Dominion > Dominion Articles

Request: Golem

(1/6) > >>

rinkworks:
I haven't played with Alchemy much.  Golem seems like a lot of fun, and I can see how it's useful, even if I can't quite completely articulate why it's more than a Village with a guarantee of having the actions to use with it.  But I've heard reference to a "Golem deck" on this board, and I can't conceive of how you'd build a deck around the card.  Can anyone elaborate on how to best use this card?

Davio:
Golem is helpful when you have:

- A lot of junk you want to skip over
- Critical action cards you want to play as much as you can

But I'm no Golem expert either, so this is as far as my knowledge goes. :)

Be careful when there are non-optional trashers in your deck, because you have to play both action cards.

DG:

--- Quote ---Golem seems like a lot of fun, and I can see how it's useful, even if I can't quite completely articulate why it's more than a Village with a guarantee of having the actions to use with it.
--- End quote ---
It's probably better to compare a golem to a throne. Instead of playing one card twice you're playing two separate cards once each. The major difference (and advantage) of the golem compared to the throne is that the target cards come from your deck rather than your hand. The golem also discards all the non-action cards revealed when looking for two action cards to play. This can again be an advantage when you deck has high quality actions and a lot of rubbish in between.