Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Shanty Town  (Read 30225 times)

O

• Jester
  • Respect: +605
    • View Profile
Shanty Town
« on: June 22, 2012, 08:59:59 pm »
+13

Disclaimer: I am not an authoritative expert on shanty town, but I haven't really seen someone who is. Constructive criticism is welcome and encouraged.

Shanty Town is the oft-maligned cousin of Village. At 3$, it shares a price point with the vanilla Village, which alone tells us something. It is not a village+ (like Worker's Village, Mining Village, Walled Village and Mining Village at 4$) or a Village- (Native Village at 2$). It is a card that plays entirely different from the plain old Village, and shares only the characteristic of giving two actions.

A good way to think of Shanty Town in many (but not all) games is as a restricted lab.

When is Shanty Town a good buy?

Shanty Town does not have a single thematic board type that makes it powerful. Rather, a piecemeal combination of a bunch of different cases make it a card that I would argue is more often a good buy than a vanilla village

1) Terminal-Less decks

In games where there are no terminal actions worth getting (notable cards to cause this are Familiar, Caravan and Tournament) early on, Shanty Town functions identically to a laboratory if you buy one, and each additional one functions as a slightly riskier lab (as your two shanty towns can combine). A lab for 3$ is nothing to scoff at, and while shanty-town is not deck making in these games it provides a significant boost.

Keep in mind that you can often still keep 1-2 terminals in your deck if your deck is large enough, the collision chance is small enough that buying Shanty Town will still benefit you.

2) Draw to X Engines