Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: King of the Slums  (Read 2150 times)

Captain Stupendous

• Alchemist
  • Respect: +18
    • View Profile
King of the Slums
« on: October 06, 2012, 03:18:36 pm »

Hello everyone, I've had several custom cards bouncing around in my head for a while now, and I'll probably post a whole custom set on here eventually. For now though, I'd love to hear feedback regarding a card I recently came up with. It hasn't been playtested at all, so I'd be interested to hear how balanced you think it is, as well as any ways to make it better. Also, I'm not that experienced with typing up mock cards, so I'm sorry if the wording is a little rough.

King of the Slums
Action-Looter $5
You may gain up to three ruins, putting them into your hand. Choose up to three ruins from your hand. Play the first one three times, the second one twice, and the third one once.

My main concerns were that I wasn't sure how high to price it, since the cost of gaining ruins is pretty steep, but it can be a terrific card to play. Also, I worried that it might prove to be too strong of a counter to cultist/marauder attacks. Any thoughts?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2012, 06:23:11 pm by Captain Stupendous »

One Armed Man

• Tactician
  • Respect: +88
    • View Profile
Re: King of the Slums
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2012, 03:54:56 pm »

I like this. At first glance, I thought you had to get 3 ruins, but then I realize getting one or two is usually the better call. It is a really good counter to those two cards, but I do not think it is soo much that it makes the games less interesting. Could the wording be improved so that you know what you will be gaining past the first one?

petrie911

• Young Witch
  • Respect: +109
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2012, 04:27:14 pm »

Perhaps "Look at the top 3 ruins.  You may gain any number of them, putting them in your hand."