Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - hhelibebcnofnena

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26]
626
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: February 21, 2019, 02:30:24 pm »
A Project (needs a good name):
Cost:
Each turn, at the beginning of your Buy phase (before playing Treasures), conduct as many auctions as you wish.

Extra rules:
In an auction, you reveal a card from your hand and name a number. Then other players take turns bidding or passing. If they bid, and are the first bidder, they call out a number greater than or equal to your number. If they are not the first bidder, they call out a number greater than the previous number called out. If they pass, they will not be able to bid for the rest of this auction. Bidding continues until everyone passes. If nobody bids, nothing happens. Otherwise, the player who bid highest gains the card from your hand, you take a number of Coffers equal to the highest bid, and they take an equal amount of Debt.

627
Introductions / Hi, I'm hhelibebcnofnena
« on: February 21, 2019, 11:50:33 am »
Hi, I'm hhelibebcnofnena.
I got Dominion probably 6 to 8 years ago now (I can't remember exactly when) and it's the game which started my hobby of board games. I always end up coming back to Dominion though, and by this point own all the expansions (intending to get the promos soon). I recently discovered this forum, and it seemed like a thing I would like to join, so here I am!

628
Rules Questions / Re: Face Down requirement for Knights and Ruins?
« on: February 21, 2019, 11:39:23 am »
I think the Ambassador rule you are thinking of is that although you can return Ruins (or Knights, for that matter) to the supply with Ambassador, Ambassador only causes players to gain Ruins of the same name as one you returned. So if you are playing with 3 or more players, and you return a Ruined Village to the supply, then there is a Ruined Village on top, so the player who is next in player order gains a Ruined Village. But then the card underneath the Ruined Village might be a Survivors, so the other players doesn't gain a Ruins, because Ambassador wants them to gain Ruined Village.'

Edit: You did mention that rule, I just didn't read through your post carefully enough. Never mind.

629
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing a Gladiator that's under a Fortune?
« on: February 21, 2019, 12:05:39 am »
But the Gladiator doesn't refer to any specific card, so it can't lose track of it. It's like when a Marauder is played, you can't chose any of the lower Ruins, but that's not because the Marauder is losing track of any particular Ruins. It's just because that's the rule, only the top card is available.

Oh, that makes sense. Thanks.

630
I also prefer IRL. I think a lot of it is the nostalgia factor for me, as I first got the game as a birthday gift 6 or 7 years ago.

It can get frustrating when I ask if anyone wants to play and either nobody responds or 2+ people respond, but I still prefer it for some reason.

631
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing a Gladiator that's under a Fortune?
« on: February 20, 2019, 08:38:24 pm »
It's not? I guess it makes sense that is has to "have" track first, but I thought the card just had to be somewhere where it isn't expected at the time it has to be moved. I could be wrong though.

632
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing a Gladiator that's under a Fortune?
« on: February 20, 2019, 07:11:11 pm »
I couldn't offhand point to the precise rule
.

I think this is covered by the lose track rule: Gladiator A expects Gladiator B on top of its pile, but Gladiator B is in the middle, so Gladiator A loses track and cannot trash Gladiator B.

633
Solo Challenges / Re: Maximum possible scores
« on: February 17, 2019, 09:33:41 pm »
I thought I had found a way to improve on the current maximum by putting Bishop in, but then there's Fortress... There are more ways to stumble upon infinite points than I had expected when finding this.

But maybe replacing Apprentice with Sacrifice would help, because it gives the trashing and the cards in addition to giving extra actions and a (somewhat small) amount of extra points from trashing Estates... not sure about that though, because Apprentice gives 4 cards when trashing Fortress whereas Sacrifice gives only 2... And you can get the +Actions anyway from extra Fortresses. Just a thought.

634
Introductions / Re: Hi I dont know how to forum
« on: February 16, 2019, 11:43:10 pm »





Edit: Yeah, installing the extension might have been a good place to start. Just maybe. Thanks.

635
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: February 16, 2019, 09:22:14 pm »
Dining Room
Type: Event
Cost:

The first time you play an Action card next turn, play it again afterwards.

