Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 127 128 [129] 130  All

Author Topic: Easy Puzzles  (Read 297900 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1280
  • Respect: +1515
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3200 on: July 12, 2018, 01:26:33 am »
+4

I'm going to naively assume that coins are not an issue (since we can play a fairly large number of Treasures including Bank and Fortune), and Buys probably aren't either (given Travelling Fair). Like Awaclus, I would Counterfeit a Potion and and have my -$2 cost token on Golem but *not* play Quarry (so Golems cost $2P). I will also put my Trashing token on Stonemason. So I can get to 6:

* Buy 2 Squires, putting them on my deck (probably Travelling Fair).
* Buy 2 Blessed Villages, receiving The Sea's Gift twice (due to reshuffling the Boons) to draw the Squires.
* Buy 2 Stonemasons, overpaying $2P each to gain 4 Golems and trashing two Squires to gain two Familiars onto my deck.
* Buy 2 Cursed Villages, receiving Locusts both times (due to reshuffling the Hexes), trashing the two Familiars and gaining 2 Golems.

Total cost: $26 and 8 Buys. So Copper + Silver + Gold + Platinum + Counterfeit (Potion) + Bank + Fortune gives $34 and 3 Buys, we can buy Travelling Fair 4 times to make that $26 and 7 Buys so just throw a Royal Seal or something in there to make up the difference.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2018, 01:30:41 am by ConMan »
Logged

dghunter79

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Respect: +277
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3201 on: July 12, 2018, 03:21:53 am »
+1

I'm going to naively assume that coins are not an issue (since we can play a fairly large number of Treasures including Bank and Fortune), and Buys probably aren't either (given Travelling Fair). Like Awaclus, I would Counterfeit a Potion and and have my -$2 cost token on Golem but *not* play Quarry (so Golems cost $2P). I will also put my Trashing token on Stonemason. So I can get to 6:

* Buy 2 Squires, putting them on my deck (probably Travelling Fair).
* Buy 2 Blessed Villages, receiving The Sea's Gift twice (due to reshuffling the Boons) to draw the Squires.
* Buy 2 Stonemasons, overpaying $2P each to gain 4 Golems and trashing two Squires to gain two Familiars onto my deck.
* Buy 2 Cursed Villages, receiving Locusts both times (due to reshuffling the Hexes), trashing the two Familiars and gaining 2 Golems.

Total cost: $26 and 8 Buys. So Copper + Silver + Gold + Platinum + Counterfeit (Potion) + Bank + Fortune gives $34 and 3 Buys, we can buy Travelling Fair 4 times to make that $26 and 7 Buys so just throw a Royal Seal or something in there to make up the difference.

Love it.

Makes me think there should be difficulty settings  ::)

HARD: No on-gain effects or events.  Just use the set of unique treasure in your hand.
Current best -- 3

MEDIUM: On-gain effects allowed.
Current best -- 4

EASY: Events allowed.
Current best -- 6

faust

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2099
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +2901
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3202 on: July 12, 2018, 03:54:37 am »
0

I'm going to naively assume that coins are not an issue (since we can play a fairly large number of Treasures including Bank and Fortune), and Buys probably aren't either (given Travelling Fair). Like Awaclus, I would Counterfeit a Potion and and have my -$2 cost token on Golem but *not* play Quarry (so Golems cost $2P). I will also put my Trashing token on Stonemason. So I can get to 6:

* Buy 2 Squires, putting them on my deck (probably Travelling Fair).
* Buy 2 Blessed Villages, receiving The Sea's Gift twice (due to reshuffling the Boons) to draw the Squires.
* Buy 2 Stonemasons, overpaying $2P each to gain 4 Golems and trashing two Squires to gain two Familiars onto my deck.
* Buy 2 Cursed Villages, receiving Locusts both times (due to reshuffling the Hexes), trashing the two Familiars and gaining 2 Golems.

Total cost: $26 and 8 Buys. So Copper + Silver + Gold + Platinum + Counterfeit (Potion) + Bank + Fortune gives $34 and 3 Buys, we can buy Travelling Fair 4 times to make that $26 and 7 Buys so just throw a Royal Seal or something in there to make up the difference.

Love it.

Makes me think there should be difficulty settings  ::)

HARD: No on-gain effects or events.  Just use the set of unique treasure in your hand.
Current best -- 3

MEDIUM: On-gain effects allowed.
Current best -- 4

EASY: Events allowed.
Current best -- 6
Your difficulty settings are strange when the solution for easy is the hardest to come up with  ::)
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10718
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +11221
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3203 on: July 12, 2018, 05:40:51 am »
+1

If you have 10 Hagglers in play (i.e. not in your hand, deck, or on your mats), you can gain all 10 Golems by buying a Possession.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

faust

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2099
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +2901
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3204 on: July 12, 2018, 05:52:19 am »
+2

If you have 10 Hagglers in play (i.e. not in your hand, deck, or on your mats), you can gain all 10 Golems by buying a Possession.
Also have 10 Inherited Estate-Hagglers in play and upon gain exchange the first 10 Golems for Changelings, gaining 20 Golems in total.
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

majiponi

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • Respect: +346
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3205 on: July 12, 2018, 11:47:40 am »
+2

EDIT: With Stonemason on the board, you can get 4 and don't even need the Charm thing.

