Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"  (Read 1651 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Morgrim7

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1701
  • Torturer chains? How primitive.
  • Respect: +747
    • View Profile
On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« on: April 15, 2012, 11:40:42 am »
0

Your opponent plays an ambassador and reveals a Colony. But instead of gaining it, you reveal a Watchtower and trash it. Why?
Rules:
It again must be the best move in the situation.
Logged
"Oh sweet merciful heavens.

I sit here, lost amongst the cloud, that which is the brain of the Morgrim Mod. Perhaps I will learn the inner workings of that storied mind. Perhaps I will simply go mad.

Mad, I tell you.

Maaaaaaaaaaaaad." -Voltgloss
Dominion Notation: http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=7265.msg206246#msg206246

Thisisnotasmile

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1493
  • Respect: +674
    • View Profile
Re: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 12:55:56 pm »
0

You're playing some kind of perpetual Goons engine and don't want non-engine cards getting in the way.
Logged

blueblimp

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2845
  • Respect: +1546
    • View Profile
Re: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 03:08:28 pm »
+1

Due to your previous turn's Havens and your opponent's King's Courted Governors, your draw deck and discard are empty. You know your opponent has a King's Court and a Jester in hand (since he played Menagerie earlier). You're behind by more than 7 points, two piles are gone other than curses, there are exactly 3 curses remaining, and your opponent has no +buy.

If you don't trash the Colony, your opponent can immediately King's Court a Jester, which will repeatedly hit either the Colony or one of the curses, giving you 3 curses and ending the game in a loss for you.
Logged

ehunt

  • Torturer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1509
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1825
    • View Profile
Re: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 12:02:04 am »
0

Due to your previous turn's Havens and your opponent's King's Courted Governors, your draw deck and discard are empty. You know your opponent has a King's Court and a Jester in hand (since he played Menagerie earlier). You're behind by more than 7 points, two piles are gone other than curses, there are exactly 3 curses remaining, and your opponent has no +buy.

If you don't trash the Colony, your opponent can immediately King's Court a Jester, which will repeatedly hit either the Colony or one of the curses, giving you 3 curses and ending the game in a loss for you.


since you could take the colony and watchtower the curses you need to be behind by more than 20 points
Logged

Young Nick

  • Minion
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 561
  • Respect: +274
    • View Profile
Re: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2012, 12:24:10 am »
+2

Similar reasoning: Your draw pile is empty, and let's say you are up by 30 points. You know your opponent has King's Court, Tribute in hand. He also already has loads of +actions and +buys. You have been tracking his deck well and know that the only 6 cards in his draw pile are all Goons. If you allow yourself the Colony, his KC'ed Tribute draws all 6 goons, and he can megaturn and deplete piles. Otherwise, his Tributes give him no +cards and he can do jack squat.
Logged

jimjam

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 172
  • Respect: +57
    • View Profile
Re: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2012, 12:38:46 am »
0

My solution for the other puzzle:If he has possession and I have KCs, Ambassadors, and draw, I'll trash the colony.
Logged

DG

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4074
  • Respect: +2623
    • View Profile
Re: On the recieving end of "Not a misclick"
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2012, 06:05:08 am »
+1

You have 5 cards in your deck, King's Court, King's Court, Monument, Saboteur, Watchtower, and are ready to win a long game. Your opponent is hopeful of sending you cards to disrupt this, knowing that he has saboteurs of his own, or perhaps jesters to give curses or swindlers to empty the colony pile.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.061 seconds with 22 queries.