Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: [WIP] The five engine components  (Read 6690 times)

Tables

• Margrave
  • Build more Bridges in the King's Court!
  • Respect: +3349
    • View Profile
[WIP] The five engine components
« on: January 28, 2013, 08:32:45 pm »
+7

This is my first attempt at writing an article on the site. It’s likely to be a little vague in some places, perhaps give advice that better players would disagree with and maybe over/underfocus on some areas. In fact, most of the concepts I kinda thought through myself, and in particular I might use some non-standard terminology. Any feedback will of course be appreciated.
Don’t expect anything ground-shattering from the article, but hopefully, it would be a useful read for someone in the level 10-25 skill range. That’s primarily where I’m aiming, I guess.
As of posting, I’ve completed 2 of 5 sections. I will complete the last three if/when I can, but I wanted to get some feedback now.

Your engine is finally picking up steam. You’ve played your Native Villages, your Rabbles are slowing the opponent down, and you’re drawing into your golds. You play them down, and count up your money. $12... $15... $17 to spend! That’s two Provinces, right there, you tell your opponent.
“Uh, wait.” he says, looking at you, “You don’t have any extra buys.” And he’s right. And there isn’t even any on the board. You die a little inside, as you realise your engine will never work the way you’d hoped it to.

If you’ve been playing Dominion long enough, then chances are you’ve been careless enough to walk into a situation like the one above at least once, building the perfect engine, but failing to notice a key component was missing. In this article, I’ll be going through what I think are the five key components to a perfect engine, and also talking about what you can do when one or multiple of those components are missing.