I think it's more using on-gain effects of kingdom cards.


Are we allowed to leave the Buy phase, then come back into it? Because Villa + Pathfinding could enable some shenanigans.

No, gotta stay in your buy phase.

Are we allowed to have non-Treasure cards in hand AFTER playing a Treasure? I mean,

play Horn of Plenty to gain Border Village
call 3 Duplicates to gain 3 Border Villages
gain Horn of Plenty, Watchtower, Cultist
gain Cursed Village
reveal Locusts to reveal Cultist
draw Watchtower, Horn of Plenty, Cursed Village
gain Copper

play Potion
play Counterfeit to play Horn of Plenty twice
play it to gain Mandarin
play that to gain Cultist
reveal Watchtower to trash it

repeat this 9 times

With enough coin tokens, we can gain 66 Golems if we have enough in Supply.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2018, 12:07:59 pm by majiponi »
Logged

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1280
  • Respect: +1515
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3206 on: July 12, 2018, 10:08:16 pm »
+1

EDIT: With Stonemason on the board, you can get 4 and don't even need the Charm thing.

I think it's more using on-gain effects of kingdom cards.


Are we allowed to leave the Buy phase, then come back into it? Because Villa + Pathfinding could enable some shenanigans.

No, gotta stay in your buy phase.

Are we allowed to have non-Treasure cards in hand AFTER playing a Treasure? I mean,

play Horn of Plenty to gain Border Village
call 3 Duplicates to gain 3 Border Villages
gain Horn of Plenty, Watchtower, Cultist
gain Cursed Village
reveal Locusts to reveal Cultist
draw Watchtower, Horn of Plenty, Cursed Village
gain Copper

play Potion
play Counterfeit to play Horn of Plenty twice
play it to gain Mandarin
play that to gain Cultist
reveal Watchtower to trash it

repeat this 9 times

With enough coin tokens, we can gain 66 Golems if we have enough in Supply.
Nice solution. I bow to your awesomeness. I haven't checked the costs involved, but I wonder if you can incorporate other Treasures to produce sufficient coin to do it all.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2018, 10:10:03 pm by ConMan »
Logged

mad4math

  • Herbalist
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Shuffle iT Username: madd4math
  • Respect: +21
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3207 on: July 16, 2018, 11:17:39 pm »
0

Call a royal carriage on a card that is in your opponent's play area.
Logged

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1280
  • Respect: +1515
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3208 on: July 17, 2018, 12:43:17 am »
0

I Inherit Crown, my opponent Inherits Caravan Guard.

Play Band of Misfits as Crown, playing Estate twice.
.. first play of Estate, play University twice
.... first play of University, gain a Mandarin to top-deck BoM and Estate
.... second play of University, gain a Catacombs and reveal a Watchtower from hand to trash it, drawing the BoM and Estate
.. second play of Estate, play Ambassador
.... first play of Ambassador, return Estate to the supply, opponent gains Estate
.... second play of Ambassador, opponent reacts with Estate, putting it in play
.. Estate has finished resolving, call Royal Carriage

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 12:44:32 am by ConMan »
Logged

majiponi

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • Respect: +346
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3209 on: July 17, 2018, 04:49:28 am »
0

I Inherit Crown, my opponent Inherits Caravan Guard.

Play Band of Misfits as Crown, playing Estate twice.
.. first play of Estate, play University twice
.... first play of University, gain a Mandarin to top-deck BoM and Estate
.... second play of University, gain a Catacombs and reveal a Watchtower from hand to trash it, drawing the BoM and Estate
.. second play of Estate, play Ambassador
.... first play of Ambassador, return Estate to the supply, opponent gains Estate
.... second play of Ambassador, opponent reacts with Estate, putting it in play
.. Estate has finished resolving, call Royal Carriage

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

I doubt I can call RC even if I put a card on my opponent's play directly, or I play a card which has already been in her play.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 09:26:26 pm by majiponi »
Logged

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 855
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1491
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3210 on: July 17, 2018, 10:43:38 am »
0

Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.

faust

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2099
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +2901
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3211 on: July 17, 2018, 10:53:53 am »
+1

Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.
Is that correct? Royal Carriage says you may call "if it's still in play". But the Estate isn't still in play, it has left play, and is now in play again.
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

singletee

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 855
  • Shuffle iT Username: singletee
  • Gold, Silver, Copper, Let's Jam!
  • Respect: +1491
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3212 on: July 17, 2018, 11:01:12 am »
0

Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.
Is that correct? Royal Carriage says you may call "if it's still in play". But the Estate isn't still in play, it has left play, and is now in play again.

