Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 ... 137  All

Author Topic: Easy Puzzles  (Read 373429 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2478
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #325 on: June 28, 2013, 04:18:34 pm »
0

interesting. I assume we have to follow 3-pile rules. I can manage to trash everything except for a single watchtower... how to get rid of that watchtower...
Logged

heron

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • Shuffle iT Username: heron
  • Respect: +1157
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #326 on: June 28, 2013, 04:37:02 pm »
0

Yeah, you have to follow three pile rules.
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2478
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #327 on: June 28, 2013, 04:42:48 pm »
0

my first thought was to trash everything except one card from each supply pile, a watchtower in your deck, and a ton of treasures including 10 ventures and 10 counterfeits. Play all the ventures and counterfeits on each other getting a ton of money and 19 buys. buy the last card from each pile, including a mint, trashing everything with watchtower. but then you have 1 watchtower....

second thought: feast + hermit + madman. but you can't gain anything costing more than 5, so you can't get the last province :(
Logged

StrongRhino

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Shuffle iT Username: StrongRhino
  • Respect: +246
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #328 on: June 28, 2013, 04:52:39 pm »
0

What I really hate about solitaire challenges like this is that Knights don't work  >:(
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2478
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #329 on: June 28, 2013, 04:57:15 pm »
0

for a second I was like "aha! I get everything except the last province with feast and hermit (gold pile was already empty), then get the last province with horn of plenty!! but then I realized that if I'm only playing cards that trash them self, I won't have 8 different cards in play. :(

and then just now: oh wait, how am I going to trash the cards I gain. I still need watchtower!

I can trash the watchtower by buying a farmland, but then I can't trash the farmland!
Logged

hyramgraff

  • Ambassador
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Respect: +32
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #330 on: June 28, 2013, 05:58:46 pm »
+2

Puzzle: In a solitaire game, put the entire supply into the trash.

The more I think about this puzzle, the more I think that this doesn't belong in the easy puzzles thread.
Logged

heron

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • Shuffle iT Username: heron
  • Respect: +1157
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #331 on: June 28, 2013, 05:59:32 pm »
0

Puzzle: In a solitaire game, put the entire supply into the trash.

The more I think about this puzzle, the more I think that this doesn't belong in the easy puzzles thread.

Here's a hint: This is a bit of a trick question.
Logged

SirPeebles

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3247
  • Respect: +5448
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #332 on: June 28, 2013, 06:03:03 pm »
0

Puzzle: In a solitaire game, put the entire supply into the trash.

The more I think about this puzzle, the more I think that this doesn't belong in the easy puzzles thread.

Here's a hint: This is a bit of a trick question.

Are you permitted to put cards into the trash, then retrieve them using graverobber and return them to the supply with ambassador?
Logged
Well you *do* need a signature...

heron

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • Shuffle iT Username: heron
  • Respect: +1157
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #333 on: June 28, 2013, 06:04:25 pm »
+1

Yes, but all of the supply cards must be in the trash at the end of the game. So that would be pretty useless.
That would be a clever solution though, and my wording of the original puzzle does not prohibit it.
Logged

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2742
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3647
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #334 on: June 28, 2013, 06:33:31 pm »
+6

If the answer is to literally take all the cards and put them in a trash can, you're banned from the forum.
Logged

Awaclus

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11310
  • Shuffle iT Username: Awaclus
  • (。 ω 。`)
  • Respect: +12079
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #335 on: June 28, 2013, 06:40:09 pm »
+1

You're trashing them with Mercenary, which is not in the supply.
Logged
Bomb, Cannon, and many of the Gunpowder cards can strongly effect gameplay, particularly in a destructive way

The Twitch channel where I stream DominionThe YouTube channel where I make musicDownload my band's albums for free

heron

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • Shuffle iT Username: heron
  • Respect: +1157
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #336 on: June 28, 2013, 06:51:37 pm »
+2

You're trashing them with Mercenary, which is not in the supply.

You are sort of on the right track, but I am pretty sure that you cannot gain the last province and trash it and the card you gained it with all in the same turn using mercenaries.
Logged

Dsell

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1289
  • He/Him
  • Respect: +922
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #337 on: June 28, 2013, 07:05:50 pm »
+3

You're trashing them with Mercenary, which is not in the supply.

You are sort of on the right track, but I am pretty sure that you cannot gain the last province and trash it and the card you gained it with all in the same turn using mercenaries.

By this logic it's not that hard, since you can use Black Market cards, which are not "in the supply." So you can Throne (from the BM) a Princess and then gain the Province with Feast, trashing it with Watchtower (which could also be from the BM so the puzzle's done), which you then trash with Mercenary.

Edit: Spoilers
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 07:11:10 pm by Dsell »
Logged
"Quiet you, you'll lynch Dsell when I'm good and ready" - Insomniac


Winner of Forum Survivor Season 2!

jonts26

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2742
  • Shuffle iT Username: jonts
  • Respect: +3647
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #338 on: June 28, 2013, 07:08:15 pm »
0

You're trashing them with Mercenary, which is not in the supply.

You are sort of on the right track, but I am pretty sure that you cannot gain the last province and trash it and the card you gained it with all in the same turn using mercenaries.

