Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: What is the "engine" referring to?  (Read 2425 times)

Herbalist23

• Herbalist
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
What is the "engine" referring to?
« on: July 11, 2011, 11:32:31 pm »

Hi all,

my wife and I just started playing dominion a couple weeks ago, and on the discussion boards there are a lot of references to the "engine" of the game.  Can someone please explain how that works and what it's referring to strategically, and possibly any links to articles explaining it?

Thanks

AV

drg

• Spy
  • Respect: +2
    • View Profile
Re: What is the "engine" referring to?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 11:54:58 pm »

"engine" is referring to getting your deck going.  If you draw village-village-smithy-smithy, then you are about to play a lot of actions and have a lot of cards in your hand, and what the term is referring to is trying to set up your deck so that you will draw that, or whatever combination of action cards you want to, so that you can keep playing them hopefully every turn.

WanderingWinder

• Adventurer
  • ...doesn't really matter to me
  • Respect: +4386
    • View Profile
    • WanderingWinder YouTube Page
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2011, 11:59:30 pm »

Yes. To elaborate, drg's example is an "actions/cards engine", which draws large portions of your deck by using powerful +actions cards, like village, and +cards cards, like smithy.
There are minions engines, which use minion to produce coin and sift through your deck to get more minions. Conspirator engines have non-terminals to activate conspirators, then conspirators to get coin. Goons engines work on a way of reliably playing multiple goons in a turn.
etc. etc. there are dozens of other examples, but like drg says, it's basically the plan of working (and winning) of a deck.

ShuffleNCut

• Coppersmith
  • Respect: +8
    • View Profile