Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: [Featured] Strategy Guide: Fermentation and Reformation  (Read 9363 times)

Hideyoshi

• Baron
  • Respect: +34
    • View Profile
[Featured] Strategy Guide: Fermentation and Reformation
« on: March 26, 2013, 04:10:22 am »
+11

Hello everyone~ This is my first try to write on some common/uncommon cards and combos in innovation. To start with, fermentation and reformation is a very common combo in base set and even echoes, and the combos begins in age 4, which usually leads to a disasters to the game.

The basic mechanism of fermentation and reformation combos

Fermentation is not always a good card. It needs a lot of leaves in order to draw lots of cards. If you have no leaves at all, you’d better forget fermentation even you have drawn it. Once you get fermentation and a set of leaves on your board, you may start fermentation from age 2. You may continue draw and draw, and find the card reformation at age 4. You may tuck some of your cards, mostly yellow cards, in order to get more leaves for drawing. At age 4, you may get at most 16 leaves on your board, which means you can draw 8 cards per fermentation. After you set your “perfect board”, you may just keep drawing to find you best “ending card” to win. This combo is quite simple and common, but also horrible to your opponents, which all players may need to learn how to create the combo, and also counter the combo.

How to set up the best board for fermentation – before age 4

In order to set up the best board for fermentation, there is something important for setting up the board:
1. To make the board more leaves
2. To set up the best board as fast as possible, which mean to avoid useless action such as inefficient splaying
3. You may place more crowns and factories to avoid the danger of compass and gunpowder (optional)