Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?  (Read 2924 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« on: June 25, 2013, 11:13:58 am »
+1

From this thread...

Disclaimer: I couldn't really get into solo challenges before, so I probably won't be participating, but I think it might be cool to see the results of this, so here we go:

How many Menageries can you activate in a row? Choose any kingdom you want, make it a solitaire game, and it has to be Turn 20 or earlier, let's say.

"In a row" means you may not do anything at all in between activating your Menageries. No playing, discarding, nothing else with any of your cards. Play a Menage, it activates, immediately play the next one, etc. KC/TR/Golem/Herald chains are fine before the first Menagerie, but not in the middle.

"Activated" means you must draw all three cards from every Menagerie or it doesn't count, so make sure you have enough cards in your deck!

Example: KC+Menagerie is three Menageries. You can play another one immediately afterward and that counts as 4.

Menagerie + KC+Menagerie is still three Menageries.

I'm open to rules tweaking and/or clarification for the next 24 hours.

I guess you all are supposed to PM me a log or something, right? So yeah, that.

Hopefully we'll get some submissions on this. I wonder how many in a row we can all pull off...
Logged
I respond to PMs.

SCSN

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2227
  • Respect: +7134
    • View Profile
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 11:47:05 am »
0

Isn't it more fun if people post their logs here? That way we know the number to beat...
Logged

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 11:52:40 am »
0

With any luck I'm hoping to post a base line tonight that people can compare against.
Logged
I respond to PMs.

SirPeebles

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3247
  • Respect: +5447
    • View Profile
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 12:07:51 pm »
0

Is KC-KC-Menagerie-Menagerie-... allowed?  Technically KC is being played after the first Menagerie, but it doesn't come from your hand.
Logged
Well you *do* need a signature...

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2013, 12:22:48 pm »
0

mmm... good point.

Let's say that's allowed, since we cap pretty early without that. Let's also explicitly say that BoM-as-Menagerie counts as Menagerie
Logged
I respond to PMs.

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2013, 07:40:18 am »
+3

I've set a base line, something for you all to shoot for. There is definitely room for improvement, even without the use of Black Market, I just set a goal and shot for it.

First of all, the goal is twelve activated Menageries in a row.

I made a video of me doing it too. The link to the game log is in the description of the video and I posted a helpful comment that links you to important times in the video. If you watch this video you will probably be spoiled all to crap so beware of that.

SPOILER
Logged
I respond to PMs.

Powerman

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 766
  • Respect: +602
    • View Profile
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2013, 10:47:56 am »
0

I've set a base line, something for you all to shoot for. There is definitely room for improvement, even without the use of Black Market, I just set a goal and shot for it.

First of all, the goal is twelve activated Menageries in a row.

I made a video of me doing it too. The link to the game log is in the description of the video and I posted a helpful comment that links you to important times in the video. If you watch this video you will probably be spoiled all to crap so beware of that.

SPOILER

Off the top of my head, switching out Vault for Death Cart so you have Ruins will raise the number, if you start with KC-KC-Men...
Logged
A man on a mission.

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2013, 11:16:13 am »
0

I'm aware that this isn't the best I can do. As a matter of fact I already have a submission that does better  ;) . I was just trying to set a baseline so people have a starting point.
Logged
I respond to PMs.

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2476
    • View Profile
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2013, 11:25:16 am »
0

Oh boy, I really wish I had cards so I could try this...
Logged

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2013, 11:29:01 am »
+1

If you buy the cards just because of this, I think Goko should give me a cut. You know, a little referral bonus? Yes?
Logged
I respond to PMs.

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2476
    • View Profile
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2013, 11:36:05 am »
+1

for sure, except that I'm not gonna buy cards :P
Logged

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2013, 11:37:11 am »
+1

 >:(
Logged
I respond to PMs.

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2802
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3832
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2013, 09:12:24 am »
+1

So it's been a while, I thought I'd put a bow on this even though I only got submissions from one person, who is the winner by default :)

FIRST PLACE AND WINNER OF THE MENAGERIE CHALLENGE

SheCan'tSayNo

On T16 the goal is effectively reached, but with so many cards, Goko couldn't really display them all properly and clicking the right one was difficult. But it's legit. The cards played weren't duplicates and they didn't draw or discard any cards.

Turns out that Herald "solved" this one, which I didn't forsee when I first made the challenge, but oh well.

Thanks everyone for your interest and to SCSN for your submission. I at least had fun making the video :)
Logged
I respond to PMs.

SCSN

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2227
  • Respect: +7134
    • View Profile
Re: How many Menageries can you activate in a row?
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2013, 12:09:08 pm »
+1

Thanks :) I enjoyed it, though the execution was a bit tedious.

For those who can't be bothered to manually count: I activated 19 Menageries in a row, although near the end I had to play a few (non-duplicate) other cards in between because Goko didn't allow me to click the BoM due to my gigantic handsize.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.065 seconds with 22 queries.