Ah, I didn't remember it had that phrase. In that case, it's not "still" in play and can't be called.

ConMan

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1280
  • Respect: +1515
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3213 on: July 17, 2018, 08:31:07 pm »
0

Catacombs

Cultist?
Yeah, that one.

Quote
Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.
I knew I missed something. And yes, as pointed out, RC can only be called if the card is still in play when it finishes resolving (and if it leaves play then comes back into play, especially in a situation where you can't prove it was the same card, then I'd say RC wouldn't be callable).
Logged

J Reggie

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 648
  • Shuffle iT Username: J Reggie
  • Respect: +1023
    • View Profile
    • Jeff Rosenthal Music
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3214 on: July 19, 2018, 01:00:24 am »
+3

Call a royal carriage on a card that is in your opponent's play area.

I've played enough action cards on my turn that I have to start playing them in front of the player sitting next to me.

No, that doesn't really work...

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4541
  • Respect: +4884
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3215 on: July 19, 2018, 02:26:17 pm »
0

So this has no solution, right?

At least I can call a Royal Carriage directly after my opponent played a card.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7006
  • Respect: +7836
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3216 on: July 19, 2018, 03:35:01 pm »
0

So this has no solution, right?

At least I can call a Royal Carriage directly after my opponent played a card.

I think the solution does in fact work; after a bunch of back-and-forth in the rules thread.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7006
  • Respect: +7836
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3217 on: July 20, 2018, 12:23:44 am »
0

So this has no solution, right?

At least I can call a Royal Carriage directly after my opponent played a card.

I think the solution does in fact work; after a bunch of back-and-forth in the rules thread.

Nope, a final ruling has been made; this can't be done.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

majiponi

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • Respect: +346
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3218 on: July 20, 2018, 10:40:43 pm »
0

My sister Akihime played a Hunting Party.
I knew that she had Copper, Silver, Gold, Estate, Province, and Contraband in her hand.
I named a non-Province card when she played the Contraband.
Why?
Logged

heron

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
  • Shuffle iT Username: heron
  • Respect: +1115
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3219 on: July 20, 2018, 10:59:02 pm »
0

farmland
Logged

majiponi

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • Respect: +346
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3220 on: July 21, 2018, 12:10:26 am »
0

farmland
Yes, I kept her from buying a Farmland to remodel Province to King's Castle. Is there another good idea?
Logged

samath

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
  • Shuffle iT Username: SamE
  • Respect: +522
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3221 on: July 21, 2018, 02:14:36 am »
0

Is there another good idea?

The clear common thing to me in that hand with buying Farmland seems to be to buy Farmland using the Copper, Silver, and Contraband, and trash the Gold for Province for a (nearly) final turn 8-VP boost.

Of course, not naming Province also makes sense in a lot of other contexts: she might also still be building her engine, want to buy a different card to pile out, prefer Alt-VP at that point, and so on.
Logged

majiponi

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • Respect: +346
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3222 on: August 08, 2018, 09:39:05 am »
0

You have only 3 cards, which are in your hand. No token, no Duration. Your opponent has 7 Provinces, 8 Duchies, 8 Estates. Win in this turn.

Hard: No Events, no card in trash.
Lunatic: No Villa
Phantasm: 2 cards
Logged

samath

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 266
  • Shuffle iT Username: SamE
  • Respect: +522
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3223 on: August 08, 2018, 10:46:50 am »
0

You have only 3 cards, which are in your hand. No token, no Duration. Your opponent has 7 Provinces, 8 Duchies, 8 Estates. Win in this turn.

Hard: No Events, no card in trash.
Lunatic: No Villa
Phantasm: 2 cards
No landmarks, presumably? Wall/Wolf Den/Bandit Fort could give your opponent a negative score despite all their green.
Logged

majiponi

  • Tactician
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 409
  • Respect: +346
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #3224 on: August 08, 2018, 06:40:21 pm »
0

You have only 3 cards, which are in your hand. No token, no Duration. Your opponent has 7 Provinces, 8 Duchies, 8 Estates. Win in this turn.

Hard: No Events, no card in trash.
Lunatic: No Villa
Phantasm: 2 cards
No landmarks, presumably? Wall/Wolf Den/Bandit Fort could give your opponent a negative score despite all their green.

Up to 2 Landmarks if you need. I assume that your opponent has the least negative score (like no Silver/Gold, 2 Platinum).
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 127 128 [129] 130  All
 

Page created in 0.193 seconds with 22 queries.