Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 175 176 [177] 178 179 ... 190  All

Author Topic: Interview with Donald X.  (Read 793168 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

greybirdofprey

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
  • Respect: +180
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4400 on: October 24, 2018, 06:29:45 am »
0

As it happens, I've been teaching a lot of new people Dominion in the past week or four. A deck-and-discard mat would actually help a lot, given how easy people find it to get the discard pile confused with in-play. And you have to wait until someone plays a gainer then draw which triggers a reshuffle before it's even apparent to them why it can matter.

I use pencils for that (although any kind of stick-like objects or small, long objects that can be used as dividers could work).
And one horizontal pencil to separate this-turn-discards from future-turn-discards also seems to help a lot. People tend to put Durations and other Actions in the same row, in the same orientation, and end up cleaning them up in the same turn or forgetting whether they played them this turn or in a previous one.
Logged

Simon Jester

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 184
  • Shuffle iT Username: hockeyzemlan
  • changed life, changed everything
  • Respect: +183
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4401 on: October 26, 2018, 11:53:20 am »
0

Hi, I checked the secret history but it didn't quite answer it for me. Why is Seaway different than Pathfinder, Training and Lost Arts? Why doesn't it simply gives +buy to any card? Was it simply too boring for some reason, or was it anything else?
Logged
S

Jack Rudd

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1166
  • Shuffle iT Username: Jack Rudd
  • Respect: +1086
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4402 on: October 26, 2018, 01:51:04 pm »
+1

Hi, I checked the secret history but it didn't quite answer it for me. Why is Seaway different than Pathfinder, Training and Lost Arts? Why doesn't it simply gives +buy to any card? Was it simply too boring for some reason, or was it anything else?
It's because +Buy has a very strange demand curve. The first one is very strong, but then subsequent ones drop down in value a lot.
Logged
Centuries later, archaeologists discover the remains of your ancient civilization.

Evidence of thriving towns, Pottery, roads, and a centralized government amaze the startled scientists.

Finally, they come upon a stone tablet, which contains but one mysterious phrase!

'ISOTROPIC WILL RETURN!'

Holunder9

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 837
  • Respect: +375
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4403 on: October 26, 2018, 02:27:15 pm »
0

Hi, I checked the secret history but it didn't quite answer it for me. Why is Seaway different than Pathfinder, Training and Lost Arts? Why doesn't it simply gives +buy to any card? Was it simply too boring for some reason, or was it anything else?
The Secret History does answer you question. The first version of the Event was without cost restriction and the gaining was conditional:

I had a version that worked on any pile but only gave you a card if it was cheap enough. It was just simpler to tie the token to the gaining.
Logged

crlundy

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 254
  • Shuffle iT Username: crlundy
  • Respect: +294
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4404 on: October 26, 2018, 02:43:03 pm »
+5

The Secret History doesn't directly answer the first question which, I think, is why does it gain you a card at all? (Instead of just placing a token like the others.) That's answered better here:

This might be trivial to say, but I imagine gaining the card makes it better because you want to play it anyway. On the other hand, the cost of the card is restricted to 4, so it balances out. Playtesters, with this one, did you just want to shake things up with the vanilla token events? Or was there a practical reason it couldn't be a direct companion to Pathfinding/Lost Arts/Training?
You tend to want as much +Actions/$/Cards as you can get, but are less likely to want tons of +Buy. So Seaway competes with +Buy cards and so to avoid shutting them out it wanted to cost $5. That meant it had to do something extra, and what it does is get you a copy of the card.

It went back and forth on whether or not it could put the token on a card it couldn't gain. I liked being able to put the token on more expensive cards but it wasn't worth making Seaway more complex.
Logged

greybirdofprey

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
  • Respect: +180
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4405 on: November 04, 2018, 07:32:09 am »
0

How did the recurring card 'themes' find their place into the game (verbs for Remodel variants, magic for Cursing, religious stuff for some Trashing, storage for sifters, village-related things for +2 actions, et cetera)?
Did you already ensure to keep this consistent when you first started? Did it 'just happen'? Did you discover you were doing it and wanted to keep it consistent in later cards?
Logged

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5494
  • Respect: +22136
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4406 on: November 04, 2018, 04:28:03 pm »
+1

How did the recurring card 'themes' find their place into the game (verbs for Remodel variants, magic for Cursing, religious stuff for some Trashing, storage for sifters, village-related things for +2 actions, et cetera)?
Did you already ensure to keep this consistent when you first started? Did it 'just happen'? Did you discover you were doing it and wanted to keep it consistent in later cards?
The related names both help you remember what a card does, and help me name cards. So I had them right away; they were not unintentional. There's a 2nd "village" on the 2nd page of cards; I probably had it within a week of the first one.