By this logic it's not that hard, since you can use Black Market cards, which are not "in the supply." So you can Throne (from the BM) a Princess and then gain the Province with Feast, trashing it with Watchtower (which could also be from the BM so the puzzle's done), which you then trash with Mercenary.

Princess doesn't work that way (in play clause), but there are a bunch of other options. Expand (from BM) something into a province and trash it with WT (from BM) for example.
Logged

Dsell

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1289
  • He/Him
  • Respect: +922
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #339 on: June 28, 2013, 07:12:22 pm »
0

You're trashing them with Mercenary, which is not in the supply.

You are sort of on the right track, but I am pretty sure that you cannot gain the last province and trash it and the card you gained it with all in the same turn using mercenaries.

By this logic it's not that hard, since you can use Black Market cards, which are not "in the supply." So you can Throne (from the BM) a Princess and then gain the Province with Feast, trashing it with Watchtower (which could also be from the BM so the puzzle's done), which you then trash with Mercenary.

Princess doesn't work that way (in play clause), but there are a bunch of other options. Expand (from BM) something into a province and trash it with WT (from BM) for example.

Oh right. The point is, if you allow cards "not in the supply" it's trivial. Add a bridge or highway from the BM to my solution and it works too.
Logged
"Quiet you, you'll lynch Dsell when I'm good and ready" - Insomniac


Winner of Forum Survivor Season 2!

heron

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • Shuffle iT Username: heron
  • Respect: +1157
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #340 on: June 28, 2013, 07:19:24 pm »
+3

Hooray, you have found the solution!
Logged

Dsell

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1289
  • He/Him
  • Respect: +922
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #341 on: June 28, 2013, 07:22:02 pm »
+2

Hooray, you have found the solution!

I guess it really was an "easy puzzle." :P
Logged
"Quiet you, you'll lynch Dsell when I'm good and ready" - Insomniac


Winner of Forum Survivor Season 2!

Dsell

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1289
  • He/Him
  • Respect: +922
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #342 on: June 28, 2013, 08:06:45 pm »
0

Sorry about the double post, but I have been trying for some time now to figure out how to do this puzzle without using Black Market cards, and feel pretty secure saying that it is, indeed, impossible. :P
Logged
"Quiet you, you'll lynch Dsell when I'm good and ready" - Insomniac


Winner of Forum Survivor Season 2!

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #343 on: June 30, 2013, 08:00:33 am »
0

Black Market and Trader are not in kingdom. You gain Ill Gotten Gains, but neither of opponents gains a Curse. How is that possible?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2013, 08:08:18 am by yed »
Logged

ashersky

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2341
  • 2013/2014/2015 Mafia Mod of the Year
  • Respect: +1513
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #344 on: June 30, 2013, 08:11:13 am »
0

Black Market and Trader are not in kingdom. You gain Ill Gotten Gains, but neither of opponents gains a Curse. How is that possible?

Curse pile is empty already, due to many possible reasons.
Logged
f.ds Mafia Board Moderator

2013, 2014, 2015 Mafia Mod of the Year

Games (30): Mafia: 17, 21, 24, 31, 39, 43, 67, 72, 86 || Newbie: 7 || RMM: 6, 7, 10, 20, 22, 26, 32, 45 || Blitz: 4-7, X, 17-19, 22, 24 || BM: 14, 19

2015 f.ds Representative, World Forum Mafia Championships
2013, 2014 Mafia Player of the Year (Tie)

Town: 47 Games, 24 Wins
Scum: 22 Games, 13 Wins
11x MVP: M30, M83, ZM16, M25, M38, M61, M76, RMM5, RMM41, RMM46, M51

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #345 on: June 30, 2013, 08:13:13 am »
0

Black Market and Trader are not in kingdom. You gain Ill Gotten Gains, but neither of opponents gains a Curse. How is that possible?

Curse pile is empty already, due to many possible reasons.
Ok that works, but I have other solution where Curse pile is full.
Logged

Gveoniz

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
  • Respect: +263
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #346 on: June 30, 2013, 08:59:56 am »
0

Black Market and Trader are not in kingdom. You gain Ill Gotten Gains, but neither of opponents gains a Curse. How is that possible?

You embargo the IGG 10 times (30 times in 4p with King's court). You gain all of the curses yourself. Then the pile was full before you buy the IGG. I am not sure otherwise.

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #347 on: June 30, 2013, 09:20:10 am »
0

Black Market and Trader are not in kingdom. You gain Ill Gotten Gains, but neither of opponents gains a Curse. How is that possible?

You embargo the IGG 10 times (30 times in 4p with King's court). You gain all of the curses yourself. Then the pile was full before you buy the IGG. I am not sure otherwise.
Ok, that is also possible. I have different solution.
Logged

Grujah

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2237
  • Respect: +1169
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #348 on: June 30, 2013, 09:25:05 am »
0

10 Hagglers in play, gain all curses.
Logged

yed

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 620
  • Shuffle iT Username: yed
  • Respect: +571
    • View Profile
Re: Easy Puzzles
« Reply #349 on: June 30, 2013, 09:28:03 am »
0

10 Hagglers in play, gain all curses.
Wow, I did not thought there will be this many solutions. But you still have not found mine.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 ... 137  All
 

Page created in 0.091 seconds with 21 queries.