Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Combo: Hermit / Feodum  (Read 1552 times)

Reaverx

• Pawn
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Combo: Hermit / Feodum
« on: December 30, 2012, 03:16:36 pm »
+2

I've read a few articles but this is my first time posting one, hence the simplicity.

Anyways, I found a very viable Dark Ages combo while playing:  Hermit / Feodum.
It works perfectly with a 4 / 3 start, is a great way to obtain alt-vp victory, and even facilitates for buying provinces as much as a JoaT deck does.

Pros
-Essentially a better version of JoaT
-Counters Curses and Ruins
-Counters trashing attacks such as Knights or Saboteur
-Allows for Provinces alongside its primary alt-vp gain

Cons
-Requires keeping track of approximately how many of each card you have
-Doesn't counter discard attacks such as Militia or Margrave
-Large deck size can flood out any other actions you buy
-If other player/s go for this combo, it is weakened.

Basics

Basically it works like this: First two buys are Hermit and Feodum.  The Hermit can then either be used to find and trash your starting estates, an overgrown estate for +1, or the Feodum for +3 Silvers, depending on which cards are in your hand/discard pile.  You can then gain and usually buy another Hermit.  You DO want to buy something however, because Madmen are only viable in this deck once you have multiple Hermits or other actions.

From then on, you want to trash all of your estates, trash any curses you acquire, then trash Feodums until there are 4* (for 2p. It's 7 for 4p) Feodums left in your deck/in pile that you can guarantee you will be able to buy.

As for gaining from Hermit, you want to gain Hermits only when you have a lower than 1:10 Hermit to other card ratio; otherwise gain Silvers.

As for buying, prioritize: Feodum (if you have >24 silvers), Province, Feodum, Silver, Hermit.