Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Explorer  (Read 14318 times)

gman314

• Minion
  • Respect: +281
    • View Profile
Explorer
« on: October 11, 2012, 11:12:40 pm »
+2

This is my first attempt at an article; suggested by http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=4982.0 EDIT: There wasn't actually a suggestion for an Explorer article, but I thought there was. So, here is the article anyways!

Feedback encouraged!

Explorer

Explorer really has two different abilities: the first is that it can gain a Silver, the second is that it can gain a Gold. Of course, the second ability is strictly better than the first, which is why it’s a conditional benefit. But even when you get it with a Province, it’s basically just +$3, right? Wrong. A straight +$3 card would probably cost $5 (http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=4914.msg116206#msg116206). So, if Explorer is only +$3 at the best of times, it looks pretty silly at $5. The power of Explorer is that it gives you $2-3 every time you go through your deck. And, the money is in hand, which just makes it awesome! You get the benefit right away!

Comparing Explorer to other cards