Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - clb

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 16
Other Games / Re: Kickstarter Games of Interest
« on: June 21, 2016, 07:09:28 pm »
I just checked out video previews of the game "HOPE".

I was super-excited about this last year when it first tried to launch (it cancelled a few days later), and I have been waiting for it to come back around. However, I now find that I am afraid that the 3-dimensional aspect of it will feel "gimmicky" and stop being interesting and engaging after a few plays. It doesn't look like there is a lot of game outside of the optical illusion.
I'm planning on printing out the PnP and giving it a try before I decide to vote (or not) with my wallet.

Other Games / Re: Village
« on: May 27, 2016, 07:02:53 pm »
We enjoy it well enough. I haven't bought the Village Inn expansion, but I hear that it brings the game up from gateway+ to a more interesting Euro.

Dominion: Empires Previews / Re: Empires Bonus Preview #2: Crown
« on: May 18, 2016, 02:54:43 pm »
Yes, I know, but the beauty of Dominion is that it affects each player equally.
So we all get to benefit from our overpowered TRs/KCs!
Not a native speaker, but we try, us Duchies!

Your probably write mower often then many native speakers.

That sentence hurt just writing it!

Collecting the VP is paramount, but your competitor(s) might get the points - seems like a delicate dance.

Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance and Cornucopia cards
« on: May 05, 2016, 06:43:25 pm »
You are correct - it gains the Types and abilities of the other card, but it doesn't lose its original Type and name. Further, it does not gain the Name of the Inherited card, so it would be a uniquely named card, still.

Other Games / Re: What's up with BGG?
« on: April 28, 2016, 05:51:12 pm »
The linked forums are still there. There's a string of words below the "header"-like area, which start Overview, Forums, Images, etc. I think clicking on Forums will bring up the information you are looking for. Arranged differently, of course.

Rules Questions / Re: Inheretance and the Trash
« on: April 26, 2016, 05:46:12 pm »
Thanks to you both!

Rules Questions / Inheretance and the Trash
« on: April 26, 2016, 05:30:59 pm »
There are two statements on the Wiki for Inheritance, each of which seems to make sense, but they seem to contradict each other. Could you please help me sort this out?

If you Transmute an Inherited Estate, the Estate is in the trash and, thus, no longer yours when Transmute checks its type; therefore you would only get a Gold (for trashing a Victory card) and not a Duchy (since Estate cannot be an Action card in the trash).

If an Estate comes into your possession via a means not explicitly described in the Official FAQ, such as being put in your hand after being trashed as a Fortress, it is still "yours", and still has its Inherited properties.

Why is an Inherited Estate still "mine" in the trash as a Fortress, but not "mine" if trashed by Transmute?
If I trash an Estate-inherited-to-Fortress using Tansmute, would it come back to my hand? If yes, why wouldn't it also give me a Duchy?
The Inherited Type and Inherited Abilities should both apply while it is mine, and it stops being mine when it goes to the trash. It seems that the Estate-as-Fortress should remain in the trash.

Thank you for your insights.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: House rules you use
« on: April 18, 2016, 06:03:04 pm »
I didn't realize that anyone used the mats for anything, ever. We used the Tavern mats once in our first game, since they were new, but other than that, I don't recall using a mat in any of the games - their primary purpose is to keep the incomplete row of cards in my box from falling down.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Empires Announced!
« on: April 01, 2016, 01:06:28 pm »
I wish I had a FLGS. unless L is stretched to include a 45-75 minute drive.  :(

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: March 18, 2016, 03:01:16 pm »
Are there other tabletop games where the creator/owner/president awesomely and reliably responds to random people within like 30 minutes?

And on another note, thanks for doing what you do!  Dominion You have had a direct effect on the improvement of my quality of life, and my relationships with my friends and loved ones :)

Gene Billingsley seems to do so on his own designs. Admittedly, he's much more prominent as a game publisher (GMT Games, published Twilight Struggle, Command & Colors and many other things) rather than designer.

Jamey Stegmaier of Stonemaier games.

