Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Discard Pile  (Read 1584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rhombus

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
  • Respect: +16
    • View Profile
Discard Pile
« on: June 07, 2012, 08:26:13 pm »
0

I just checked the original rules which state that the discard pile is placed face up with the top card visible (which is also how I play IRL).  Why does isotropic not allow the top card of a discard pile to be visible?
Logged

WanderingWinder

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5275
  • ...doesn't really matter to me
  • Respect: +4371
    • View Profile
    • WanderingWinder YouTube Page
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 08:37:03 pm »
0

I just checked the original rules which state that the discard pile is placed face up with the top card visible (which is also how I play IRL).  Why does isotropic not allow the top card of a discard pile to be visible?
Because then you have to specify the order you discard all the time, which is a PAIN. Same reason why it lets you have a +$X button, which lets you play your treasures all at once, which you can't do IRL.

pingpongsam

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1759
  • Shuffle iT Username: pingpongsam
  • Respect: +774
    • View Profile
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 08:41:10 pm »
0

IRL I only allow cards that were in play to be on top of my discard pile.

Thus, I feel the absence of this "feature" is apropos for the same reason WW provided.
Logged
You are the brashest scum player on f.ds.

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7190
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +10010
    • View Profile
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 09:59:28 pm »
0

IRL I only allow cards that were in play to be on top of my discard pile.

That can't be right. What if you have nothing in your discard pile and you play a Warehouse?
Logged

Rhombus

  • Bishop
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
  • Respect: +16
    • View Profile
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2012, 10:47:19 pm »
0

In the case of cards like Embassy, Warehouse, Oasis, etc it feels like a necessity, especially when you trigger reshuffles in the middle of turns.
Logged

pingpongsam

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1759
  • Shuffle iT Username: pingpongsam
  • Respect: +774
    • View Profile
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2012, 07:59:56 am »
0

IRL I only allow cards that were in play to be on top of my discard pile.

That can't be right. What if you have nothing in your discard pile and you play a Warehouse?

Touche
Logged
You are the brashest scum player on f.ds.

yudantaiteki

  • Conspirator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • Respect: +167
    • View Profile
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2012, 08:53:33 am »
0

In the case of cards like Embassy, Warehouse, Oasis, etc it feels like a necessity, especially when you trigger reshuffles in the middle of turns.

Personally, I think the speed of the game is much more important than this minor issue.  I'm not sure I see why it's "a necessity"; the knowledge is rarely important...although I'm not an expert player.
Logged

WanderingWinder

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5275
  • ...doesn't really matter to me
  • Respect: +4371
    • View Profile
    • WanderingWinder YouTube Page
Re: Discard Pile
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2012, 09:16:39 am »
0

In the case of cards like Embassy, Warehouse, Oasis, etc it feels like a necessity, especially when you trigger reshuffles in the middle of turns.

Personally, I think the speed of the game is much more important than this minor issue.  I'm not sure I see why it's "a necessity"; the knowledge is rarely important...although I'm not an expert player.
I don't think you understand what he's saying. He's saying that you HAVE to have a card which you did not play on top of your discard pile when you play these cards IRL. That's what he means by necessity.
The knowledge can be fairly substantial. But generally not earth-shattering.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.066 seconds with 20 queries.