I was going to make this a project, but then I realized that Citadel already exists...
I figured it should cost 2 because it only gets used once, whereas Throne Room gets used many times.
Alternatively, it could cost (maybe?) and be a King's Court, but that's a different card.

636
Introductions / Re: Hi I dont know how to forum
« on: February 15, 2019, 12:26:51 pm »
[cardImage]King's Court[/cardImage]

[kingdom]Laboratory, Market, Library, Moat, Witch, Workshop[/kingdom]

Edit: What did I do wrong here? Also where's the button?

637
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: February 13, 2019, 10:09:01 pm »
Sorcerer's Stone (fairly obvious name for replacing Philosopher's Stone)
Cost: 2P
If you have no other Sorcerer's Stones in play, set aside an Elixir from the supply in front of you.
+1 coin per 2 Elixirs you have set aside (rounded up).
Setup: put 10 Elixirs out per player.

Elixir:
Cost: 0*
Type: Treasure
+0 coins.
This card is not in the supply.

Elixir is just a token card to count how much your sorcerer's stones are worth. Maybe it would be better to use actual tokens, as they take up less space, but Alchemy doesn't include tokens and I didn't think I should add any. Sorcerer's Stone is like Philosopher's Stone in that it increases in value throughout the game, but takes out the counting of the deck and discard which (for those of us who play with the physical copy) takes a ton of time. Elixir is a treasure because I didn't know what type to give it and there are alt-vp cards counting both actions and victories. I wanted to remove all possible interaction with other cards (as a token would do) but I might have missed one. It shouldn't matter because it's never in your deck until the end of the game.

638
Rules Questions / Inheritance and Capitalism (and Courtier)
« on: February 12, 2019, 06:37:39 pm »
A few questions surrounding the interaction between these two card shaped things (and Courtier as an afterthought).

1. If you buy capitalism, and then inherit a card which was affected, I assume Estates gain the Treasure type as well. This one is not as much of a question, but I still want to make sure.
2. If you inherit a card which originally does not have the Treasure type, but then buy capitalism so that it gains the Treasure type, do your Estates gain the Treasure type? They don't have a +coin amount in the text, but when Inheritance says that your Estates gain the types of that card, I'm not sure whether that is Inheritance doing that or the token. If it's Inheritance, I think it wouldn't gain the additional Treasure type, but if it's the token, I think it would.
3. If you buy Capitalism, then inherit Caravan Guard, are your Estates now Action-Treasure-Victory-Duration-Reactions? How does this new five-type card interact with Courtier? Do you just get the four bonuses? Basically, which word is more important: "for each type it has" or "the choices must be different"? I think there are a couple other cards which can give Estates five types, but they require cost reduction, so I chose Caravan Guard.

639
Game Reports / Re: Dear My Opponent: I am Sorry
« on: December 01, 2018, 11:49:23 pm »
This game was played using the physical copy, so no link.
Kingdom: Haven, Highway, Lost City, Saboteur, Goons, Hireling, KC, probably a couple 3's and 4's. Some trasher, maybe Dominate?
This is probably the most sorry I have felt because of a game of Dominion:

a) getting the first 5 coin turn, allowing me to buy first Saboteur
b) proceeding to play it on my opponent incessantly, due to a KC later that same shuffle
c) using all of this in an engine with really long turns
d) throwing goons into the mix, so that I
e) drove many piles down to one card left, knowing they could do nothing about it without any remotely decent cards


The turn when I finally decided to play nine highways (only nine because I didn't want a third pile to run out) and run out the colonies only ended up making around a quarter of my score. Final score was 317 (mostly VP chips from goons) to 7 (3 starting estates, 1 duchy trashed from opponent's last turn province (their deck was only mostly useless because of haven), and 1 VP chip from when they briefly had a goons). All because of a couple lucky shuffles with Saboteur and KC.


My opponent had chosen to include Saboteur, so I was afraid of my deck getting destroyed. I am pretty evenly matched with this particular opponent; I got lucky here. I definitely could have ended the game earlier and put them out of their misery, but once I started, I got carried away trying to see just how many points I could get. Needless to say, we are never playing with Saboteur again, or probably goons (although the goons is a shame).

Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26]

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 19 queries.