Dominion Strategy Forum

Dominion => Dominion General Discussion => Topic started by: ednever on January 21, 2022, 02:45:01 pm

Title: Wayfarer and Develop/Remake
Post by: ednever on January 21, 2022, 02:45:01 pm
Came across this today.

Remake I understand, since it specifically says it happens once after each other and to different cards. So if you remake an Expand into a province, then you try and remake a Wayfarer you get a Platinum.

But Develop surprised me.

You Develop one card into two. It's not clear to me when you check the value of the card you are developing. You develop a Wayfarer ($6) into a card costing $1 more and $1 less. You choose the order. So two options:

(1) Get $7 and then a $5 card (check once)
(2) Get a $7 card, the Wayfarer turns into a $7 card, and then you get a $6 card

Dominion Online uses #2, but it's not clear to me with the description of Develop that that is the right way to do it. Has there been a ruling on this?

Thanks,

Ed   
Title: Re: Wayfarer and Develop/Remake
Post by: GendoIkari on January 21, 2022, 05:47:36 pm
The wiki answers this directly under "other rules and clarifications", stating that #2 is correct.

Quote
What matters is the cost of each card at the time you're gaining cards, not at the time you play Develop.
For example, If you start your turn by Developing a card costing $4 and gain a Silver (costing $3) as your first gain, then you could gain a Destrier as your second gain: although Destrier cost $6 when you played Develop, your first gain reduced Destrier's price to $5 and it's now eligible for your second gain.

If you start your turn by Developing Wayfarer, and you gain a Duchy (costing $5) as your first gain, then you could gain a Gold as your second gain. Although Wayfarer cost $6 when you trashed it, gaining the Duchy reduced the Wayfarer's cost to $5, meaning your second gain must cost $6.

Also discussed in this rules thread: http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=20455.0