Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Possession & Alchemist  (Read 1759 times)

Dekryr

• Baron
  • Respect: +21
    • View Profile
Possession & Alchemist
« on: December 07, 2012, 12:24:15 pm »

This is my first time posting one of these...so here goes. I attached the game log (I saved the log instead of the link so I can't just post a link).

We both open potion-silver. I'm 2nd but think that the alchemist and possession are too good to ignore the potion here, so I mirror the opening. Turn 3 sucks with $2 but I grab the NV and then hit a $6 turn 4. I think the early gold will really help my economy so I take it, not sure if this is correct. I guess rabble could be better here?? Anyway I draw my potion with $2 and can't get an alchemist until turn 8, while my opponent buys a possession next turn (turn 9). Am I screwed now? Should I just try to bomb my deck and rush island and estates to mitigate possession damage? There's no + buy so that's probably too slow. Should I have ignored the potion opening and tried to build a village rabble drawing engine and hope it doesn't get possessed too much? With schemes I'll probably get possessed pretty often? I have no idea what to do here? Is it just bad luck or did I have options?

« Last Edit: December 07, 2012, 12:26:41 pm by Dekryr »

Robz888

• Margrave
  • Shuffle iT Username: Robz888
  • Respect: +3391
    • View Profile
Re: Possession & Alchemist
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 03:26:09 pm »

You got bad luck. Your Potion missed the reshuffle, and you drew it with only $2. That's game over right there.