Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Would Dominion Benefit from a Doubling Cube?  (Read 8518 times)

Davio

• 2012 Dutch Champion
  • Respect: +3412
    • View Profile
Would Dominion Benefit from a Doubling Cube?
« on: October 10, 2012, 06:59:46 am »

I think that's an interesting question.

I'm no expert Backgammon player, but the Wikipedia article on Backgammon says: "Although luck is involved and factors into the outcome, strategy plays a more important role in the long run." I think this is true for Dominion as well, but the luck factor may be higher.

In Backgammon, a Doubling Cube is used to offer more strategic choices.

Would 2 player Dominion benefit from such a thing? Why would it? Why not?

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

Captain_Frisk

• Saboteur
  • Respect: +1263
    • View Profile
Re: Would Dominion Benefit from a Doubling Cube?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2012, 08:27:13 am »

I'm no expert, but wouldn't you (as first player) just always double - excepting 5/2 splits with on a sea hag board?
I support funsockets.... taking as much time as they need to get it right.

DStu

• Margrave
  • Respect: +1490
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2012, 08:29:31 am »

I'm no expert, but wouldn't you (as first player) just always double - excepting 5/2 splits with on a sea hag board?

I remember to having read somewhere that the optimal strategy in Backgammon would be to double when your winchance is 80%. If that is correct, and it carries over to Dominion (why shouldn't it?), that would be a lot to early.

Rabid

• Jester
  • Shuffle iT Username: Rabid
  • Respect: +643
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2012, 08:36:25 am »

Maybe you could give starting control of the die to player 2.
That might help even up the start player advantage.
Or maybe a no doubling before turn X rule?
Twitch
1 Day Cup #1:Ednever

ipofanes

• Saboteur