Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10  All

Author Topic: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman  (Read 130852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

iMystic

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
    • my DeviantArt
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2012, 09:19:46 am »
0

Wow, I like Squire a lot for its flexibility.
Squire + Steward itself is a nice combo, so much flexibility.
Steward can trash squire to gain attack card.
Squire can provide +action then use Steward to draw (serves as engine link).

Madman,, wow...
a one shot Tactician with hard setup. Interesting,,
Logged
~ perfect is nobody ~

Grujah

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2237
  • Respect: +1177
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2012, 09:21:00 am »
+3

Hermit begets hermit begets madman = Buy Hermit, shuffle, play Hermit, gain Hermit, don't buy anything, trash Hermit, gain Madman.

So it takes a couple of shuffles to get the benefit, but once you've got one Hermit, you have a handful.

Which is kinda ironic, they are usually alone.  ;D
Logged

mrdirt73

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #27 on: August 08, 2012, 09:21:17 am »
0

Unless I'm missing something... is there any practical difference between trashing a Madman and returning it to the pile? Because there are only 10 Hermits, you can only ever get 10 Madmen...

Thanks to Graverobber (and probably other cards), you can now have more than 10 Hermits.

And since there may be more cards like Graverobber that lets you take from the trash, Madman won't be there unless trashed in a different way.
Logged

philosophyguy

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 575
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #28 on: August 08, 2012, 09:21:29 am »
0

I'm assuming that Squire can't turn into Followers, because that would be just…wow. Squire/Chapel would suddenly be a top opening with your 2/2 split.
Logged

Grujah

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2237
  • Respect: +1177
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #29 on: August 08, 2012, 09:22:36 am »
0

I'm assuming that Squire can't turn into Followers, because that would be just…wow. Squire/Chapel would suddenly be a top opening with your 2/2 split.

I think only supply attacks count. Same as you can swindle copper into prizes.
Logged

Varsinor

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 204
  • Respect: +63
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #30 on: August 08, 2012, 09:22:54 am »
0

But returning Madmen to the pile (instead of trashing it) would mean you couldn't then Graverobber a Madman.

You couldn't do that anyway because it doesn't cost from 3 to 6. But there may be other new cards that could have taken the Madman from the trash if it went there.
Logged

philosophyguy

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 575
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #31 on: August 08, 2012, 09:23:11 am »
0

Madman,, wow...
a one shot Tactician with hard setup. Interesting,,

Although, I think Madman will actually combo really well with Tactician. Besides setting off insane hand drawing, Village-Hermit-Tactician is the perfect setup for Madman because you usually forgo your buy on the turn you play Tactician anyway.
Logged

iMystic

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
    • my DeviantArt
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #32 on: August 08, 2012, 09:26:31 am »
0

a strategy to save up madmen and not using them, then use it for one super big turn might be good. with lots of +buy ofc.

for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26

worth only if there are much money in deck, xD
Logged
~ perfect is nobody ~

dor

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Respect: +22
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #33 on: August 08, 2012, 09:31:23 am »
+3

I bet Squire is the main reason Graverobber can't get actions costing less than $3 from the trash.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 09:33:31 am by dor »
Logged

Wolphmaniac

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
  • Shuffle iT Username: DividedSpy
  • Respect: +278
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #34 on: August 08, 2012, 09:33:41 am »
0


for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26


I think it's actually 5 (+4) -> 9 (+8) -> 17 (+16) -> 34 (+33) -> 67
In other words, if you play 4 Madmen in a row from a 5-card hand, you would have a 67-card hand...if your deck is actually that big!  Even just Madman > Madman gets you a 17-card hand and 3 actions.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 09:36:43 am by Wolphmaniac »
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4787
  • Respect: +3412
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #35 on: August 08, 2012, 09:35:29 am »
0

I'm assuming that Squire can't turn into Followers, because that would be just…wow. Squire/Chapel would suddenly be a top opening with your 2/2 split.
It's likely going to be anyway.

I mean, T1 Squire, T2 Chapel, T3 Goons = woopdidoo!
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

dor

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Respect: +22
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #36 on: August 08, 2012, 09:35:55 am »
0

a strategy to save up madmen and not using them, then use it for one super big turn might be good. with lots of +buy ofc.

for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26

worth only if there are much money in deck, xD
Now if only we had a cheap card that can give both money and buys...  :P
Logged

mrdirt73

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #37 on: August 08, 2012, 09:39:33 am »
+2


for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26


I think it's actually 5 (+4) -> 9 (+8) -> 17 (+16) -> 34 (+33) -> 67
In other words, if you play 4 Madmen in a row from a 5-card hand, you would have a 67-card hand...if your deck is actually that big!  Even just Madman > Madman gets you a 17-card hand and 3 actions.

