Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Marcory

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
Rules Questions / Scepter and Throne Rooms
« on: November 05, 2018, 07:51:20 am »
If I Scepter a Throne Room variant or Herald, can this cause me to play other Action cards during my Buy phase? (Obviously, I would only be able to play whatever I Throned or hit with my Herald).

Variants and Fan Cards / Electrum
« on: May 10, 2016, 03:13:32 pm »
Version 0.4

Electrum Treasure $2

When you would gain this, you may trash a Gold and Silver from your hand.
If you did, gain this to the top of your deck.
If you didn't, this stays in the Supply.

Version 0.3

Electrum Treasure $2

When you would gain this, trash a Gold and Silver from your hand.
If you did, gain this to the top of your deck.
If you didn't, this stays in the Supply.

Version 0.2:

Electrum Treasure $2


When you gain this, trash a Gold and a Silver from your hand.
If you did, put this on top of your deck.
If you didn't, return this to the supply.

Version 0.1:
Electrum Treasure $2

When you gain this, trash a Gold and a Silver from in play or from your hand.
If you did, put this on top of your deck.
If you didn't, return this to the supply.

Electrum is an alloy of gold and silver. The card is designed so that you pay the on-gain penalty whether you bought it or gained it from Mine/Mint/Remodeler.

Is this too expensive? Too cheap? Worth buying?

Rules Questions / Quarry, Mandarin, and Haggler
« on: April 12, 2016, 10:50:45 am »
I have a Haggler and Quarry in play. If I buy a Mandarin, putting my Quarry on top of my deck, can I then gain a card costing up to $4? Or is the cost of Mandarin determined at the time I bought it?

(I'm just thinking Ferry token on Border Village, buy Mandarin, Haggle Border Village, gain Mandarin).

Dominion General Discussion / Best Mats and Tokens
« on: April 08, 2016, 05:10:01 pm »
With all of the brackets, it's time to add some more:

Token Bracket: (there are two 1st round byes, since I can only come up with 14 tokens)
1. Estate
16. (Bye)

2. Journey
15. (Bye)

3. Trashing
14. +1 Buy

4. 5 VP
13. +$1

5. Coin Token
12. +1 Action

6. Embargo Token
11. +1 Card

7. -$2
10. 1 VP

8. -1 Card
9. -$1

And the Mat Bracket:

1. Island
8. Base card randomizers from the base set (they're sort of mats because you put the base cards on them)

2. Pirate Ship
7. Trash Card (I'm counting this as a Mat, because Donald X says that it should have been one).

3. Tavern
6. VP Token

4. Native Village
5. Trade Route

EDIT: Made this into actual brackets, in case anyone wants to do this.

Variants and Fan Cards / Infiltrator--card that attacks the Tavern Mat
« on: March 31, 2016, 01:26:22 am »
Infiltrator $5 Action-Attack-Reserve 

Put this on your Tavern mat.
Each other player discards a card from his Tavern. Each player who did not takes his -1 Card token.
At the start of your turn, you may call this, for $3.

(Revised from 1st edition: Each player who did not discards two cards.)

This is either  a counter to Reserve cards or else a Militia with delayed but greater benefit. Would it work at $4? 

Edit: Sorry for the typos in the OP/Thread title; was on a tablet.

Variants and Fan Cards / Delorean
« on: October 22, 2015, 11:25:25 pm »
Ok, this is a day late, and I'm shocked that no one else posted something like this, but here goes:

DeLorean Action--$4+Bomb

Discard one or more cards whose total cost is exactly $8. If you do, you may replay your hand from 3 turns ago.

If this is the second time you've played DeLorean this turn, you may instead play what will be your hand in 3 turns. If this is the third time you've played DeLorean, play your hand from 10 turns ago, and trash this.

***If someone can figure out a way to get 88 onto this card, I'm all ears.

Variants and Fan Cards / Renovate: an Ironworks/Remodel variant
« on: July 18, 2015, 11:41:50 pm »
Renovate Action $4

You may trash a card from your hand. If it is an . . .

Action card: +1 Action
Treasure card: +$1
Victory card: +1 Card

You may gain a card costing up to $1 more than the trashed card.


If you play this to turn your Estates into Silvers or to trash your Coppers, it's terminal. But you can use it as an Upgrade on Action cards later in the game, once you've cleaned out your junk.

This is a simple idea; it's probably already been done, although I haven't seen it. But if not, is this 1) worth trying; 2) undercosted; or 3) overpowered at $4 or underpowered at $5?

I was also thinking of trying this as a Transmute variant, in which you had to gain a card of a different type, but that would probably be not much better than Transmute and would be much more complex.

Game Reports / in which I miss the first three prizes and win
« on: September 27, 2014, 12:06:03 am »

Code: [Select]
Fishing Village, Urchin, Monument, Throne Room, Tournament, Treasure Map, Embassy, Junk Dealer, Pillage, Rogue

I had an interesting game with TomConerly yesterday. I saw three strategies here: Urchin, Monument/Junk Dealer, and Fishing Village/Embassy. Giving away Silver in a Tournament game didn't seem to be optimal, so I went with Monument, while my opponent went with Urchin. I'm sure I made a few mistakes; I probably should have picked up a second Monument instead of an extra Tournament, and maybe I didn't need Throne Room, given that the only Prize I got was Princess. Probably my opponent should have picked up Princess over Bag of Gold/Duchy. Otherwise, it was reasonably well played.

