Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Fun with Hinterlands  (Read 1591 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Nimmy

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Fun with Hinterlands
« on: October 17, 2011, 04:54:56 am »
0

Logged

DStu

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2627
  • Respect: +1488
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 05:27:26 am »
0

It's probably very situational, but ambassadoring IGG's in Multiplayer when you're defended yourself (Watchtower/ Lighthouse /Trader?) seems like fun.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2011, 05:35:10 am by DStu »
Logged

Thisisnotasmile

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
  • Respect: +672
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 05:29:31 am »
0

It's probably very situational, but ambassadoring IGG's in Multiplayer when you're defended yourself (Watchtower/Lighthose/Trader?) seems like fun.

Lighthouse doesn't work as IGG is not an attack card.
Logged

DStu

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2627
  • Respect: +1488
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2011, 05:34:42 am »
0

It's probably very situational, but ambassadoring IGG's in Multiplayer when you're defended yourself (Watchtower/Lighthose/Trader?) seems like fun.

Lighthouse doesn't work as IGG is not an attack card.

Arggh. And I was so proud of me that I figured out I can not use Moat....
Logged

Nimmy

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 06:09:52 am »
0

This also solves the following puzzle: In a 6-handed game, as first player, deplete the curse deck by the end of your fifth-turn. You may suppose your opponents are only buying coppers on their turns.
Logged

Thisisnotasmile

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
  • Respect: +672
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2011, 06:23:00 am »
0

Are curses capped at 30 for a 6-handed game or do they go up to 50 to follow the 10(n-1) rule?
Logged

Nimmy

  • Swindler
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2011, 06:30:01 am »
0

I assumed 50.
Logged

Thisisnotasmile

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
  • Respect: +672
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2011, 06:44:24 am »
0

I assume so too since you need Base and Intrigue to even consider playing 6-handed, in which cases you have the extra curses needed, but I wasn't sure as I do not own Intrigue and have never been even slightly interested in Dominion with more than 4.

Edit: Also, check out this game report which falls under the banner of "Fun with Hinterlands":
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=820.0
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
  • Respect: +3328
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2011, 06:45:21 am »
0

It's 40 Curses for 5p and 50 Curses for 6p.
Treasure piles should be combined from Base + Intrigue.
15 Provinces for 5p, 18 Provinces for 6p, rest of the VP piles should have 12.

Ending condition modified for 4 empty piles instead of 3.
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

Buggz

  • Spy
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
  • Respect: +12
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2011, 07:07:29 am »
0

Ending condition modified for 4 empty piles instead of 3.
Which is exactly why City has "two or more" empty supply piles in its description. That had a friend of mine confused for a long time.
Logged

Thisisnotasmile

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
  • Respect: +672
    • View Profile
Re: Fun with Hinterlands
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2011, 07:12:09 am »
0

Ending condition modified for 4 empty piles instead of 3.
Which is exactly why City has "two or more" empty supply piles in its description. That had a friend of mine confused for a long time.

Alternatively you could empty the third pile at the beginning of your turn with, say, Ironworks and then proceed to play your Cities...
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.113 seconds with 21 queries.