Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Mining Village  (Read 3501 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rinkworks

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1316
  • Respect: +936
    • View Profile
    • RinkWorks
Mining Village
« on: July 19, 2011, 10:14:12 am »
0

When you play a Mining Village, do you get to draw the +1 Card before deciding whether or not to trash the Mining Village for the +$2?

The FAQ doesn't say, and the card seems ambiguous too.  The word "immediately" on the card suggests you have to do it right then, but normally you perform card actions from top to bottom, which suggests that the "immediately" doesn't apply until you reach that instruction, which would be after drawing the +1 Card.
Logged

WanderingWinder

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5275
  • ...doesn't really matter to me
  • Respect: +4381
    • View Profile
    • WanderingWinder YouTube Page
Re: Mining Village
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2011, 10:30:55 am »
0

Yes, you get to draw the card first. You always do as much as you can on every card, top to bottom, and you always finish the previous stuff before you go on to the next thing.

Reyk

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • Respect: +24
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Village
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2011, 10:34:11 am »
0

normally you perform card actions from top to bottom, which suggests that the "immediately" doesn't apply until you reach that instruction, which would be after drawing the +1 Card.

This is the answer.
Logged

DsnowMan

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Respect: +26
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Village
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2011, 01:49:54 pm »
0

The rulebook says something along the lines of "you must decide whether to trash the card before moving onto playing OTHER actions or your buy phase". It's pretty clear you draw the card first
Logged

lefaiison

  • Steward
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Respect: +1
    • View Profile
Re: Mining Village
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2011, 06:06:26 pm »
0

normally you perform card actions from top to bottom, which suggests that the "immediately" doesn't apply until you reach that instruction, which would be after drawing the +1 Card.

This is the answer.

Yes.  Dominion actually has some of the clearest wording of any card game I've ever played.

Always do everything in order (top to bottom), and do as much of the card as is possible.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 20 queries.