Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Shraeye tries to get better  (Read 10028 times)

shraeye

• Minion
  • Shuffle iT Username: shraeye
  • More Graph Theory please
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Shraeye tries to get better
« on: November 12, 2012, 09:58:25 pm »
+1

Hey, I'm shraeye.  I'm much more present on the games forum than in the actual Dominion-related area, but mostly because I'm not experienced enough to comment on different articles/strategies/gamelogs/etc.  I'm trying to change that.  Currently, I'm level 10 or so on Isotropic, and probably only have 70 games (I can't actually check, because until today I hadn't played a game in a while).

So here's a thread where I post terrible games, close matches, and awesome wins (hah, that'll take a while) and kindly ask those better than me to take a look at those logs and give me one major lesson per game (ok, maybe two if you have some really good ideas; but laundry lists of everything I need to do to improve would be toooo long and overwhelming).

I was going to start off with an unfortunate loss to MrEevee where he steamrolled me with a University/Stables type engine.  But I don't have that log, so instead I'll start with a win, which by a margin that surprised me by its smallness at the end (I also play with point counter off most the time, so often don't know how well i'm doing).

http://dominion.isotropic.org/gamelog/201211/12/game-20121112-184359-e62202f0.html

My summary:
  • My initial plan is to get a few actions going with Upgrade (turn Estates into Silvers/Wishing wells) and Mining Village, then start buying Border Villages and gaining Conspirators, eventually buying double Provinces.  It mostly works.