Other Games / Re: Game suggestions (dice maybe)?
« on: January 07, 2016, 08:07:03 pm »
If you are thinking of playing with people who like light games and don't mind the swinginess inherent in dice games, you may want to consider Machi Koro. My daughter and I enjoy playing that together. You can always blame the dice when you lose, but if you win, you can argue that you bought the right cards to play the odds. Or maybe you just got that one lucky roll.

Rules Questions / Re: Mission and Outpost
« on: January 07, 2016, 07:53:33 pm »
I'm pretty sure he was describing the horrid mess that is possible, which prompts the "once per turn" and "if the previous turn wasn't yours" clauses.

Although, I've often wondered how messy Mission gets without the Once Per Turn clause.

It's pretty horrific with Monument:
1. Build a deck that's guaranteed to generate $4 every turn (simply trashing your Estates/Shelters is sufficient if you don't add any stop cards other than your trasher and a single Monument) and contains at least one Monument.
2. Play Monument if it's in your hand; either way, play $4 and buy Mission.
3. Repeat #2 as many times as you can stand, gathering an unlimited number of VP tokens (remember, they're not component-limited).

Game Reports / Re: How. How...!? HOW!!!!!!?
« on: June 17, 2015, 06:49:04 pm »
What is the consensus on when it is a good idea to get a second Potion in Vineyards games? I would have been temped in this game to get a second Potion, get an Outpost before my first Lab, and buy Storeroom and Lighthouse/Crossroad on $5 to increase my action card count. Are any of those reasonably good ideas?

Dominion General Discussion / Re: How do you feel about Champion?
« on: June 08, 2015, 06:11:22 pm »
Champion isn't worth it at all on boards where you have the time for and access to villages and there are no crippling attacks by the time you would get it. Those boards aren't uncommon, and there are also going to be plenty of boards where it's just mediocre.

The problem is that the Page line includes Warrior, which isn't automatically a crippling attack but I imagine can get to be pretty strong if the Champion player goes uncontested.


Twice now someone tried to skip the Page line (admittedly, still Adventures novices), but that person's deck was gutted. It is surprisingly hard to build a deck that relies solely on $2- and $5+ cards. Sure, you could design a kingdom for it, but most boards need the $3-4.
The stacking of the attack really is painful sometimes. If I play a couple of Pages, then a Warrior (3 card trash sift), Warrior (4 card trash sift), Warrior (5), I've just gone through 12 of your cards and culled the backbone from your deck. Many trashers take a lot of work before they can outpace gaining, but if I can look through 10-12 cards of your deck every turn and trash all of the $3-4, not just one to three that I choose, then outpacing it gets rather difficult.

Rules Questions / Re: Black Market/Hermit
« on: June 01, 2015, 07:07:20 pm »
If you buy a card via Black Market, Hermit should not trigger.

Thanks for this answer. Dominion Online still has this interaction wrong, hope it can be fixed.

Marin and I both used that the interaction is wrong to good effect in a game just now, but if one of us had expected not to get a Madman in that situation, that would not have been fair.

Huh, I just now realized that Hermit's self-trashing is not optional. So if you want to play and keep your Hermit, but don't have enough money to buy anything, you're out of luck. can use Hermit's ability to gain another Hermit.


Not really... Because then you won't have used his ability to gain whatever else you wanted, which could have been a second Hermit or anything else.

Well, not being able to gain what you want is what happens when you don't have enough money. Hermit doesn't make that any worse.

It's worse than if Hermit's self-trashing were a "may". If it were optional, then you could use Hermit to gain what you want, and still keep Hermit if you wanted to, even though you couldn't buy anything you wanted. But the way it is, if you can't buy anything you want, you have to choose between not playing Hermit (and thus not getting a $3 that you want), or  trashing the Hermit.

...or buying a Copper. Not that that was something you'd like to do.

So it sounds like if you love your Hermits, you should not send them on a Mission or they will be forced to become Madmen.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: IRL Adventures stories
« on: May 14, 2015, 12:46:13 pm »
King's Court/Giant is ridiculous. You have to play with them at least once.

The recommended set, go big, was awesome. Ferry on the hirelings until the pile ran (using ball), then buy Giants/story tellers/Kings courts. Starting with 9+ cards makes kc-kc-giant-giant-giant simple to do consistently, especially with a couple storytellers!
Thankfully the piles run quickly so after a couple colonies you can end the game before they hate you too much!

