Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Definitely a Menagerie... Please Critique!  (Read 1794 times)

kipkoan

• Coppersmith
  • Respect: +6
    • View Profile
Definitely a Menagerie... Please Critique!
« on: December 03, 2012, 11:55:47 pm »

Summary:  I got lucky, but need your feedback to improve and help know what I could have done better (or why what I did was good).  Game:  http://dominion.isotropic.org/gamelog/201212/03/game-20121203-204211-ae4d6035.html

I actually wanted to post this in the "Help" forum, but I didn't because I actually won.  I had no idea what I was doing... I just got lucky picking some cards that work well together I think.  I would appreciate any feedback, though... I'm very new to the game, and am eager to improve.

In the end, I think the Menageries & Crossroads were the key cards.  I'm not sure if I should have gotten something else besides the Jack.  Maybe a Bridge?  Was the Fortune Teller a waste?  Maybe I should have gotten it earlier if at all?  The Moneylender let me trash most of my coppers, then I Expanded it (even though I still had 1 Copper left... maybe too early)?

I'm sure a did a lot wrong, so please let me know.  Thanks!

eHalcyon

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +9192
    • View Profile
Re: Definitely a Menagerie... Please Critique!
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2012, 12:21:22 am »
+1

Fortune Teller isn't so strong.  I think Jack is the best opening here, and I would probably pick up Moneylender soon after that.

Other than that, I'm not too sure.  Maybe take Harem over Gold and pick up a Crossroads at some point... maybe with Expand, or with Bridge.  But straight Jack+Money Lender should be pretty good.  A deck full of Silver and Gold/Harem is pretty slick.

dondon151

• 2012 US Champion
  • Respect: +1857
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2012, 10:35:14 am »
+2