Miscellaneous > General Discussion

Dvorak keyboard

(1/11) > >>

michaeljb:
Anyone here use it? I started learning the layout a little while ago, and can touch type the whole alphabet for the first time today, though at a rate very much lower than my qwerty speed.

Kirian:

--- Quote from: michaeljb on August 23, 2012, 09:33:00 pm ---Anyone here use it? I started learning the layout a little while ago, and can touch type the whole alphabet for the first time today, though at a rate very much lower than my qwerty speed.

--- End quote ---

I tried it once for a few months.  I went from look-typing at 90 wpm to touch-typing at 20 wpm.  In an age when ICQ conversations made up a good chunk of my days, 20 wpm wasn't cutting it.

I still look at they keyboard while typing for part of the time, though I usually can look for just a moment to readjust my finger positions.

eHalcyon:

--- Quote from: Kirian on August 23, 2012, 09:37:55 pm ---
--- Quote from: michaeljb on August 23, 2012, 09:33:00 pm ---Anyone here use it? I started learning the layout a little while ago, and can touch type the whole alphabet for the first time today, though at a rate very much lower than my qwerty speed.

--- End quote ---

I tried it once for a few months.  I went from look-typing at 90 wpm to touch-typing at 20 wpm.  In an age when ICQ conversations made up a good chunk of my days, 20 wpm wasn't cutting it.

I still look at they keyboard while typing for part of the time, though I usually can look for just a moment to readjust my finger positions.

--- End quote ---

Did you know that (on QWERTY) the F and J keys have little bumps on them for your index fingers to find?  They let you readjust your position without looking.

A bunch of my friends switched to Dvorak a while ago but I wasn't up for it.  Still on QWERTY.  I touch type around 80 WPM, I think.  Could probably go a fair amount higher if I'm really trying, but then I'd start to make mistakes.

Kirian: