Archive > Dominion: Empires Previews

Mountain Pass Bidding Strategy

(1/8) > >>

jsmarvin:
There's been some discussion regarding bidding in the Empires Rulebook thread, but I thought I'd start a separate thread to discuss this topic. I'm not an expert Dominion player, and although I'm familiar with all the cards in Dominion, I don't know them well enough to come up with relevant combinations. So here are some questions regarding bidding that I'd like to see people discuss, some practical, some more of a challenge/theoretical (and possibly some may be the "wrong question", feel free to address what you think the "right question" should have been):

1) If the first Province is bought earlier in the game, what are the factors that will determine bidding strategy and what should that strategy be? 2 player vs. 3-4 player? Colony's available? Dominate available? Alt VP available? My definition of "earlier in the game" for this question would be at a time when the game end is not imminent, so a player would be less likely to bid 40 debt based solely on the fact that they don't think they'll get another turn, or they are willing to play the remainder of the game without buying anything, even though they don't have an alternate gain strategy. How does the fact that not only are you gaining 8 VP but you are denying those VP to your opponent affect your bid?

2) Although it might be difficult to keep accurate track of opponent VP currently, the new "When scoring" Landmarks can make it even more difficult. If both Mountain Pass and a "When scoring" Landmark is present in the game, how does that affect bidding if the first Province was bought late in the game? At what point does bidding 40 become the right thing to do?