I wasn't always consistent though, for random reasons.
Logged

greybirdofprey

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
  • Respect: +180
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4407 on: November 05, 2018, 07:01:59 am »
0

Do you sleeve your own Dominion? Is there playtesting with sleeved cards? Do you use the original boxes or do you have a storage solution?
Logged

dz

  • Spy
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Shuffle iT Username: DZ
  • Respect: +84
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4408 on: November 05, 2018, 07:09:03 am »
0

Do you sleeve your own Dominion? Is there playtesting with sleeved cards? Do you use the original boxes or do you have a storage solution?

Donald doesn't play with the actual cards.

He plays with his prototype, which are sleeved Magic: The Gathering cards.

He uses plastic binders as his storage solution.
Logged

greybirdofprey

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
  • Respect: +180
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4409 on: November 05, 2018, 07:26:22 am »
0

Do you sleeve your own Dominion? Is there playtesting with sleeved cards? Do you use the original boxes or do you have a storage solution?

Donald doesn't play with the actual cards.

He plays with his prototype, which are sleeved Magic: The Gathering cards.

He uses plastic binders as his storage solution.

Ah. Do sleeved cards actually fit in binders? I'm using Ultra Pro Collector's Albums and put 10 or 12 cards in each pocket. I'm thinking about sleeving (due to Coppers and Estates now having visibly different backs) but I'm not sure if it will fit (in terms of thickness).
Also, which size of sleeves do you need for Dominion cards?
Logged

faust

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2567
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +3542
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4410 on: November 05, 2018, 07:45:27 am »
0

Did you ever consider putting designated spots for the cubes on the Projects, maybe overlaying the art?
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5494
  • Respect: +22136
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4411 on: November 05, 2018, 08:24:26 am »
+1

Do you sleeve your own Dominion? Is there playtesting with sleeved cards? Do you use the original boxes or do you have a storage solution?

Donald doesn't play with the actual cards.

He plays with his prototype, which are sleeved Magic: The Gathering cards.

He uses plastic binders as his storage solution.
They are sleeved Magic cards, but I store them in the long cardboard boxes that some people store Magic cards in.
Logged

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5494
  • Respect: +22136
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4412 on: November 05, 2018, 08:24:35 am »
+1

Did you ever consider putting designated spots for the cubes on the Projects, maybe overlaying the art?
I didn't.
Logged

NoMoreFun

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1517
  • Respect: +1118
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4413 on: November 05, 2018, 07:09:59 pm »
0

"Silver with a bonus for $4" was considered one of the taboos of card design here, but that's what Patron is. Was it ever actually a rule for you?
Logged

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5494
  • Respect: +22136
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4414 on: November 05, 2018, 07:28:44 pm »
+3

"Silver with a bonus for $4" was considered one of the taboos of card design here, but that's what Patron is. Was it ever actually a rule for you?
Yes, I am the source of that idea. The problem is that normal people buy Silver for $4 often enough that they just automatically empty the Silver-plus-for-$4 pile, without regard even for what the bonus is.

Patron does have this issue, though not always. As you can see it seemed like it wasn't enough of a problem to not do the card. And the fact that I hadn't done one of these meant... that I hadn't done one of these.
Logged

LibraryAdventurer

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1274
  • Shuffle iT Username: LibraryAdventurer
  • Respect: +961
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4415 on: November 06, 2018, 12:06:46 am »
0

Is there a specific reason Canal says "During your turns" instead of "During your buy phase"?  (To avoid hurting trash for benefit cards.)

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5494
  • Respect: +22136
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4416 on: November 06, 2018, 02:47:20 am »
+2

Is there a specific reason Canal says "During your turns" instead of "During your buy phase"?  (To avoid hurting trash for benefit cards.)
It's just lining up with other Bridges. The TFB cards can take the hit.
Logged

NoMoreFun

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1517
  • Respect: +1118
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4417 on: November 06, 2018, 11:04:51 am »
0

Unlike previous sets, it seems like some of the cards/projects that weren't previewed in Renaissance seem more insane than the ones that were. Capitalism comes to mind, but also Scepter, Border Guard, Fleet.

