconds with 21 queries.