Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - aaron0013

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
Dominion General Discussion / Beating KC
« on: April 18, 2013, 07:55:22 am »
Just wanted to take a moment to say that I have gone GOKO!  I just spent $20 and got DA, half of Seaside, half of Prosperity, and half of Hinterlands. This unlocked a bunch of adventures as well as the Colonies, Platinum, and Shelters.

Anyway, I played a game on Goko yesterday with pertty much no draw except a cantrip or two. The top cards in the Kingdom were KC, Expand, Hoard, Haggler, and Festival.  So I says to myself "I'm gonna try to beat KC!" I went for Haggler/BM picking up a few Festivals and Expands along the way, and beat him. His KC was able to connect a few times and that got me to thinking. A KCed Festival or Haggler generates $6. If that KC had been a Gold you would have $5 after playing the same hand. Weighing the times when KC connects with nothing, I believe that in this case, Gold was as good or better than KC.  I ended up winning the province split 5/3 and got a couple duchies in the meantime.

So what do you guys think? Do you think it was the right move? Do you have any other examples of beating KC? Any input would be appreciated.

Dominion General Discussion / Typos in DA Rulebook
« on: December 06, 2012, 10:26:44 am »
Yes...I read rulebooks.  Sorry.  I actually just got DA a week ago (loving it!) and noticed several errors in the manual.  2 +$ signs have been omitted, and it has Sir Martin costing $1 and Procession turning Madman into a card that cost $1.  All of the errors have to do with $ signs, and I was wondering if this was the case for you guys or not.  Maybe I just got a weird book :o

Dominion General Discussion / It's a Miracle!
« on: November 30, 2012, 07:54:57 am »
Remember when we were all playing our final iso games and commemorating the day by getting iso card avatars?  ...  It's still up!  Thanks to Goko.  A second miracle is that Androminion has Dark Ages, which I had supposed Goko was keeping for itself.  So, in reality, goko's fail was actually a blessing in that we still have isotropic and are able to have a 2012 tourney. 
Can't wait to see who wins the trusty steed! (or actually the free dominion set)

Dominion General Discussion / Library in Dark Ages
« on: October 24, 2012, 11:06:20 pm »
The other day I was thinking about how cards from other sets interact with Dark Ages, and suddenly I came to Library.  My first thought was how ruins would work in reducing hand size for the Library.  Obviously, something like Festival is best for this, but all of the ruins except Ruined Library reduce handsize.  Especially useful for this would be Ruined Village.

A second case is being able to skip all those ruins with the Library.  That is just cool.  In a cursing game, Library is terrible because it stalls out on the curses.  However, when it comes to a ruins it just skips it! (unless you want it of course) 

Next, I started thinking about shelters.  First thing that comes to mind.....Necropolis!  Epic Library enabler.  Not sure how the others would fit in since neither are actions, but you are trying to trash them anyway.

So, pretty cool.  I think the biggest boon for Library in DA is skipping ruins.  Anyone else have other interactions within Dark Ages?

Dominion General Discussion / Silk Road is Awesome!
« on: October 13, 2012, 04:30:35 pm »
I love Silk Roads,
Silk Roads are cool.
When I buy Silk Roads
They make me.....drool!

I have been playing Dominion for about one and a half years now (and still loving it!), and have been playing Iso for just about as long.  I just got Hinterlands this summer, but I can seriously not think of a single instance that I bought Silk Road.  I knew it was a strong card, but I never knew how to use it right, so I just never bought it.

But last night, everything changed!

In the kingdom were Silk Road, Ironworks, and Woodcutter.  I immediately saw the combo and started buying up all the Ironworks as well as a couple Woodcutters for +buy.  At the end of the game I had all 8 Silk Roads, and 11 Estates.  I thought my opponent had won for sure with his 5 Provinces.  Imagine my surprise when I saw that I beat him 43 to 33!  I did some calculations and found that buying one duchy would have given me 11 more points which he could have only matched with 9 Provinces.  This changes my whole perspective of the card.

So I want to hear your thoughts on Silk Road.  How would you use it without an enabler like Workshop or Ironworks.  And what kind of huge odds have you overcome by buying them? 

Dominion General Discussion / Bishoping VP Cards
« on: October 10, 2012, 05:40:20 pm »
There has probably been a thread on this in the past, but I haven't seen one in a while. 

So, the other day I was playing an Iso game with Bishop in the kingdom, and I was clearly winning.  I bought an early Province since it was pretty much a BM game, and my Bishop happened to come up with the Province before the endgame had started.  I trashed the Province and went on to win the game.

The question is, was that a smart move?  Say I would have trashed a copper:  I would have lost 0 VPs and gained 1.  When I trashed the Province, I lost 6 VPs and gained 5.  So this is a 2 point swing, but I got rid of a dead card. 

To further look into it, is it better to trash other VP cards such as Duchies or Estates?  Alternate VPs also shake things up.  In a short game it would be worth it to go ahead and trash a Gardens, but cards like Feodum and SR would present a much harder decision.  Normally, it would be pretty useless to trash a Great Hall or Island, but there could be cases when this would not be true.

So what are your thoughts? When is it worth it to trash VPs with Bishop and what cards are more conducive to it?  And don't tell me "It depends on the kingdom" ;)

Dominion General Discussion / Witch vs. Masquerade
« on: September 21, 2012, 09:13:24 am »
I was playing 2p irl last night, and the first cards I saw were Witch, Masquerade, Militia, Throne Room, Golem, Nobles, and Alchemist. I realized too late that there was a pin on the board, but there weren't any other trashers anyway.
I opened Witch/nothing, and I believe he opened Potion/Masq. The next reshuffle, I got my own Masq. and he started building an Alchemist/Golem/Throne Room engine. Since I started with Witch, I got one more, and started a Throne Room/Village/Nobles/Witch thing. Half-way through the game we started doing the Militia first, Masq. second combo which hurt us both a lot. He could only top-deck a couple Alchemists to keep them safe.
Then things took a strange turn. He got a huge chain going with Golem, Throne Rooms, and Alchemists, and gave me back or trashed all of his curses. By the end of the game, he beat me by 15 VP, and I had one curse.
I had never heard of Masq. beating Witch, but it was really good. Any thoughts out there?

Puzzles and Challenges / The Fine Art of Dominion
« on: September 04, 2012, 10:53:06 pm »
Get out your microscopes!  Okay, maybe not microscopes....but I think this will be pretty challenging.  If not, Iíve got harder ones ;) 

I have cropped out a small section from various cards throughout any or all the expansions, and your job is to guess which cards they come from.  You are allowed to look up the card pictures in any way you want to, since it would be pretty hard to do without them.  The first one to guess all 7 correctly will get the prize of overwhelming satisfaction!

Feel free to post any other art-related challenges on this thread!








Hehe! Have fun trying to see these tiny things ;D

Puzzles and Challenges / The Mystery Hand
« on: August 23, 2012, 07:50:36 pm »
Alright!  This is a pretty easy puzzle, but itís also my first, so weíll see who can guess it first.

It is your turn.  You have a hand of five cards.  Only one of them is an action, and you do not play any actions after it (sorry scout lovers).  After finishing your turn, you have gained exactly 12 victory points, and your opponent has lost 1 victory point.  No alternate victory cards, Contrabands, or DA cards are used or taken into account.

What were the five cards in your hand?

Dominion General Discussion / Diehrstraits Dark Ages
« on: August 17, 2012, 08:35:27 pm »
Yes!  It finally came out.  Been waiting for them for quite a while, and it's a great way to get avatars and wallpaper.  If you have any comments on images not seen till now, please post here. (I'm loving the ruinses:)

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.