Goko Dominion Online / Re: Bizarre Bot Strategies II
« on: May 12, 2015, 02:01:37 pm »
Because the thread has been quiet so long, a new one for describing obviously wrong or not-so-obviously-but-still-definitely wrong bot actions and strategies.

Bot plays Band of Misfits. It can choose Treasure Map, Tournament, Scheme or Masquerade. It chooses Tournament. I reveal a Province. The bot plays another Band of Misfits, and again chooses Tournament, apparently hoping that this time I keep my Tournament to myself...

I think the bot does that because the bot sometimes doesn't reveal a province to a second tournament.

Mine was just delivered today - I haven't delved into the quality issues too much, but there are several additional copies of some of the cards, and their edges are munched. Also, 2/3 of the cards have corners that are not cut the same as all the rest of the cards, so they are definitely noticeable visually and not only by touch.
I am actually considering sending the box back as defective and getting a replacement after the re-print.

Dominion FAQ / Re: Duration cards that penalise your next turn
« on: April 16, 2015, 06:08:23 pm »
Borrow could be interpreted as a duration that penalizes your next turn.

Dominion: Adventures Previews / Re: Preview: Giant
« on: April 14, 2015, 05:17:55 pm »
It will be fun to see what other cards (or events?) use the Journey token and whether this affects the strength of Giant.

More than just affecting the strength of Giant, I think the existence of other cards that use the Journey token will really affect the complexity of Giant.
Given that if the token is the wrong way up this card is a 5-cost terminal copper, managing the token is going to be absolutely crucial to your success.

As it alludes to in the last paragraph of the preview, deciding which of two Journey token cards to use the strong side and which to use the weak side could become a very tricky decision.

This is assuming that other Journey token cards exist, but they must do or it would be called a Giant token, right?
I'm guessing another Journey Token card will be the card that Draws 5 cards when Throned.

I had assumed that was storyteller - certainly it won't always draw 5 cards when throned, but it easily could.

I am guessing that the +1 action token is no longer effective once the supply pile you put it on its empty (a la band of misfits)? Or is it viable for the rest of the game, regardless?

Simulation / Re: Adventures: some simulation results
« on: April 01, 2015, 05:32:27 pm »

Haunted Woods: Surprisingly very strong. Almost on par with Wharf in a big money deck (Wharf 52% - HW 42%). I also made an engine to compare with a Rabble engine and it vastly outperforms it.

Could you please clarify which "it" is which? Does Rabble vastly outperform Haunted Woods, or the other way around?

Oh man, that art on Duplicate.  Stellar.  Guide's not bad either!  Coin of the Realm, well, it's some coins.  What more do you want, really?

Beard count is still zero.  Unless that guy on Duplicate has one, but it'd be pretty small.

The statues look to have beards - so one beard and one duplicated beard for your count. Or are you only counting people beards?

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Are Advisor and Soothsayer Related?
« on: October 03, 2013, 11:41:27 am »
Nah, they aren't related - it's the same person. The foolhardy ruler has employed a soothsayer as his advisor, but since the world is prejudiced, she has to dress as a man in court.
Hmm, "are you related to yourself?" is kind of a philosophical question.
You might think "no" because a relation implies a connection to someone other than yourself.

But we can go back in time......

You (most likely) had 2 parents (barring scientific experiments), 4 grandparents (could be 2 of course, but let's keep it simple and straightforward), 8 great-grandparents, 16..., 32.. etc. So if we go n generations back, you will have had 2^n ancestors from that generation. If we go back far enough we can see that the number of "unique" ancestors more than exceeds the number of people on the planet at the time that generation was walking the planet pretty quickly. Now if we factor in geographical and cultural factors (meaning people who live closely together and have the same customs will likely mate) the chance of you having all unique ancestors is practically 0%.

This simply means that yes, you are related to yourself.

You can go back up your genealogical tree and find an ancestor that occurs on both your paternal as well as your maternal side. You're probably your own cousin 27 times removed or so.

Hmmm... Wouldn't that also imply that there are jurisdiction wherein it would be illegal for me to marry me?  :P

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 16

Page created in 0.081 seconds with 18 queries.