Dominion > Dominion Articles

Request: Remodel

(1/7) > >>

AdamH:
I'm a noob, I know. This is kind of a noobish question, but I've looked around this site for an article and Remodel and I haven't found one.

I'm having trouble finding any practical use for Remodel. It seems I'm better off in any circumstance without buying it at all. I'm pretty sure I'm wrong, but I just can't come up with any situations where buying Remodel can be useful.

I've heard about remodeling Golds into Provinces, and also remodeling Estates into better 4-cost actions (or maybe even Silvers?). I've attempted these and have never once successfully used Remodel. Does anyone have some experience with using Remodel successfully?

One other thing, since Remodel is in the base set, examples that are limited to the base set are better for me, especially since I've only ever played with the base set. Examples outside the base set are certainly welcome, though.

Thisisnotasmile:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/366636/turbo-remodel-or-the-holy-grail-of-dominion

That's one use of Remodel, although it's not actually terribly fast. Remodel is just a trash-for-benefit card just like all the others, but if you've not played with anything other than the base set you won't have seen the others. Its main use is getting rid of bad cards and turning them into better ones... obviously. For example, once you've chapelled your deck down, you can remodel your Chapel into something better. I'll admit though, Remodel is one of the worst trash-for-benefit cards for early-mid game because if you want to trash a Copper/Curse, you have to take an Estate or other cheap card in exchange, and that kind of defeats the whole point of wanting to trash that card. Other trash-for-benefit cards let you choose to not gain a card to replace the one you trashed (or offer other benefits altogether).