Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Adventurer shines... with Ambassador and TM  (Read 717 times)

zahlman

• Minion
  • Respect: +216
    • View Profile
Adventurer shines... with Ambassador and TM
« on: August 05, 2012, 06:01:52 pm »

http://dominion.isotropic.org/gamelog/201208/05/game-20120805-145034-790bf62d.html

I guess the other guy is pretty much a complete noob, but...

I opened Amb/Amb aggressively, then picked up a Silver, then two TMs which collided pretty readily. He had some luck as well getting an early Gold... it's kind of disturbing that for all the cards I gave him, I didn't win more decisively considering his strategy, overbuying villages and preferring FT over Ambassador (WTF, I guess he was hoping to chain them together for large amounts of money? But he never picked up a Woodcutter for the +Buy and there was no real draw available...) I even gave him one of my Ambassadors (when I decided I now had too many terminals...) and he never played it.

Anyway what I wanted to highlight was how valuable Adventurer was once I had gotten the 4 Golds and greened a bit, as it was basically guaranteed to hit the jackpot. I hadn't actually noticed Adventurer sitting there until basically right before I bought it... but on a board without meaningful draw and with the kind of deck I'd planned out, being able to skip green and pick out 2 high-value treasures is amazingly good. I know it's normally not great, but there's no way in hell I'd buy a 5th Gold here instead. :)

Should I bother trying to start cursing him here? Should I be ignoring Apothecary?

DWetzel

• Conspirator
  • The Human Edge Case
  • Respect: +272
    • View Profile
Re: Adventurer shines... with Ambassador and TM
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2012, 10:32:54 pm »