Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 18  All

Author Topic: What Card Am I?  (Read 128132 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

markusin

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3846
  • Shuffle iT Username: markusin
  • I also switched from Starcraft
  • Respect: +2437
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #350 on: January 08, 2015, 03:23:22 pm »
0

So Pirate Ship was probably missed too... excluding that infinite solution, Forager can get up to $13 $14 without Black Market in the kingdom, and up to however many kingdom treasures exist (I'm too lazy to go count) + $5 with it.
Ah okay, here's where you mention no Black Market. Sorry about that.

Also, I just noticed how your avatar matches your username. Cool stuff.
Logged

Deadlock39

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1722
  • Respect: +1758
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #351 on: January 08, 2015, 04:32:53 pm »
0

No worries, since I was attempting to solve a puzzle that already had to be revised to outlaw Vault/Secret Chamber/Storeroom, and Pirate Ship/Band of Misfits, I might as well exclude the ultimate puzzle destroyer (or creator...) of Black Market.  But mostly I was just being lazy (so much so that I didn't even get the lazy solution right).

Aha, I knew there were probably a few people around here that would get my obscure programming references.

markusin

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3846
  • Shuffle iT Username: markusin
  • I also switched from Starcraft
  • Respect: +2437
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #352 on: January 08, 2015, 05:18:42 pm »
0

Aha, I knew there were probably a few people around here that would get my obscure programming references.
More than you might think.
Logged

soulnet

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2142
  • Respect: +1751
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #353 on: January 09, 2015, 10:22:32 am »
0

Copper, if you played a lot of kc-coppersmiths before.

Edit: sorry, not an action
« Last Edit: January 09, 2015, 10:24:08 am by soulnet »
Logged

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1732
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #354 on: January 27, 2015, 11:58:23 am »
0

(1) At the start of your turn, you have 2 of me and 3 coppers.  You play the first one of me.  You play the second one of me, which you knew would be a useless play, other than that it highly annoys your opponent.  You enter your buy phase with $3, 1 buy, and an irritated opponent.  What am I?

(2) I am in your hand, but I am neither a Treasure, nor Action, nor Victory, nor Curse card.  What am I?  (There's only 1 of these that i can think of, but there may be more.)

(3) I can make playing 1 copper once give you $2 instead of just $1, but I am not Coppersmith (nor am I Counterfeit, because you only play the copper once).  What am I?

(As always, I've done my best to have 1 and only 1 answer for each card, but there is almost always more valid answers that I hadn't thought of.)
Logged

Joseph2302

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 858
  • Shuffle iT Username: Joseph2302
  • "Better to be lucky than good"
  • Respect: +576
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #355 on: January 27, 2015, 12:03:03 pm »
0

(1) At the start of your turn, you have 2 of me and 3 coppers.  You play the first one of me.  You play the second one of me, which you knew would be a useless play, other than that it highly annoys your opponent.  You enter your buy phase with $3, 1 buy, and an irritated opponent.  What am I?

(2) I am in your hand, but I am neither a Treasure, nor Action, nor Victory, nor Curse card.  What am I?  (There's only 1 of these that i can think of, but there may be more.)

(3) I can make playing 1 copper once give you $2 instead of just $1, but I am not Coppersmith (nor am I Counterfeit, because you only play the copper once).  What am I?

(As always, I've done my best to have 1 and only 1 answer for each card, but there is almost always more valid answers that I hadn't thought of.)

(1). scrying pool, where the only other cards in deck are KC and possession? EDIT: and you put the card back on their deck with 1st SP.
(2). Hovel
(3). Bank
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 12:12:26 pm by Joseph2302 »
Logged
Mafia Stats: (correct as of 2017)
Town: 22 games, 8 wins
Scum: 5 games, 3 wins

GeoLib

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Respect: +1265
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #356 on: January 27, 2015, 12:06:06 pm »
0

(1) At the start of your turn, you have 2 of me and 3 coppers.  You play the first one of me.  You play the second one of me, which you knew would be a useless play, other than that it highly annoys your opponent.  You enter your buy phase with $3, 1 buy, and an irritated opponent.  What am I?

(2) I am in your hand, but I am neither a Treasure, nor Action, nor Victory, nor Curse card.  What am I?  (There's only 1 of these that i can think of, but there may be more.)

(3) I can make playing 1 copper once give you $2 instead of just $1, but I am not Coppersmith (nor am I Counterfeit, because you only play the copper once).  What am I?

