Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Simon (DK)

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
Rules Questions / Goko bug
« on: November 08, 2016, 08:27:43 am »
Just want to make sure that I'm not missing something here. I should have been able to gain an Estate with my Smugglers, right?
Should I report it somewhere or just ignore it and wait for the new dominion online?

---------- BBP: turn 6 ----------
BBP - plays Artificer
BBP - draws Copper
BBP - discards Overgrown Estate
BBP - discards Copper
BBP - gains Estate
BBP - plays Embassy
BBP - draws Estate, Copper, Copper, Copper, Silver
BBP - discards Estate
BBP - discards Copper
BBP - discards Copper
BBP - plays 3 Silver, 1 Copper
BBP - buys Inheritance
BBP - inherits Worker's Village
BBP - shuffles deck
BBP - draws Copper, Embassy, Copper, Copper, Silver
---------- Simon (DK): turn 7 ----------
Simon (DK) - plays Smugglers
Simon (DK) - plays 3 Copper, 1 Silver
Simon (DK) - buys Artificer
Simon (DK) - gains Artificer
Simon (DK) - draws Copper, Silver, Necropolis, Copper, Silver

I can very easily have missed it somewhere, but has there been any kind of official word about when approximately Adventures will be on goko?

Puzzles and Challenges / Highest number of forced decisions in a row
« on: January 31, 2015, 09:20:43 pm »
What is the highest number of forced decisions you can have in a row in a single turn in a 2-player game?

Possession doesn't count.

I define a forced decision as a situation, where you're following the text on a card, and the text gives you a choice, but in the situation you only have 1 possibility.
For example a Golem hitting only one action card is a forced decision, because normally you have to choose which card to play first, but right now there is only one possibility.
A Golem hitting 2 similar action cards is not a forced decision, because you still have to choose which action card to play first even though it doesn't matter.

In a row is defined as not having any non-forced decisions between the forced decisions.

Rules Questions / Black Market + Trader
« on: January 22, 2015, 08:42:44 pm »
If you play Black Market, buy a card and reveal Trader to get a Silver instead, then what happens with the bought card?
Black Market says to put the unbought cards on the bottom of the Black Market deck. Since the card was bought, this doesn't happen.
Does it just stay in the reveal-area? And if it does, is it then included the next time a card does something with the "revealed cards"?

Variants and Fan Cards / Mirage - Need fixing to work
« on: August 28, 2013, 04:21:31 pm »
The card is right now like this (thanks to Aidan Millow for the formulation):

At the start of your turn play a copy of the card on the mirage mat.
While this card is in play, it is in the supply.
When you buy this return all cards from the mirage mat to the supply and you may overpay. If you do, put an action card from the supply costing the ammout you overpaid onto the mirage mat. Either way, put mirage in play.

But as Aidan Millow and eHalcyon pointed out, it has a big problem. Pretty much no matter which card you choose, it is too powerfull to let anyone keep it, so it will basically just remove a gain or a buy from both players each turn.
It could maybe be fixed with some sort of negative effect every turn, but either the negative effect isn't bad enough or it's too bad, so you don't want to get the card in the first place.

I would advice you not to read the rest of this post, but I'll leave it here in case anybody wants to know how it started.

I've had an idea for a card for a while, but I just can't get the wording right. I don't have a name for it, so right now I call it X.
The idea is:
There's only 1 copy of it in the supply.
When you buy it, you choose an action card in the supply and pay for it.
You put X in play when you gain it, and it stays there. In the beginning of every turn, you play it as the card you chose.
While X is in play, it counts as in the supply, so other players can gain it.

I think the best wording I've found so far is the following:

X, $?, Action, duration
When you're about to buy this or gain it another way, choose an action card in the supply that you can afford. The cost of this is the cost of that card.
When you gain this, put it in play.
In the beginning of every turn, play this as the card you chose.
While this is in play, it counts as in the supply.

Is there anything rule-wise wrong in that text? I'm especially thinking about when other players gains it from you.
I hope it all makes sense. Otherwise just ask.
I would also appreciate if anybody has a good suggestion for a name for it.

Strategy clarification:
If you choose a very good card, then the opponent will probably buy card X from you before you have a chance to use the good card.
If you choose a worse card, then your opponent maybe has something better to do, so you get to keep it and get a little benefit every turn.

The following is the first wording I wrote in this post (I'll advice you not to read this):

X $0+ Action, duration
When you buy this, you may overpay for it.
If you do, choose an Action card in the supply costing the amount you overpaid, and put it in play.
In the beginning of each turn, untill this is gained again, play the card.
When this is gained again, return the card to the supply.
When you gain this, put it in play. It stays in play.
While this is in play, it counts as in the supply.

Which is way too long.

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 18 queries.