I think the original math is correct.  Play madman, you now have 4 cards + 4 = 8.  Play madman you have 7 + 7 for 14 etc..
Logged

Tdog

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
  • Respect: +133
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #38 on: August 08, 2012, 09:40:41 am »
0

Madman- strongest card in the game.
Logged

mrdirt73

  • Chancellor
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #39 on: August 08, 2012, 09:42:12 am »
0

Madman- strongest card in the game.
Or a big trap.
Logged

Tdog

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
  • Respect: +133
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #40 on: August 08, 2012, 09:43:29 am »
0

Madman- strongest card in the game.
Or a big trap.

How? At worst it's a non-drawing village and of you activate it its power becomes awesome.
Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8172
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Let me tell you a secret...
  • Respect: +9621
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #41 on: August 08, 2012, 09:44:18 am »
0

Now, I think I know the answer to this, but I just want to make sure - can a Scheme save a Hermit from Madness?

Scheme says: "If you discard it from play, put it on your deck."

Hermit says: "When you discard this from play..."

Scheme does not say "if you WOULD discard", so I'm assuming this means you have to discard it from play, then put it on your deck, which means it would trigger Hermit in a turn without a Buy, and Scheme can do nothing to save it.

Not that I'd really want to save the Hermit from madness; this is purely academical.
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Schneau

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1174
  • Shuffle iT Username: Schneau
  • Respect: +1461
    • View Profile
    • Rainwave
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #42 on: August 08, 2012, 09:45:43 am »
+7

What is this I don't even.

+2 Buys? Trashing from discard? Madmen? Gaining from trash? Negative money?

All the rules are broken!
Logged

iMystic

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
    • my DeviantArt
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #43 on: August 08, 2012, 09:47:39 am »
+1


for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26


I think it's actually 5 (+4) -> 9 (+8) -> 17 (+16) -> 34 (+33) -> 67
In other words, if you play 4 Madmen in a row from a 5-card hand, you would have a 67-card hand...if your deck is actually that big!  Even just Madman > Madman gets you a 17-card hand and 3 actions.

I think the original math is correct.  Play madman, you now have 4 cards + 4 = 8.  Play madman you have 7 + 7 for 14 etc..

Yep right, thanks. Starting 5 = including Madman.
(5 - 1) * 2 = 8
(8 - 1) * 2 = 14
(14 - 1) * 2 = 26
Logged
~ perfect is nobody ~

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9641
  • Respect: +10657
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #44 on: August 08, 2012, 09:49:13 am »
0

What is this I don't even.

+2 Buys? Trashing from discard? Madmen? Gaining from trash? Negative money?

All the rules are broken!

You forgot $1 cost card!
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Schneau

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1174
  • Shuffle iT Username: Schneau
  • Respect: +1461
    • View Profile
    • Rainwave
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #45 on: August 08, 2012, 09:53:14 am »
0

What is this I don't even.

+2 Buys? Trashing from discard? Madmen? Gaining from trash? Negative money?

All the rules are broken!

You forgot $1 cost card!

This will drive me to madness! (maybe I should become a Hermit?)
Logged

iMystic

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Respect: +3
    • View Profile
    • my DeviantArt
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #46 on: August 08, 2012, 09:54:45 am »
+1

a strategy to save up madmen and not using them, then use it for one super big turn might be good. with lots of +buy ofc.

for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26

worth only if there are much money in deck, xD
Now if only we had a cheap card that can give both money and buys...  :P

Baron, Pawn, Horse Traders, Bridge...
Hey, Madman + Bridges stack would be awesome.
Logged
~ perfect is nobody ~

Thisisnotasmile

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
  • Respect: +675
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #47 on: August 08, 2012, 09:54:53 am »
0

So the answer to the "how do you get enough Cultists quickly enough to chain them?" question has been answered. Trash Squires.
Logged

Grujah

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2237
  • Respect: +1177
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #48 on: August 08, 2012, 09:55:43 am »
0

Waaaait.

Does Warehouse/Cellar + Hermit work? Like, to turn them into Madmen?
Logged

Julle

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 118
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Dark Ages Preview #3: Squire, Hermit, Madman
« Reply #49 on: August 08, 2012, 09:56:06 am »
0

a strategy to save up madmen and not using them, then use it for one super big turn might be good. with lots of +buy ofc.

for each Madman played in one turn,
handsize: 5 -> 8 -> 14 -> 26

worth only if there are much money in deck, xD
Now if only we had a cheap card that can give both money and buys...  :P
Herbalist  ;)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 10  All
 

Page created in 0.077 seconds with 22 queries.