What was the main rationale/process behind which cards get previewed?
Logged

Simon Jester

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 184
  • Shuffle iT Username: hockeyzemlan
  • changed life, changed everything
  • Respect: +183
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4418 on: November 06, 2018, 11:18:41 am »
0

Unlike previous sets, it seems like some of the cards/projects that weren't previewed in Renaissance seem more insane than the ones that were. Capitalism comes to mind, but also Scepter, Border Guard, Fleet.

What was the main rationale/process behind which cards get previewed?

Fleet was teased, Scepter is really cool, but what is insane with Border Guard? Am I missing something? It's surely good and all, but more than that?

I kinda like that the bomb with Capitalism was hidden (almost) all together.
Logged
S

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8107
  • Respect: +8888
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4419 on: November 06, 2018, 11:23:03 am »
+4

Maybe this will be mentioned in the secret history... what's the reason for Patron being a reaction? It's wording and function seem very similar to Fortress, which is not a reaction. In general, reactions always do something from a hidden place (almost always your hand); and the blue reminds people that they can do something at a time they normally couldn't. But why are Patron and Fortress different here?
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

crj

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1252
  • Respect: +1349
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4420 on: November 06, 2018, 01:03:41 pm »
0

Interesting!

I'd substitute a related alternative question: how come Fortress isn't a Reaction when Tunnel is? (-8
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8107
  • Respect: +8888
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4421 on: November 06, 2018, 01:19:09 pm »
0

Interesting!

I'd substitute a related alternative question: how come Fortress isn't a Reaction when Tunnel is? (-8

Tunnel has the argument that it is revealed from a hidden place (it could be buried in the discard pile). But yeah, we really don't have a consistent definition of "Reaction"; there are no rules attached to it. Donald has said that the reason for the type is the color, and the reason for the color is to make it stand out in your hand.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Oyvind

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
  • Respect: +90
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4422 on: November 06, 2018, 04:07:28 pm »
+1

Interesting!

I'd substitute a related alternative question: how come Fortress isn't a Reaction when Tunnel is? (-8

Tunnel has the argument that it is revealed from a hidden place (it could be buried in the discard pile). But yeah, we really don't have a consistent definition of "Reaction"; there are no rules attached to it. Donald has said that the reason for the type is the color, and the reason for the color is to make it stand out in your hand.

Arenít Reactions always supposed to be optional? Fortress isnít optional. When the card is trashed, itís returned to your hand. I guess if your Patron is revealed, you can choose not to perform the Reaction. I agree it doesnít say ęmayĽ or anything like that, but couldnít you choose not to react? I donít know why you wouldnít want that +1 Coffers, but thatís another question.
Logged

Holunder9

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 837
  • Respect: +375
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4423 on: November 06, 2018, 04:13:39 pm »
0

On-gain and on-trash triggers simply aren't Reactions, probably because they happen automatically. Sure, Patron also happens automatically but this card is an anomaly in more than one respect.
Since Lurker all the on-trash stuff from Dark Ages can also be triggered when the card is in the Supply, not just in your hand and deck, so having them be Reactions would not be that wise.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8107
  • Respect: +8888
    • View Profile
Re: Interview with Donald X.
« Reply #4424 on: November 06, 2018, 04:20:18 pm »
+1

Interesting!

I'd substitute a related alternative question: how come Fortress isn't a Reaction when Tunnel is? (-8

Tunnel has the argument that it is revealed from a hidden place (it could be buried in the discard pile). But yeah, we really don't have a consistent definition of "Reaction"; there are no rules attached to it. Donald has said that the reason for the type is the color, and the reason for the color is to make it stand out in your hand.

Arenít Reactions always supposed to be optional? Fortress isnít optional. When the card is trashed, itís returned to your hand. I guess if your Patron is revealed, you can choose not to perform the Reaction. I agree it doesnít say ęmayĽ or anything like that, but couldnít you choose not to react? I donít know why you wouldnít want that +1 Coffers, but thatís another question.

Pretty sure Patron isn't optional; but this is another good rules question...
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0
Pages: 1 ... 175 176 [177] 178 179 ... 190  All
 

Page created in 0.092 seconds with 21 queries.