(As always, I've done my best to have 1 and only 1 answer for each card, but there is almost always more valid answers that I hadn't thought of.)

1. Tournament, SP having already drawn your deck and replaced a card on your opponent's deck, Great hall with drawn deck, familiar with drawn deck and no curses, spy with drawn deck and replaced card on your opponent's deck, etc. Tournament is probably the one you were going for though
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 12:31:50 pm by GeoLib »
Logged
"All advice is awful"
 —Count Grishnakh

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1732
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #357 on: January 27, 2015, 12:21:32 pm »
0

(1) At the start of your turn, you have 2 of me and 3 coppers.  You play the first one of me.  You play the second one of me, which you knew would be a useless play, other than that it highly annoys your opponent.  You enter your buy phase with $3, 1 buy, and an irritated opponent.  What am I?

(2) I am in your hand, but I am neither a Treasure, nor Action, nor Victory, nor Curse card.  What am I?  (There's only 1 of these that i can think of, but there may be more.)

(3) I can make playing 1 copper once give you $2 instead of just $1, but I am not Coppersmith (nor am I Counterfeit, because you only play the copper once).  What am I?

(As always, I've done my best to have 1 and only 1 answer for each card, but there is almost always more valid answers that I hadn't thought of.)

(1). scrying pool, where the only other cards in deck are KC and possession? EDIT: and you put the card back on their deck with 1st SP.
(2). Hovel
(3). Bank

Correct for (2) and (3)!
Logged

Pneumatiker

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #358 on: January 27, 2015, 12:38:38 pm »
0

(1) Either two tributes with only two action cards in your opponent's deck or 2 scouts with 4 non-victory cards on top of your deck.
Logged

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1732
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #359 on: January 27, 2015, 02:32:30 pm »
0

Since there are obviously many ways to interpret question (1), here is the answer I had in mind:

Tournament.  I play one, opponent reveals a Province.  I play second one, opponent facepalm's.
Logged

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1732
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #360 on: February 06, 2015, 09:17:38 am »
0

I am in your hand.  On your turn, you play 1 action card -- card X -- and nothing else.  I can be revealed by playing X.  Without revealing your entire hand, X can be 3 and only 3 action cards (i.e. no Shanty Town, Menagerie, Poor House, etc.).  What am I?  What are the 3 cards you can reveal me with?

No shenanigans (Possession, Golem to play more actions, etc.)
Logged

Joseph2302

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 858
  • Shuffle iT Username: Joseph2302
  • "Better to be lucky than good"
  • Respect: +576
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #361 on: February 06, 2015, 09:27:16 am »
0

Rats, with a hand full of rats
Copper, revealed from cutpurse
Any victory card, revealed by Bureaucrat

Therefore, X is Rats, Cutpurse or Bureaucrat.
Logged
Mafia Stats: (correct as of 2017)
Town: 22 games, 8 wins
Scum: 5 games, 3 wins

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1732
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #362 on: February 06, 2015, 09:29:35 am »
0

Rats, with a hand full of rats
Copper, revealed from cutpurse
Any victory card, revealed by Bureaucrat

Therefore, X is Rats, Cutpurse or Bureaucrat.


No.  "I" am 1 card -- not a different card for each of the 3 actions.  Plus, puzzle says it's your turn and I am in your hand, so I can't be revealed with Cutpurse or Bureaucrat because those reveal cards in other players' hands.
Logged

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3304
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4458
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #363 on: February 06, 2015, 09:46:34 am »
+2

Province can be revealed by Tournament, Explorer, or Ambassador.
Logged

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8172
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Let me tell you a secret...
  • Respect: +9631
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #364 on: February 06, 2015, 10:25:24 am »
+1

I'm brought into play.  Look again - I'm in your hand.  Look again - I'm in play again.  What am I?
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Joseph2302

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 858
  • Shuffle iT Username: Joseph2302
  • "Better to be lucky than good"
  • Respect: +576
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #365 on: February 06, 2015, 10:30:28 am »
+2

I'm brought into play.  Look again - I'm in your hand.  Look again - I'm in play again.  What am I?

Fortress, because i was processioned, so I was brought into play, then trashed, so put into hand, and then can be played again.
Logged
Mafia Stats: (correct as of 2017)
Town: 22 games, 8 wins
Scum: 5 games, 3 wins

pacovf

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3501
  • Multiediting poster
  • Respect: +3841
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #366 on: February 06, 2015, 10:32:28 am »
+5



(I apologize, but this one never gets old).
Logged
pacovf has a neopets account.  It has 999 hours logged.  All his neopets are named "Jessica".  I guess that must be his ex.

werothegreat

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8172
  • Shuffle iT Username: werothegreat
  • Let me tell you a secret...
  • Respect: +9631
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #367 on: February 06, 2015, 10:54:17 am »
+2

I let you keep cards that would have been trashed.
I let you save cards 'till you want them dispatched.
Combos you wouldn't think of are simply a snap
But the combo most obvious is surely a trap.

