Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: An exception to the rule  (Read 2450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2879
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3596
    • View Profile
An exception to the rule
« on: July 25, 2012, 09:10:47 am »
0

It's a two-player game. Your opponent has one Curse in hand, and plays an Ambassador to send that Curse to you. You have a Trader in hand, but you opt not to reveal it—that is, you decide you'd rather take the Curse than trade it for a Silver. Why?

I have one answer in mind, but I'm interested in seeing if there are others.
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
  • Respect: +3323
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 09:16:12 am »
0

Oh, so many answers, one of which is Fairgrounds.

Another might be: All piles are empty, you are in front.
Revealing Trader would let the Curse stay in the supply, but you want it to end the game.

If I think about this long enough, I can think of many others. Watchtower in hand, you'd rather trash the Curse than gain a Silver (gums up your engine).
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 09:17:43 am by Davio »
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea

DStu

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2627
  • Respect: +1485
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 09:16:28 am »
0


a) You are behind and the Silver pile is low
b) You are leading and the Curse pile is low
c) Your hand is Farming Village, KC,KC,KC,KC and your deck does not have any Treasures. And some actions you would like to KC. Edit: Extre,me case: hand: KCKCKCFarming Village. Deck: 3 Bridges.
d) You want the last Province for the win, your hand is Adventurer,Silver,3xcrap, and your deck has exactly 2 Golds.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 09:19:10 am by DStu »
Logged

Powerman

  • Jester
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 766
  • Respect: +602
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 09:25:44 am »
0

Because you have ambassador too, and you have a leaner deck than he does, so you know that you can play KC-Amb during your turn to give him 3 curses (which is much better than giving him 3 silvers).
Logged
A man on a mission.

cayvie

  • Explorer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 316
  • pronouns: he, she, they, ze, thon, not "it"
  • Respect: +234
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2012, 10:50:43 am »
0

Collusion.
Logged
18:28 MEASURE YOUR LIFE IN LOVE: you shouldve done the decent thing and resign rather than go on being that lucky all the time

DG

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3996
  • Respect: +2550
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2012, 11:00:06 am »
0

You have an adventurer or venture in hand that would rather draw platinum than silver.
You have a masquerade and know you can draw and pass the curse to your opponent next turn.
You would rather your opponent not know you had the trader in hand for information advantage.
It is the last curse in the supply and it promotes your cities.


Logged

anlin_wang

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Respect: +5
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2012, 11:54:49 am »
0

You know he/she is going to buy a noble brigand and steal the silver?
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2879
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3596
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2012, 02:04:30 pm »
0

DG's fourth one here is the one I had in mind, but these are all pretty good.
Logged

sffc

  • Alchemist
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Respect: +18
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2012, 10:22:30 pm »
0

It's a bit of a stretch, but you also have a Watchtower and a Secret Chamber in hand, and you suspect that your opponent will be playing Mountebank.  You can top-deck the curse with Watchtower, draw it with Secret Chamber, and discard it when Mountebank is played.
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9138
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2012, 10:26:08 pm »
0

It's a bit of a stretch, but you also have a Watchtower and a Secret Chamber in hand, and you suspect that your opponent will be playing Mountebank.  You can top-deck the curse with Watchtower, draw it with Secret Chamber, and discard it when Mountebank is played.

Too much of a stretch, I think.

If you have Trader in hand, there is no need to block Mountebank with a Curse.  If you don't want the Silver anyway, then that Watchtower can just trash it outright.
Logged

verikt

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
  • Respect: +65
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2012, 10:29:54 pm »
0

You have kc kc lab amb in hand, and no curses to send?
You have a masquerade and would rather trade him a curse?
He still has an action and a pirate ship?
Your hunting party will get you a good card and you don't want to risk it drawing a silver?
There are so many option here.
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9138
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2012, 10:45:58 pm »
0

Your hunting party will get you a good card and you don't want to risk it drawing a silver?

Not sure about that one.  The question is when you would take Curse over Silver.  If HP would risk drawing a Silver, the alternative is that it draws a Curse.  I suppose you could make a really specific situation where it still works:

Hand is Trader-HP-Gold-Curse-Royal Seal; you somehow have no Silver but you do have a Mandarin.  HP would skip over Curse but not Silver, and you really want that Mandarin to hit $8.

But in general, Silver is way less harmful to your HP deck than a Curse would be.
Logged

verikt

  • Apprentice
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
  • Respect: +65
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2012, 11:18:05 pm »
0

Your hunting party will get you a good card and you don't want to risk it drawing a silver?

Not sure about that one.  The question is when you would take Curse over Silver.  If HP would risk drawing a Silver, the alternative is that it draws a Curse.  I suppose you could make a really specific situation where it still works:

Hand is Trader-HP-Gold-Curse-Royal Seal; you somehow have no Silver but you do have a Mandarin.  HP would skip over Curse but not Silver, and you really want that Mandarin to hit $8.

But in general, Silver is way less harmful to your HP deck than a Curse would be.
If you have a curse in hand and anything with  kc or goons or any good card in the deck.
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9138
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2012, 11:25:03 pm »
0

If you have a curse in hand and anything with  kc or goons or any good card in the deck.

Yeah, I guess that's right.  But it only makes sense if you don't have any Silvers in your deck, and that's just so unlikely, given that you have a Trader. :P
Logged

Davio

  • 2012 Dutch Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4733
  • Respect: +3323
    • View Profile
Re: An exception to the rule
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2012, 08:05:56 am »
0

Well, it could happen if you kept revealing Trader to gain a Silver instead of a Silver until the server crashed.
Logged

BSG: Cagprezimal Adama
Mage Knight: Arythea
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.084 seconds with 21 queries.