Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Procession/Pillage ???  (Read 3359 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Warrior

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Respect: +54
    • View Profile
Procession/Pillage ???
« on: September 15, 2012, 08:47:03 pm »
0

So I've got a DA question that i'm sure many people have (had). What happens when you procession a Pillage? Sa after I procession/pillage, I play pillage the first time. Trashing pillage, then making others discard a card, then I gain two spoils cards. Then when I go to play it the second time, I am confused. Can you play it again even though the pillage is already in the trash? Then since the pillage is already in the trash, how can I trash it to gain a card costing 1 more than it?

Same confusion with counterfeit/spoils. I play spoils the first time, getting $3 then returning it to the supply. Then do I get to play it again since it went back to the supply? And do I trash it with counterfeit or does it go back to the supply?

If someone could explain a walkthrough of a turn doing this correctly, that'd be great. Thanks and I hope this clears up some confusion not just for me, but for others too :)
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7096
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +9392
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2012, 08:55:05 pm »
0

Procession-Pillage should work the same as Procession-Feast.  The parts of Feast and Pillage after "Trash this card" are not dependent on that portion (contrast with Trading Post, with its "if you do" clause).  Nor is the last part of Procession dependent on "trash this card."  So for this case, you do the following:  Trash the Pillage; attack once, gain 2 Spoils; attack again (if possible), gain 2 Spoils; gain an Action card with cost $6.

I'm not positive about Counterfeit/Spoils, because Spoils has a "when you play this" clause.  I'm uncertain what the lose-track rule says about this one.
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

dondon151

  • 2012 US Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2522
  • Respect: +1853
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2012, 08:55:51 pm »
+1

Procession does not have an "If you do" clause. Imagine if Procession's card text read, "You may play an Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactly $1 more than it." Thus you still gain an Action card costing $1 more than Pillage even if Pillage is already in the trash.

Pillage also does not have an "If you do" clause. It reads, "Trash this. Each other player with 5 or more cards in hand reveals his hand and discards a card that you choose. Gain 2 Spoils." Thus you affect your opponent once (assuming he has an initial handsize of 5 cards) and gain 4 Spoils.

Counterfeit/Spoils is mentioned in the DA rulebook. According to the card text on Counterfeit, you play, and then you trash the treasure. The card text on Spoils indicates that you return the card to its pile immediately upon play. Thus Spoils does not get trashed, but returned to its pile instead, but it is also played twice. (If I remember correctly. I remember playing with this combo against Turambar and loppo at GenCon and specifically checked the rulebook to confirm the interaction. It was a Marauders game and our junked decks made it difficult to get to $8.)
« Last Edit: September 15, 2012, 08:59:58 pm by dondon151 »
Logged

Warrior

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Respect: +54
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2012, 09:25:30 pm »
+1

A thank you to both Kirian and dondon for your explanations. This now makes more sense to me. You basically follow the rule "do as much as you can when you play an action card." So even though you cannot trash the pillage the second time you play it, you still do as much as you can with it. Thank you again.
Logged

Jmollica

  • Pawn
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2021, 12:05:18 am »
0

Hi Guys,

FYI when playing on https://dominion.games/ - the play is not in favour of this discussion. It goes:

Plays a procession - targets a Pillage.
-Plays a pillage - it is moved to trash
---*Procession can no longer move Pillage (it already moved)** =- this means you don't activate procession and get a free card costing [1] more than Pillage
--you gain 2 spoils
--you choose and discard a card from your opponent's hand(s)
-Plays a pillage again
---*Pillage wasn't trashed - so does nothing*
Logged

kieranmillar

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
  • Shuffle iT Username: kieranmillar
  • Respect: +275
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2021, 02:12:53 am »
+3

This discussion is nearly 9 years old and both Pillage and Procession have had their wording changed since this discussion started (although Procession's wording change is not relevant in this case).

Pillage used to always give Spoils and do the attack regardless of if it was successfully trashed or not. This changed in 2019, its now conditional on successfully being trashed in order for the effects to happen.

Procession not gaining you an Action card has nothing to do with the stop moving rule and will work regardless, in this case I imagine the real problem was that there was no Action card costing $6 to gain.

I just tried a test game forcing Procession, Pillage and Nobles, and gained a Nobles from Processing a Pillage just fine.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2021, 02:22:55 am by kieranmillar »
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9101
  • Respect: +9947
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2021, 12:53:51 pm »
+1

This discussion is nearly 9 years old and both Pillage and Procession have had their wording changed since this discussion started (although Procession's wording change is not relevant in this case).

Pillage used to always give Spoils and do the attack regardless of if it was successfully trashed or not. This changed in 2019, its now conditional on successfully being trashed in order for the effects to happen.

Procession not gaining you an Action card has nothing to do with the stop moving rule and will work regardless, in this case I imagine the real problem was that there was no Action card costing $6 to gain.

I just tried a test game forcing Procession, Pillage and Nobles, and gained a Nobles from Processing a Pillage just fine.

And to add some context, the reason that Pillage's wording was changed is because Overlord (and Band of Misfits) changed their wording in a way that would have made one-shot cards like Pillage and Embargo much more powerful, because you could play Overlord to play Pillage from the supply, and not have to trash the Pillage at all. This made it necessary to add "if you did" to Pillage to prevent it from being too easy to play every turn.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

dane-m

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
  • Shuffle iT Username: dane-m
  • Respect: +166
    • View Profile
Re: Procession/Pillage ???
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2021, 01:03:57 pm »
+1

And to add some context, the reason that Pillage's wording was changed is because Overlord (and Band of Misfits) changed their wording in a way that would have made one-shot cards like Pillage and Embargo much more powerful, because you could play Overlord to play Pillage from the supply, and not have to trash the Pillage at all. This made it necessary to add "if you did" to Pillage to prevent it from being too easy to play every turn.
I think Necromancer caused a problem even before Overlord and BoM were changed.  I vaguely remember one game in which a trashed Pillage got played very frequently.  Or maybe it was a trashed Death Cart that got played frequently.  If my recollection is correct, then it was Necromancer that inspired the changed wording for Pillage and Death Cart, and the subsequently revised Overlord and BoM were merely beneficiaries of the change.

Trusting my memory of events might, however, be unwise!
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.065 seconds with 20 queries.