Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Dominionaer

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: November 18, 2023, 11:39:05 pm »
Shaman for Way of the Mouse is "using this"?

Rules Questions / Re: Procession vs BoM vs Duration
« on: March 10, 2023, 11:49:32 pm »
BoM on Lighthouse doesn’t give you any attack protection, because the Lighthouse never enters play and isn’t in play. Normally BoM would stay in play for tracking purposes, but it doesn’t give you protection. So with Procession everything works the same; you just don’t have a physical reminder/tracking for the next turn effect that you get. You still get the effect next turn like normal.

Caveat: isn't that true for 1st Editition only? 2nd Edition Lighthouse has "until then" on play effect

Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: January 17, 2023, 08:04:51 am »
When does "the start of your Clean-up" end?
When nothing left to do at "the start of your Clean-up"! And when you don't want to use optional things for that.

I have played 2 Fishermans and 1 Improve.  No card is in my discard pile.  Can I discard a Fisherman and trash the other to gain a Gold?

Rules Questions / Re: Trashing and Priest
« on: August 16, 2022, 05:01:58 am »
i think i understand the reasoning but need to clarify why i have a doubt here:

The general rule is, when during resolving an effect due to a trigger an effect get added to the list of effects applicable for that specific trigger, the added effect is usable to the actual triggering already. Correct so far?

So under Innovation there is one effect lingering to "when a card is gained". Gaining Livery and playing it with Innovation adds another effect to the same trigger and due to the general rule gets resolved immediatly; the Livery provides a Horse for its own gaining. Still correct?

I understand GendoIkari's answer to the Priest played during resolving Catacomb's trashing effect adds Priest's bonus effect for trashing to the list of effects usable to trashing Catacomb and so gives $2 for trashing that Catacomb. Correct?

If so, my doubt is in Priest's "For the rest of this turn". For me that translate to "from now on (and not applicable to previous occurences)". Catacomb got trashed before Priest changing conditions. Although a trigger opens a "window" in which multiple things can happen seemingly "simultanously", the phrase in question indicates a timing, dividing before versus after. Furthermore: if Priest would not have that phrase, it would just work as said by Gendolkari. But since it have it, …

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Seaside 2E Announced
« on: January 30, 2022, 07:43:21 am »
Embargo can easily be made to work without tokens: You just put the trashed Embargo card sideways under the target pile to indicate the curse penalty.
Question is, wether it then still counts as in Trash

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Seaside 2E Announced
« on: January 30, 2022, 07:25:59 am »
FWIW, is the restriction to multiples of 100 physical cards due to packaging or printing issues? AFAIR, all big expansions have had an exact multiple of 100 cards (300, 400 or 500), but small expansions like Alchemists did not (150 cards).

AFAIK Altenburg is printing 50 cards on one sheet.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Allies
« on: November 09, 2021, 03:31:57 am »
So the expansion title is translated to German this time ("Verbündete"), after the last four expansion titles kept their English names in the German versions. (While "Renaissance" is the same word in German, the other three titles aren't.)

I don't like this inconsistent approach, it's very inelegant IMO. The first German publisher Hans im Glück also flip-flopped between translating and not translating the titles, keeping "Dominion" itself, "Seaside" and "Dark Ages" in English, but translating the other expansion titles. ::)

rough translatation of (part of) answer by ASS Altenburger to similar complain in German forum: Basically we try to translate the titles, but if the English one fits or sounds good or we couldn't find a really nice translation or a catchy match, we stick with the English one. (supported by several users)

EDIT: by the way Nocturne and Menagerie one can find in any German dictionary, same spelling!

Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: October 03, 2021, 02:24:24 am »
You having Lantern and playing Boder Guard reveal three cards.
Opponent (without Lantern) playing Boder Guard reveals two cards.

Rules Questions / Re: Citadel and Captain
« on: September 20, 2021, 05:42:00 am »
Before the new rule for playing cards, how does this interaction work? You play Captain, and next turn you play a Smithy in the supply, leaving it there, then Citadel replays it - and puts it into play? Meaning that the Smithy is now yours without you having gained it?

After the rules change, I guess it's very similar. You play Captain, and next turn you choose a Smithy, but instead of Captain playing it, Citadel plays it and puts it into play, and then plays it again. You get the Smithy.

Am I missing something?
This is correct and of course not intended.

My tentative fix is "The first time you play an Action card from your hand during each of your turns, play it twice instead."

I don't know for sure if copies of Renaissance were printed with the errata, but that's my best guess, that they went out months ago.

Playing a card puts it into play, and if it wasn't yours before, it's yours now. However you can't put the card into play (and thus can't play it) if it isn't where it's expected to be.

Wouldn't it be easier to add somthing bracketed like "( a "leaving it there" clause continues)"?

