Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - [TP] Inferno

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
Solo Challenges / Buy a Possession on Turn 1
« on: January 31, 2020, 02:41:45 am »
Hopefully this hasn't been done before, should be pretty easy for you puzzle experts out there. Basically, with perfect shuffle luck, any number of (compliant) players, and normal Kingdom setup rules (eg. maximum 2 landscapes), can you buy a Possession on your very first turn?

Here is a solution that I came up with:
6 player game, you are last in turn order, everyone has a Coffers from Baker.
Kingdom includes at least Tracker, Pooka, Baker, Messenger, Lost City, Pixie, Possession, Borrow. Use Shelters.
Player 1 has Pouch and Cursed Gold, buys Borrow and uses Baker token, buys Messenger, handing everyone a Potion, and a Lost City. Players 2-5 buy a Lost City. You now have all ten starting cards in your hand and a Potion in the discard. You play Pouch, 4 Coppers, and Goat, trashing an Overgrown Estate to draw the Potion. Play the Potion and buy a Possession.

Dominion FAQ / +Actions - Now or never?
« on: November 08, 2019, 05:38:40 am »
Hi, I have a couple of boardgaming friends who are dead convinced that, when you play, say, a Village, you immediately play the 2 Action cards you intend to play with it and if you don't play 2, you lose the ability to use those +Actions forever, and this means that if you play a Smithy, you can't play Actions you drew off it. I need a bit of professional verification to convince them otherwise. Why are my friends wrong?

Variants and Fan Cards / Another Duration-Reaction-Attack
« on: October 01, 2019, 07:18:09 pm »
I know, I know, every forum user and his blue dog has been trying to make an Attack played when it's not your turn, and a Reaction that attacks. Well, here's my attempt.

+1 Card
At the start of your next turn, +1 Action, + $1.
Each other player may reveal a Pig from their hand. If they don't, they exchange a card from their hand for a Pig.
When another player plays an Attack card, you may first play this from your hand.

+1 Card
+1 Action
(This is not in the Supply.)

Basically, poof, a card in your opponents hand is now a pig. Magic!

To clarify: The exchanged Pig goes to the players' hand.
The Pig-moating is so that five Reacted Enchanters don't nuke the Attacker's hand.
If there are no Pigs left, no exchanging happens.
The other players choose which card to exchange.
Since this Attack card is 'played' during your opponents turn, other players can Moat themselves from the Reaction as well as playing it normally. Same with Lighthouse, Champion, etc.


Variants and Fan Cards / Dominion: Frontiers
« on: September 25, 2019, 06:02:10 pm »
This is my first fan expansion, given that I'm relatively new to Dominion and this forum, so I would just love to hear some expert opinion on my cards and see whether they are broken/swingy etc. Here goes.

This expansion is called Frontiers, and its theme is discovery, exploration, and the lure of riches from a far off world.
It has a small top-of-deck theme, and, in being conceptually similar to Seaside, contains some Durations, including a Treasure-Duration and a Victory-Duration. It also contains many cards with a cost in Diamonds (which will be further abbreviated as D). This cost, similar to Potion, requires the player to play a basic treasure available in games with these cards, to produce the resource necessary to buy them. This basic treasure costs the same as Potion, however, it produces 2 Diamonds. And then there's the whole cost-in-coins-is-orthogonal-to-cost-in-Diamonds thing. But anyway. Here is the treasure:


Kingdom cards(not necessarily in order):

Choose one: $2; or 2D.

Hostile Natives
+2 Cards
Reveal a card from your hand. Each other player looks through their discard pile and reveals a card that shares a type with it. Then they either trash the revealed card or gain 2 Coppers, your choice.

Doomed Expedition
+1 Card
+1 Action
Reveal the top 2 cards of your deck and set them aside, discarding them afterwards. For each Action card revealed, +1 Action. For each Treasure
revealed, +1 Card. If none were Actions or Treasures, then at the start of your next turn, +1 Buy, +2D, and trash this.

Storage Room
Now and at the start of your next turn: +1 Card.
You may discard 2 cards for +2 Actions.

Trade Vessel
+1 Buy
Reveal the top card of your deck. If it's a Treasure, put it into your hand.

Voodoo Doll
Each other player reveals the top card of their deck. If it costs $5 or more, they trash it and gain a cheaper card. If it doesn't, they gain a Curse.

The New World
+1 Card
Now and at the start of your next turn: +1 Action.

Sea Monster
+1 Card
Now and at the start of your next turn: +1D.
While this is in play, other players cannot score Quests.

Buried Treasure
At the start of your next turn: +$1.

Trash a card from your hand. If it...
Costs more than $2, +1 Card
Costs more than $4, +1 Action
Has {Diamonds} in its cost, +1 Card, +1D
Has [Potion] or <Debt> in its cost, +1 Buy, +$2

Look at the top 2 cards of your deck, put one on top, and the other on the bottom.
When another player plays an Attack card, you may first reveal this from your hand, to look at the top 3 cards of your deck and discard any number, putting the rest back on top.


These are event-shaped cards with red frames that contain a goal that any player may try to complete. If a player has fulfilled the requirements of the quest, they score it at the given time to receive the reward. Scored quests are tracked by wooden cubes of the players colour, placed on the quest when it is scored. A player may not score an quest more than once. Players are not obliged to score an quest as soon as they fulfill the requirements, they may wait a few turns, but if they do, they must complete the quest's requirements again.

When you have no cards left in your deck, you may score this at the end of your turn, to look through your discard pile and put 2 cards from it onto your deck.

Peace Treaty
If no Attack cards have been played since your last turn, you may score this at the start of your turn, to draw 2 additional cards.

When you play more than 5 Action cards in your turn, you may score this at the start of the Action phase of your next turn, for +2 Cards and +1 Action.

When you make more than $9 in your turn, you may score this at the start of the Buy phase of your next turn, for +$2 and +1 Buy.

When you buy a card worth more than 4VP, you may score this at the end of your turn.
At the end of the game, this is worth 4VP  just for players who have scored this.

When you end a turn without doing anything, you may score this at the start of your next turn, to gain a card costing up to $4.

Land Acquisition
When you buy 3 victory cards in one of your turns, you may score this at the end of your turn to gain a Duchy.

When you gain the last card from a Supply pile, you may score this immediately. If you do, you may put that card onto your deck and gain a card with the same cost.

When you play 3 Attack cards in the same turn, you may score this at the end of your turn. If you do, each other player discards down to 3 cards in hand.

When you trash 5 cards in your turn, you may score this at the end of your turn, to trash up to 2 cards from your hand or in play.

And there you have it. Please let me know your thoughts on these cards and give me feedback, and I will make any changes to these cards that are deemed necessary. Enjoy!

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.054 seconds with 18 queries.