Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: First try at Bridge/Native Village  (Read 1032 times)

sudgy

• Cartographer
  • Shuffle iT Username: sudgy
  • It's pronounced "SOO-jee"
  • Respect: +2708
    • View Profile
First try at Bridge/Native Village
« on: January 08, 2013, 05:22:47 pm »

I was just playing and saw the bridge and the native village.  I've never tried the combo before, so I thought I would give it a try.  At turn 11 I was frustrated to realize that all my income was in the native village mat, so I drew it all back.

Suddenly, my opponent possesses me and pulls off the combo, and wins.

http://dominion.isotropic.org/gamelog/201301/08/game-20130108-141903-a9984f01.html
If you're wondering what my avatar is, watch this.

Check out my logic puzzle blog!

Quote from: sudgy on June 31, 2011, 11:47:46 pm

ftl

• Mountebank
  • Shuffle iT Username: ftl
  • Respect: +1345
    • View Profile
Re: First try at Bridge/Native Village
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 06:22:01 pm »

All your income on the native village mat isn't wrong. It's what you're trying to get.

If you pick up on t11 and don't end the game, you've probably lost no matter what you do afterwards. It's a mega-turn strategy, the turn you pick up is the turn you end the game or at least buy up as much green as you can. If you've got too much stuff on the NV mat to buy more bridges, find time to buy a silver or more copper or something, don't pick up! 

Possession is definitely a counter to NV mat strategies, including this one.

WanderingWinder

• Adventurer
  • ...doesn't really matter to me
  • Respect: +4387
    • View Profile
    • WanderingWinder YouTube Page
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, 06:31:43 pm »

Possession is a really hard counter to NV-Bridge if they can possess you in time, which usually they can.