Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Newbie wants input on beginner game  (Read 2085 times)

AJP82

• Pearl Diver
  • Respect: +1
    • View Profile
Newbie wants input on beginner game
« on: April 18, 2012, 12:33:29 am »

Hi,

Newbie here, started Dominion in person about 1 1/2 years ago when playing over a friend's house about once a month. Started online play probably 1 month ago.

Posting because I want to ask about a game I had today. What I'm wondering is how to improve this game. I mean, it feels like the win was on a fluke of a turn, but I don't see how second place's deck should've been able to compete, either. And it sort of feels like I didn't play the cities/havens/bridges properly. How much is there to this sentiment?

O

• Jester
  • Respect: +605
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie wants input on beginner game
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 12:47:07 am »
+1

Your strategy was clearly the optimal one. You made a few errors in the implementation of this strategy, and the Big-Money player (someone who buys primarily money and few actions) who came in second seems to be a bit lucky in how he did.

Things I noticed that would improve your game:

1) Turn 7 you trashed your mining village and bought a platinum. You should have kept the mining village and bought more engine components, as money ends up not being too useful for you. Turn 18 you bought your second platinum. Same story, this time buy three engine components.

2) You bought your first tactician turn 14. You want a tactician as early as possible, probably in turns 5-7. This is because Bridges get very very powerful when you play multiple in one turn, and Tactician is a lovely way to enable that. This is probably the largest mistake in the game; you could have won in maybe 19 turns with an earlier tactician.