What am I?
Logged
Contrary to popular belief, I do not run the wiki all on my own.  There are plenty of other people who are actively editing.  Go bother them!

Check out this fantasy epic adventure novel I wrote, the Broken Globe!  http://www.amazon.com/Broken-Globe-Tyr-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00LR1SZAS/

Witherweaver

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6476
  • Shuffle iT Username: Witherweaver
  • Respect: +7868
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #368 on: February 06, 2015, 10:58:30 am »
0

I let you keep cards that would have been trashed.
I let you save cards 'till you want them dispatched.
Combos you wouldn't think of are simply a snap
But the combo most obvious is surely a trap.

What am I?

Native Village?
Logged

Joseph2302

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 858
  • Shuffle iT Username: Joseph2302
  • "Better to be lucky than good"
  • Respect: +576
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #369 on: February 06, 2015, 11:02:02 am »
0

Moat?                                               
Logged
Mafia Stats: (correct as of 2017)
Town: 22 games, 8 wins
Scum: 5 games, 3 wins

pacovf

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3501
  • Multiediting poster
  • Respect: +3841
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #370 on: February 06, 2015, 11:27:49 am »
+2

I let you keep cards that would have been trashed.
I let you save cards 'till you want them dispatched.
Combos you wouldn't think of are simply a snap
But the combo most obvious is surely a trap.

What am I?

Scheme. The first line is a reference to hermit, the third one probably KCs or conspirators, and the last one is treasure map. The second line is just a generality.
Logged
pacovf has a neopets account.  It has 999 hours logged.  All his neopets are named "Jessica".  I guess that must be his ex.

AJD

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3304
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +4458
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #371 on: February 06, 2015, 11:51:30 am »
0



(I apologize, but this one never gets old).

Wait… if in your buy phase, this is a Gold, does that mean you can buy this card for only $6? Definitely OP.
Logged

Dingan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1154
  • Shuffle iT Username: Dingan
  • Respect: +1732
    • View Profile
    • Website title
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #372 on: December 14, 2015, 07:36:50 pm »
0

I am an Action card.  I am in your hand.  I am NOT a Reaction card.  I do, however, reveal myself when you play a different Action card, and then something happens to me (the "something happens to me" part is to rule out things like Shanty Town and Menagerie).  That is, I am an Action card that is "triggered" by something else, even though I am not a Reaction card.  I think that's weird, which is why I'm making a puzzle out of it.  Maybe this card should really be a Reaction card, not sure.  And is there more than 1 answer?  (I can only think of 1 answer.)
« Last Edit: December 14, 2015, 07:40:03 pm by Dingan »
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9191
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #373 on: December 14, 2015, 07:47:44 pm »
+1

I am an Action card.  I am in your hand.  I am NOT a Reaction card.  I do, however, reveal myself when you play a different Action card, and then something happens to me (the "something happens to me" part is to rule out things like Shanty Town and Menagerie).  That is, I am an Action card that is "triggered" by something else, even though I am not a Reaction card.  I think that's weird, which is why I'm making a puzzle out of it.  Maybe this card should really be a Reaction card, not sure.  And is there more than 1 answer?  (I can only think of 1 answer.)

Treasure Map?  Though it is technically not revealed, and it's not so much being triggered as it is part of the resolution of the first Treasure Map.
Logged

Gveoniz

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Respect: +263
    • View Profile
Re: What Card Am I?
« Reply #374 on: December 15, 2015, 06:42:43 am »
0

I am an Action card.  I am in your hand.  I am NOT a Reaction card.  I do, however, reveal myself when you play a different Action card, and then something happens to me (the "something happens to me" part is to rule out things like Shanty Town and Menagerie).  That is, I am an Action card that is "triggered" by something else, even though I am not a Reaction card.  I think that's weird, which is why I'm making a puzzle out of it.  Maybe this card should really be a Reaction card, not sure.  And is there more than 1 answer?  (I can only think of 1 answer.)
Any action card that can be returned to the supply by Ambassador?

Probably not your intended solution though.
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 17 18  All
 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 22 queries.