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Minor note about new printings
« on: July 19, 2021, 07:07:43 am »
Add to Star Chart FAQ:

You can also look at any cards about to be drawn, that aren't being shuffled, while deciding.
Just noticed this little piece. Do i interpret correctly SC now has same handling as Stash (revised version). So when shuffling i may look at remaining deck. E.g. at end of turn for drawing next hand when there are only e.g 3 cards in deck, then i may look through them, then look through discard and choose which card goes on top of shuffeled cards based on knowledge of what the 3 cards of old deck are?

when topdecking multiple cards it goes consecutive, or one by one. if you mean the online implementation, then similar: first click goes on top, next on that and so on. if you want to know wether there is a way to see what order you have already clicked, then no.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Errata for Renaissance?
« on: July 05, 2021, 01:28:28 am »
Thank you very much for the list. Most helpful. It is for German version.

Dominion General Discussion / Errata for Renaissance?
« on: July 02, 2021, 02:33:49 pm »
Are there any relevant changes on cards (including  non-cards) in Renaissance declared, announced or planned? Asking for translated reprint.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Quesyion about Kiln and Stockpile
« on: January 28, 2021, 03:10:06 am »
The second version!

You play Stockpile
1) putting it in play area
2) may gain Stockpile due to Kiln
– if you do may discard Stockpile(s) from Exile
3) +3$
4) +1 Buy
5) Exile Stockpile

Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion Card Image Generator
« on: July 26, 2020, 02:00:40 pm »
Questions about line breaking:
1) How do i get equivalent of HTML's   (non-breakable space) ?
2) Does a space gets counted to word length? Saw several times there is enough room in a line for a word appearing on next line. Replacing the trailing space = %20 with a RETURN = %2C%0A helps.

Rules Questions / Re: Dismantle + Wayfarer
« on: July 25, 2020, 03:51:00 pm »
Dismantle says "gain a cheaper card and a Gold". Do you have to gain them in that specific order? This matters when Wayfarer is in play.

Yes. It is short for "Gain a cheaper card. Gain a Gold."

Rules Questions / Re: Durable Mouse
« on: July 10, 2020, 10:52:17 am »
Compare with Enchantress. When you play an Enchanted Necropolis, it's not Necropolis that gives you +1 Card/+1 Action. If it were Necropolis, a Way could still be used. For instance, Way of the Chameleon could replace it with +$1/+1 Action. That doesn't happen, because we're not following Necropolis's ability.

Is the underlined sentence intended or just not proper formulated? For me it suggests an enchanted Action can't use a Way. Or is my learning of Way as escape instead Enchantress wrong?

I think it is a little bit complicated, but if i remember a long discussion correct, Donalds ruling was, Fleet FAQ says other extra turns can happen, so those triggered then also happens for all players except last Fleet player.

Rules Questions / Re: Coffers Question
« on: May 19, 2020, 02:42:12 am »
“You may play treasure cards before you buy a card”.

Wouldn't it be better phrased "You may play treasure cards before you buy anything"? (includes Events and Projects)

Rules Questions / Re: Cost of Animal Fair revisited
« on: April 12, 2020, 08:24:54 am »
OK, i cruised trough some of the linked posts and think, you are on a path making something simple very complex.

I assume you start from
you can buy one card, costing as much as you have or less
and interpret it literally and as strict as possible? So if you have 6 coins, you are not allowed to buy something costing more coins? In that sense i would concede there is a bit of hard to explain in Animal Fair.

I prefer an other interpretation: you need 1 Buy and the appropiate number of treasures to gain a desired card. Technically: you spend the Buy, then (try to) spend the requested coins and if you do successfully, gain the card. If you have not enough coins, you fail to gain (and has wasted the Buy).

Rules Questions / Re: Cost of Animal Fair revisited
« on: April 11, 2020, 06:59:00 pm »
What is your problem? Do you seek confirmation for your assumptions? Do you look for a more convenient wording? Do you understand it at all? Where is the contradiction, you write of?

What about Druid? Do different Druid Boons count as a different kingdom?

Yeah, probably. There are 1,320 different combinations of those, by the way.
(12 choose 3) = 220

There's a total of 376 kingdom cards (including the removed cards,
??? I count 366 (truth: table sheet does)

Dominion Strategy Wiki Feedback / Re: Menagerie errata?
« on: March 21, 2020, 05:14:43 am »
OK, thank you for clearing that.

Dominion Strategy Wiki Feedback / Menagerie errata?
« on: March 21, 2020, 01:25:53 am »
What is the content of Menagerie errata or where can i find it? Crlundy names it as reason for additional new=old Oracle version (which is 1E). 

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Page created in 0.075 seconds with 19 queries.