I'm mainly just posting because I don't think I've ever won when my opponent got Followers, Trusty Steed, and a third Prize before I got one, and there wasn't another junk attack in the deck.

Variants and Fan Cards / New take on 'get money, gain a curse'
« on: May 16, 2014, 10:43:44 am »
The usual critique of this type of card is that it is overpowered once the curses are out. Even if it's 'Gain a curse, if you do . . . ', it can be OP if you can easily get rid of the curse. If it has negative VP, it can be OP if you can trash it near the end of the game or give it to your opponent via Ambassador/Masquerade.

But what about this:

Loanshark Reaction $6
(-5) VP

When you gain this, place it on your Loanshark mat. If you do, gain 3 Golds. Return all  Loansharks on your mat to your deck at the end of the game.
While this is set aside, during your Action phase, you may place any number of Golds on your Loanshark mat. If there are 4 Golds on the mat, return them and one Loanshark to the supply, and gain a Province.

So, this card gives you -5 VP and can't be trashed, Ambassadored, Masqueraded, or Trader-ed. The bonus for paying back the loan is good enough that you'll consider doing it over just buying a Province with your Gold. Plus, at $6, you can't open with it, barring Baker.

Would anyone buy this card over straight-up Gold? Is it OP?

Game Reports / chapel-Knights-colony
« on: April 10, 2014, 12:01:23 am »
This was my first Chapel-Knights-Colony game.

We both opened Chapel-Baker with 4/3 splits. The only buy on the board was Sir Martin and, potentially, Cities. He won the Knight Split and eventually had Natalie, Sylvia, Martin, and Anna while I had only Baker and a few Golds. He was playing multiple Knights per turn, so my only hope was to go for Platina and Colonies, which Knights can't hit, so I did. He greened too late, despite having a decent engine, and I pulled out the win in a crazy game.

Game Reports / In which I clinch the game with Scout
« on: March 27, 2014, 03:00:57 pm »
I got off to a good lead, then Tgorm slaughtered my deck with Swindler and Saboteur and had gotten to within 3 by buying the last Duchy. I was comfortably ahead and probably would have won anyway, but my deck was horribly green at this point.

But fortunately, I had an ace in the hole--Scout! it drew 4 VP cards on my next-to-last turn, which enabled me to draw Gold/Gold/Swindler (he had a lighthouse out, and I was ahead anyway, so there was no risk of Swindling a Province) for the clincher.

Variants and Fan Cards / The card that can't be drawn dead
« on: January 16, 2014, 11:39:18 pm »
What about this:


Cost $3
1 VP

When you draw this during your action phase, you may discard this. If you do, +1 action, +1 coin.
You may discard this during your Action phase if you have not played any Action cards this turn. If you do, +1 action, +1 coin.

This card is normally a weaker Great Hall (you get +1 coin instead of +1 card), but you can't draw it dead. It also can be useful when disappearing coins are needed (Tactician, Minion, draw-to-X). It also effectively functions as a Squire (Actions only) when discarded.

Too strong? Too weak? Too cute to be useful? Your thoughts are appreciated.


Dominion General Discussion / When to buy a curse
« on: May 24, 2013, 02:28:20 am »
For my first post, I'd like to hear the edge-casers weigh in on when is a good time to buy (or voluntarily gain) a curse. I can think of two overall categories:
I) when a curse as such is the best card to obtain (voluntarily gain, or buy); and
II) when ANY zero-cost card (copper, curse, ruins) will do.
So here's my (hopefully not exhaustive) list:

Category I

1) to end the game on three piles
2) when Tortured
3) to deal out with Ambassador
4) to boost Fairgrounds
5) (much rarer) to boost Gardens
6) While possessing your opponent, use his +buy to get curses so that you can Watchtower them with your own hand and 3-pile
7)With watchtower in hand as the only trasher in the kingdom, buy the last curse so that your opponent doesn't curse you
8)In a draw-your-deck engine, workshop Curse to boost your Harvest
9) to deal out with Masquerade, when all the Masquerades are out (or maybe in some weird draw-your-deck/workshop/masquerade combo)
10) With Watchtower in hand as the only trasher and you know (via Bureaucrat or some such) that your opponent has a Mountebank in hand (so that you can top-deck the Curse and don't gain a copper as well)
11) When you know that your opponent has Sea Hag in hand, you can buy the last curse so that the curse goes to your discard instead of your deck
12) When you are ahead by a few points and one pile is already gone, to exhaust the Curse pile so that the opponent can't buy the last Duchy, Estate, or Alt VP card

Category II--(this will usually only happen if coppers (and ruins) are already gone)

1) With trader in hand to gain silver
2) When you have played multiple Goons (and coppers are out or you're trying not to 3-pile)
3) You know your opponent has multiple Goons and +action/+buy in hand, and the coppers are gone
4) When the coppers are gone and you play Haggler with no other cheap cards available
5) To add fodder for Junk Dealer or Rats (likely in a draw-your-deck engine)
6) With a Remodel type card, a draw-your-deck engine, and bridge/highway, to get a zero-cost card that can be then upgraded to the card you really need (maybe you don't want to lose any of the cards you already have)
7) With Watchtower in hand, to trigger Market Square

I've tried to think of all of the edge cases, but I'm sure there are many more. Any suggestions?

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.039 seconds with 17 queries.